We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Exactly Like the Pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Looks Exactly Like the Pictures”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Great....
It's a beautiful as the pictures show. No touch ups needed. The rooms, hotel lobby and all public areas are done nicely with a beach theme. All of the rooms have a view of the water. Every detail was thought out from the lights that hang in the elevators to the water fall in the lobby or the live music in the evenings. It is a nonsmoking hotel, which we appreciated, but they did have a cigar/fine spirits lounge The staff was excellent, friendly and went out of their way to make your stay memorable. A few mentionable were the bell hop, the gate guy, the fishing guide and the general manager. It's a large property so they have a van that takes you to the beach area. We also thought the charges for the extra activates like snorkeling were affordable.
The not so good....
This a not your typical Intercontinental Hotel. This is a family resort. We saw two other couples the four days we were there. Which wasn't a problem it just gives the hotel a different feel. The price was in line with other Intercontinental Hotels but I did think it was overpriced for this hotel. We felt they nickel-ed and dimed you to the extreme. We travel the world and stayed at seven hotels during this three week vacation, in Japan, so we do have some comparisons. The food was over priced, they made you pay to use the water fun area, and it is very far from any town, so you are isolated there.The halls are not carpeted because of all the water so it was noisy.
Non of these things were major issue, and I would still highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early to get better prices. Ask for a room on the pool side to avoid the parking lot in your pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Marc P, General Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Manza during your Okinawa trip and thank you for your comments about the service of our colleagues. We try to cater to all clientele and during summer it is vacation time in Japan, hence quite a few families enjoy the resort at this time of year. We will look into the pricing of the food and beverage, considering that we benchmark ourselves with the other hotels and a outside establishments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Manza.
Thank you
Yours truly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    490
    115
    43
    20
See reviews for
654
335
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Its a bit hard to compare the hotels in Okinawa to other places, as Japanese hotels are in a slightly different league of their own ( except for the bigger names). I think ANA already stands as one of the better hotels for families in Okinawa, and although comfortable and friendly, its still a tad expensive.

location wise, this hotel is right next to the Manzamo sight seeing point, but around 15 mins drive away from the main strip of hotels in Onna village, so if you have a car as most people do, then its fine. I personally prefer this area for its serenity) than the main strip but those who want a bit of activity after dark may find this area a bit quiet. There are also definitely less choices for dining, if you dont' drive.

The hotel was refurnished some years ago, but is already looking a little bit tired in the public areas. The rooms are , however, bright and clean, and although not luxurious as a city hotel, is very comfortable. You would find however , the typical japanese bathroom which is small and basic ( no fancy marble table tops and shing faucets), a small bathtub with shower curtain ( like the one at home),and the ubiquitous toilet with the electronic bidet. The room is probably bigger than what you would find elsewhere, but what makes it so nice is probably the view of the blue sky and sea which blends with the white and turqoise colours inside.

The hotel is built such that most rooms would have a view of the sea, whether its the beach side, or the side facing the chapel. . I have heard complaints about rooms facing the carpark, we were on the 5th floor facing the carpark but had no problems with noise at all.

My only whinge is that the bed is quite hard, and if you are not used to it, then it may not be good news for your back. And extra bed will cost around USD 100 per night, so be warned !!! Bring an inflatable bed for your kid if you plan on sharing a room with them.

The service was friendly, and perhaps we were lucky, we didn't have to wait for check in or check out. we hardly ever ran into any staff around the hotel though, but otherwise service is generally efficient and polite. The concierge staff were particularly effcient with the valet parking - yes we didn't have to park our cars ourselves, which is a blessing as the parking spaces can be quite far away. For this I think its worth the extra bucks.

The swiming pool is adequate, I liked the fact that the life guards were diligently on duty and kept a keen eye out for the guests,esp the kids, but don't expect the same type of faciality as you would find in a resort in say Thailand or Bali.........

Would assume most people choose ANA for the proximity to the beach, and the activities it offered. The water park with the inflatables was an immediate hit with the kids,even though ANA charges for it.still worth it for keeping the kids happy. We didn't try the other activities like the submarine, or kayaking, banana boat etc....is a bit pricey !! Unlike some other beaches we have been to, the beach is well maintained, clean and not rocky - really great for kids.

What we also liked is that the beach is calm and life guards are always on duty - for kids plauying in the water park, they also provide a life jacket and I am much more relaxed about having my kid in the water on his own ( sometimes).

We did not eat in the hotel, so couldn't comment on the F&B. We made a lot of use of the convenience store inside ( which closes quite late) , although there are also a few Lawsons and convenience stores right outside the hotel. Since japanese convenience stores carries a host of ready made foods, cheap eats are plentiful !!

Would I come back again? Probably, if I need a hotel with beach access. For those who are out all day and don't expect to be staying inside their hotel for long periods, you have other choices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Manzamo come at a premium, otherwise, if you re facing the carpark, make sure you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffyhhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Marc P, General Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Manza and its services. Pity you could not try the restaurants this time around. The Orchid Restaurant with its unique Okinawa buffet serving over 30 varieties of Okinawa delicacies with Ryukyu performance is always a draw with families. In 2014, the Ocean Park will be revamped with a larger and improved version. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Manza next year.
Thank you
Yours Truly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our time here. The pool area is nice with lots of space for kids to play. The beach area is great and they have a big obstacle course (cant think of a better description) in the sea made up of inflatable slides, rafts etc. This is an additional cost to use and can not be used at low tide. The hotel is a little dated but not too bad, maintenance is reasonable and the rooms are a good size and very clean. Staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel does seem to be targeted at the Japanese rather than international market but is pleasant, bright and comfortable. Recommended for families who do not want to get out too much. That said, I would also recommend that you hire a car for the duration of your stay as it is very isolated and Okinawa has so much to offer that it would be a shame to restrict yourself to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Marc P, General Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel while in Okinawa. The Ocean Park will be enhanced in 2014, should make the kids even happier. Please contact us at info@anaintercontinental-manza.jp and we will be delighted to show you around the resort with our car for an unforgettable In The Know tour
Thank you
Yours Truly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just came back from 2 days stay in ANA Manza beach resort. I went with a girlfriend to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and to experience some quiet time in the sun. What I found in Manza resort were breathtaking sandy beach with clear water, fantastic hospitality and great food!! The rooms were spacious and airy with small amenities to go that extra mile merging Japanese ryokan with beach resort hotel. The hotel itself was truly beautiful and modern with 3 pools, large Japanese bath and 5 restaurants offering traditional Japanese, Chinese, Italian and Ryukyu Okinawan cuisine. I would love to go back again and spend more time there. They even had large scale fireworks on the last night of our stay! The only downside is that it takes about 1 and half hours to get there from Naha airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Am on my second day and looking forward to leaving tomorrow.
The overall impression is of a hotel which is not well designed, has seen better days and with a current manager who is not on top of the basics.
It took over 45 minutes to check in. The lino floors in the corridors on the way to the room tell a story that lets your shoulders sag before you arrive at the basic room.
There is no fitness centre. The hotel seems to have been built in the wrong place as you have a 5-10 minute walk to an average beach. It would make more sense to bring the hotel to the car park behind the beach and put a spa, fitness centre and other facilities on the headland where the hotel currently sits.
I went to breakfast this morning at 7.20 am. Nearly half the tables were empty but the restaurant manager with a clipboard would not allow me to take a table. There were a few people outside waiting but more vacant tables inside and little management of a bureaucratic queuing system.
Any booking arrangement at the concierge desk takes an eternity too.
Overall there seems to be an absence of basic management in a hotel that is charging approx US$400 a night.
I will not be returning!! There are much better hotels on the island for a similar price such as the new Ritz.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear nick l,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, amenities and the poor breakfast experience. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a superbly run all-integrated Japanese resort. I am stressing 'Japanese' as it's not as 'international' as the 'Intercontinental' name might suggest. However, if you like Japan (which I assume), then you will love this place.

Getting there from Naha Airport: by Airport Limousine bus (one of the oldest buses I have rode in the past few years), 100 minutes, USD 18.00. By taxi about USD 100 and 50-60 minutes (traffic can be like mud in Naha).

The staff speaks little but sufficiently English. They are super polite and do their very best for you.

Make sure you book a sea view room. The views are breath taking (even partial sea view is great).

The hotel has several integrated restaurants (you must make a reservation at the 'Restort Center Desk' for Dinner/Lunch - not required for breakfast). Most the restaurants are 'buffest style'. The grill restaurant is at the connected beach, 5 minutes to walk (a well lit path, or shuttle bus). Prices are not cheap (USD 40 up per person). All are ok, just the 'Aqua Bell' (the international restaurant) is not worth it.

The hotel has several integrated shops for souvenirs, sunscreen (you will need it!). Prices are ok compared to local shops (obviously a bit at a premium but that ok). The hotel also has a morning market in the hall where you can buy local fresh fruit (a must try - totally different from what you get in you super market).

The rooms are very clean, well maintained and spacious (I had a standard sea view room). Everything has already been though trough (there is a pre-installed rope on the balcony to dry you clothes, a movable mosquito net to the balcony (btw there were no mosquito), a nicely filled mini bar with ok prices (less than USD 3 for a soda can). The beds are had (which I personally like) and rather short (well, both caters well for our Japanese friends).

The rooms have a rubber (?) floor/carpet. Ideal for cleaning/beach sand, but the room will smell very bad when you first walk it (be prepared). You will get used to it. The aircon works well, can be set individually and is very silent.

Internet is free (wireless in the lobby and cabled in the room), speed is ok.

There is light musical entertainment in the main hall each evening. Usually a solo player. We had a saxophone player that brought almost everyone out into the hall to listen - really great.

You can keep the window open at night and listen to the surf - wonderful.

Breakfast is until 10:00 (so don't sleep in all day) - the selection is rather Japanese than western but also features some small bred, bacon, scrambled eggs (at least it was labelled this way), various cereals. But you will not find your usual strawberry jam...

There is a 'Coco' 24hours shop about a mile from the hotel door (just right outside of the hotel car park). You can get almost anything there (except strawberry jam ;-)

The hotel is very kids friendly. There is a kiddy pool and almost anything your kid will need/like (from high-chairs in the restaurants to attentive staff).

The resort centre can arrange any kind of trips / taxis / transfers for you. Note: most tours are guided in Japanese.

3 things that really puzzled me:
- there is no gym in the hotel
- the lifts are dead slow and you will often see large groups waiting in front of the elevators around breakfast/dinner time (they recommend taking the emergency stairs, but no one knows where these are...).
- no chair/table on the balcony (you can haul outside the chair if you are strong enough)

This hotel is a safe bet for 3 days in Okinawa.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must - the sunset is spectacular and the stars are extra bright when you have a drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kintung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is located on a small cozy peninsula, a short drive from the expressway, and thus the views are amazing from all sides of the building. Personally, I think the ocean view is better than the beach view (unlike some of the other reviews on tripadvisor). The ocean view does exhibit some small parking lot and the chapel, but the beach view shows less ocean and has the rather old looking pool and inflatable beach amusement area in sight.

The hotel just celebrated 30 years, so is actually older than the website photos make it appear. However, it has been renovated so is not bad, but some areas do look dated, including the pool area and central atrium.

The rooms are quite small, but they will offer an upgrade to a larger suite at check in, for an additional fee, of course. The property is fairly large, so it can take a while to walk around, and also can take a while to wait for the elevators. There are a lot of activities, including a dedicated activities center with 3-4 staff on duty during operating hours. Thus, I didn't really have any time to check out the TV, but I think there are few English channels. The bathroom is typical Japanese style pre-fab. Rooms have balconies, but no furnishings, while the balcony floor was in bad need of a refurbishment (or at least repainting). No bottled water provided in rooms. In room safe is very small and cannot fit a small laptop, just barely fits an iPad.

The restaurant food was very average. There are several different restaurants open for the buffet breakfast. They serve mostly the same stuff, but with some small differences. We ate at the Okinawa cuisine restaurant one evening, but the main attraction there is not the food but the local culture show, which my kids enjoyed quite a lot.

There are several onsite gift shops, as well as craft activities that can be done on the property. The main pool by the hotel is large, though has a dated look/feel. There are 2 more pools (1 kiddie) by the beach, but these are even more dated. The beach itself is protected so very calm, no waves to speak of. The inflatables aqua park can be fun, but there is an additional/separate charge. Actually there are additional charges for almost everything, including floaties, etc. You can, however, buy a "membership" that gives you access to most of these things for a flat fee.

I didn't see any fitness center, but there is an onsen or sento on site, which did get a lot of use. Overall my kids really enjoyed this resort, though for adults, the feel was not very luxurious, but still not bad. English speaking ability of the staff was not very good, but adequate in most places. However, there were a few desks where the staff could not speak any comprehensible English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
10.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
6.6 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa
4.6 mi away
Kafuu Resort Fuchaku Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort

Property: ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
Address: 2260 Serakaki, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0493, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Onna-son
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#4 Family Hotel in Onna-son
#4 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#4 Romantic Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Manza Beach Hotel Onna-Son
Intercontinental Onna Son
Onna Son Intercontinental
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing