We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Travelled on Summer holiday with wife in 2012.

pros: good value for money, great and wide varieties of breakfast buffet. Great service and on time delivery of flower arrangement for wife's birthday. its private beach is good enough.

cons: hotel is bit old, not a very clean toilet. I found the garbage can in the toilet was dirty. beach is not extraordinarily great, too many kids around, the towel were not free.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank djoex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear djoex,

Thank you for choosing to spend your special holiday with us at Sunmarina Hotel. We hope that your wife’s birthday celebration was an exceptional one and that you took home many great memories. We apologize for the lack of cleanliness you noticed in the restroom, and promise to work together with our Housekeeping Team to ensure that all guestrooms and public areas are thoroughly cleaned and checked in order to maintain our standards.

We hope you will return to Okinawa in the near future, and to experience the different seasons that can be enjoyed besides summer; such as the Cherry Blossom Festival (late January ~ mid February) and Ryukyu Kaiensai Fireworks (April) both of which are held the earliest in Japan.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 632 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sun Marina is a 3 staff hotel with a good location, right on the beach.
The rooms are nice and have good balconies.
There are a lot of activities offered but pricy.
The hotel doesn't make sense to me....
Staff is nice and polite.
The pool is good and offer a water slide....but you can't go with your kid if he/she is under 130 cm. I think I am better judge of this. They won't even let the kid slide with you.
Funny......they have a slide 50 m away that kids can go in...for money.
The beds at pool are free, but beds at beach 20m away cost 15 usd.
They offer a lot of sports, dive, water activities but all costly.
The hotel restaurant offer an ok breakfast and they will let you change your coupon for lunch. Very nice of them.
They have a good kids corner in the restaurant and our son loved it.
The hotel is strict, inflexible and a little boring.
They wouldn't give us a 2 hour delay on checkout even hotel was empty. They turn of the balcony light at 2200, just as you have managed to get the kids to sleep and you wanted that we'll deserved balcony drink.
They close the beach at 1730......and you can't use googles there or in the pool...
This is a ok hotel but I am 41 and I think I can make more decisions myself...I don't need them looking after me that much.
Japan look at Thailand and copy their service....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Explorer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Explorer71,

Thank you for spending your family vacation at Sunmarina Hotel, and for taking the time to share your valued comments with us. Thank you for complimenting our team members as such praise will let them feel the joy of working in the hospitality industry, as well as encouraging them to continue brushing up on their service skills. We also appreciate your comments regarding our facilities and services. Please kindly be informed that all opinions that you have mentioned will be taken into consideration by our management team as we continuously strive to become the most fun, comfortable and guest-friendly hotel in Okinawa.

Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights with my family. It was our first time in Okinawa so we didn't have any expectations.

The hotel was more reasonably priced than other comparable options, but then there are extra charges for almost everything. Even renting a couple of sun chairs on the beach will set you back more than 4000 yen!! That's probably more than the chair itself is worth and so most of the 20 or so pairs of chairs were empty most of the time. Quite a perplexing policy from a hotel that brands itself as a beach resort! It almost seemed like they preferred the chairs to be empty for some reason.

Lots of activities for kids are available but most of them come with extra charges similar to the beach chairs, so don't be fooled by the room rate if you actually want to use the facilities.

Late check out also comes at a high price! They won't even let you check out 30 minutes late without an extra charge at more than 3000 yen!! And this was at a time when the hotel seemed far from full.

Maybe all of this is standard practice in Japan, but it certainly reduces the appeal if the whole place as a beach resort destination where you would expect a slightly more relaxed environment.

As for the hotel and rooms, it is all clean and well maintained. They could probably do with a remake if the interial deco though, since it carries a very distinct early 90s atmosphere. That might be exactly what you want though, since it's old almost to the point of being charming, but if you expect a modern look you will be disappointed.

The location is ok. Not sure if there is actually a location that is better than any other on this island. Going places takes a loooong time wherever you are on the island. Renting a car is definitely recommended, but make sure you get an international driving licence before you travel, since they seem really strict on requiring one.

Having said that, there are basic services like restaurants and small convenience stores close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear MrFM,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sunmarina Hotel on your first visit to Okinawa. We hope that you enjoyed the natural beauty and the many facilities the island offers, as well as spending quality time with your family at the hotel. We thank you also for your valued comments, which will be brought to the attention of the Management Team for considering further development and enhancement of our hotel facilities and services.

We hope that you will be back to explore more about Okinawa, and sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Sunmarina Hotel as other global hotel chains were fully booked. I thought the hotel staff was less friendly the most hotels and they rarely go out of their way to help. Hotel food is average at best and there isn't much to do around the area aside from one decent Japanese restaurant (Zumeyama). Overall, I thought the hotel was overpriced considering bad food and poor service. I probably won't be going back there any time soon. There are much better hotels in Naha City like Rihga Royal Grand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear John L,

Thank you for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel. We are sorry to learn that your experience with us was not quite what you expected. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused. At the same time, we very much appreciate your comments and they will definitely be brought up in all training sessions to help all team members understand the importance of friendliness, professionalism and showing willingness to assist all guests.

We do hope that you will still consider a return trip to our resort, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed with Family at the Sun Marina for 5 days at the end of August and early September '13. Fag end of the Obon Holiday season in Japan.
Hotel has a lot of options for both adults and kids - tennis courts, scuba, snorkeling, lots of other marine activities, swimming pool, water play area, indoor Lego Blocks Wall, Craft area, amusement center etc. Activities for the kids came in handy as the weather decided to play spoilsport on a couple of afternoons.
Pros:
- Reasonably Priced
- Reasonably clean, considering it is a seaside property
- Beach (which is more of an artificial beach rather than a natural one) is very safe, clean and picturesque
- Overall Property is quite Picturesque; complete with two small lighthouses. To reach one of them you would need to walk across a small promenade across the sea. Pretty cool...especially around sunset.
- Interesting option whereby you can utilize your Breakfast vouchers for Lunch in case you sleep in.
- Staff was very helpful as you'd expect in Japan. Most are not comfortable with English but that was not an issue as there usually is someone who is.
- The Naha Airport Limousine as well as the Airport Line (Bus) does a door to door for Sun Marina. This is very helpful.
- Each floor has one of the ubiquitous vending machines of Japan. Convenient to pick up Water, colas, coffee or even Beer!
- You get two beach towels per day free of charge.

Cons:
- Location is a little out of the way. Only way to get to other tourist spots (Aquarium etc.) would be to rent a car. There is a local Bus service but that would mean too many waits and scheduling issues.
- Location again. Other resorts in this area - Moon Beach and Manza have local stores, restaurants etc. nearby. Tough on you if you decide to just walk it from the Sun Marina.
- Standard Activities like using the Pool, Water play area for kids are chargeable even for Hotel Guests. Can understand charges for Snorkeling, Surfing etc, but this doesn't make sense.
- Buffet lunch while expansive tends to get a little repetitive over a few days and you need to get in early as the dishes do tend to get over pretty fast.
- Lack of eating options at the Hotel. For lunch there is just one option - the Buffet. Though there are in total three restaurants (1 Japanese) and a coffee area.
- Room Service could do with more choices. The Club Sandwich is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Higher Floors have better views of the Ocean. Also Rooms facing the Swimming Pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNEDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear SNEDU,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday with us, and for the many detailed comments that will surely help other guests when they visit our hotel! We do understand that English especially nowadays is a must in the hospitality industry. We ensure that training is provided all-year-round which all team members are strongly encouraged to attend. We hope we will be able to serve you even better next time.

We would also like to thank you for letting us know of your opinions and concerns with regards to our restaurant. Your valued comments will be forwarded to our Food & Beverage Team to help us improve the menu and operational services. We hope that upon your return stay, you will also consider trying our self-grill style Terrace Barbecue for dinner.

We look forward to seeing you at Sunmarina Hotel again next time.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here with the family and it was a good place for kids. The Beach is very good and they have kids play areas on the beach. The pool is fine and the slide is fun for the kids.
The Hotel itself is old and needs to be fully refurbished. We could see some mould on the wall near the air-conditioning. Otherwise the room was okay, however really, it needs to be refurbished! The wifi access was so poor in the room I had to go down to sit in the reception to do my work.
Parking is free and the restaurant is OK...
If not for the facilities for kids we would not have stayed here. Overall the experience was good and we will consider coming back here given the facilities for the kids and the location, however I will look around first.
Ohhh across the road is a fantastic Okinawa restaurant... Definitely visit it if you stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yariyamachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear yariyamachi,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your sharing your holiday experience.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused with regards to your room; we would like to inform you that the WiFi system has been upgraded and can now assure stable connectivity from all guestrooms. We will also continue to do our best in maintaining our rooms in the best condition possible, as well as creating a welcoming atmosphere for our guests as we strive to become the most fun and family-friendly resort in Okinawa.

We sincerely look forward to your return stay in the near future.
Thank you and best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at ANA Intercontinental Manza for 3 nights before we moved to Sunmarina. And it was like falling from heaven into hell. We were greeted with an unpleasant odour when the double doors slid open, a decaying rotten smell that can very often be found in old and rundown hotels.

We stayed on the 6th floor. Our room had the same unpleasant smell. In all fairness, the room wasn't small. But the ceiling was unusually low. I am 5 foot 9 and could touch it on tip toes. It was dim obviously because of the low ceiling and the colour of the carpet which was brown. The pillow was miserably small. The towels were rough. The balcony too was very small and could barely house a tiny table and two beach chairs. There was an unsightly huge overt sewage pipe on the right. The tiles and the walls were all very dirty. We looked down onto the balconies below and could see that they all had the same problem. It was depressing to have to stay in a room like this, particularly when you paid over USD350 per night for it. And parking was not free, not even for hotel guests: 500 yen per day. Nor were the beach chairs and the shades on the beach. We didn't even bother to check out the rental. The beach was OK, but not as magnificent as seen in the pics. The water was stagnant and dirty, probably because of the wave breakers there.

The service was poor. We asked the girl who brought our luggage in for an iron and an ironing board, but she left and never returned. But we managed to borrow an adaptor for our iPhones from the check-in counter rather quickly.

The food was so so and they allowed you to have a lunch buffet instead if you missed your breakfast. That perhaps was the only saving grace.

Overall: overpriced and poor quality and service. At that price, there are many better alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelfDrivePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear SelfDrivePP,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sunmarina Hotel.
We are very sorry to hear of your experience, and saddened to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations with regards to our facilities and services.

We would like to express our appreciation for the time you have taken to bring your concerns to our attention. All departments have been gathered and consulted respectively by the senior management. Although the structure of our building cannot be changed, there are other issues that you mentioned where action can be, and will be, taken right away.

We hope that you will still keep Sunmarina Hotel on your list, and that we will do our best possible to welcome all of our valued guests to a comfortable, resort atmosphere.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
10.5 mi away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
8.9 mi away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
9.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa
4.3 mi away
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort

Address: 66-1 Fuchaku, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun 904-0494, Okinawa Prefecture (Formerly Sunmarina Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Onna-son
#6 Romantic Hotel in Onna-son
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#9 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range: $152 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Tower, which opened in December 2016, consists of 46 luxury rooms all with amazing ocean views, the ocean-front restaurant “The Grill” and the “Sunset Bar & Terrace” – both of which offer the best selection of food and drinks on the island – and the “Ashibina” game room. Other facilities including a new wellness center with an indoor pool, gym, Japanese bath and spa, opened in January 2017 along with the “MegaZip” zipline and “Go Fall” freefall activities. The project was completed with the opening of the ocean view chapel in March 2017. Enjoy all that we have to offer and let us help make your stay the best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Marina
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing