We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but lots of hidden gems in the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dated but lots of hidden gems in the resort”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose a wrong time to visit Okinawa, when the typhoon struck. When we reach Rizzan beach resort, it was already stormy. We were stuck in the resort.

The first impression of the resort is that it is huge (north south wings) with plenty of rooms. However it looked dated. We were given metal room keys (wow) and a huge but minimalistic room.

We decided to walk around since we were stuck. We realised there are actually 4 restaurants, massage and spa, arcade/games room, convenient store, kids room, souvenir stores all in the resort. The shops have very good assortment of products, not some makeshift stores. The indoor pool was something unusual, as most beach resort only have outdoor pools. Thanks to the indoor pool, we are still able to do a swim.

Unfortunately there is no wifi in the room, however, we bought a data sim card which cost about USD$50 for our own wifi.

It is nice to self drive in Okinawa but if you are stuck in a storm like me, this resort is definitely a good choice to hide away from the bustling city life.

Room Tip: it is good to buy a data sim card when you are in Okinawa. It helped me with my own smart phone GPS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    675
    222
    41
    27
See reviews for
662
268
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a standard room with 2 beds + 1 add-on bed. Only 1 key (a real to goodness metal key) was given despite us having 3 pax and trying to request for an extra key. Resort and room were dated and had definitely seen better days. Room had great views of ocean front and the very clean private beach. There's also a wedding chapel nearby for those planning something special. No free wifi in room - have to sit in their lobby (Level 1 and Level 2) to use it. Also, you had to pay to use their onsen baths, price varies according to time of visit. Food (tried both breakfast and dinner) available in various restaurants, buffet style. Big variety of food. food quality acceptable (but nothing to write home about). Multiple souvenir stores and one convenience store for you to buy something back for the folks at home.

Room Tip: opt for ocean view, definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank summerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every room has a sea view and you pay for it although not as much as nearby resorts. The area is purpose-built and felt a bit run-down.The hotel is probably one of the better ones in the area but a few things annoyed me such as: no wifi in bedroom (first time in about 10 years), opening hours on the hotel flyers did not correspond to actual opening times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Pros - large oceanfront room with 3 separate beds + 1 pullout. Expansive breakfast buffets included in our room price. Indoor pool and beautiful outdoor pool. Reasonably priced relative to other similar properties in the area.

Cons - isolated (very little else within walking distance), parking lot is across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waikikigirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is hotel is typical of the Okinawan hotels that cater to mainland Japanese. The difference between it and others is that it does most things right. There are 6 restaurants, they give you a brochure that lists the times each is open. (nice) downside is that each has different hours so you have to plan which place you want to eat at. (not so nice). It always has at least one restaurant with a buffet open. Like most Okinawan buffets, the food is not delicious (Think Golden Buffet), the difference from a lot of the other hotels is that most of the buffet food is acutally decent instead of awful, and several dishes appeal to a western palate if you have ODed on local fare. It is made for huge numbers of tourists, so it is impersonal, but the staff is friendly and polite, and tries hard to be accomdating. Most do not speak much English, but in a pinch they will find someone who does. The one thing to keep in mind is the way these hotels do business, most everything is an add on. Parking will cost you. Towels for the pool may cost you, or they may give you a voucher as part of your room rate. Use of the Beach is free, white sand and netted, nice -but use of the beach area with cool inflated things for kids and adults to climb on will cost you. (10 bucks a person). They gave us coupons for free breakfast, but you had to eat at the restaurants that served Japanese fair. Want a western style breakfast, cha-ching not free, you must go to one of the other restaurants, and have a lunch type meal (spaghetti carbonara for breakfast). Or you can wait until noon; from noon to 4 there is a desert bar with a make your own pancakes section. They make sure greedy tourists can't get more than their money's worth by putting miniscule portions of each topping out - example a bowl of chocolate chips had maybe 12 chips in it. The area is one of the nicest in Okinawa for beaches and has a lot of nice hotels. The downside is the hotels all have the same kind of restaurants too much competition for the locals so there are not many outside restaurants. The Rizzan has several gift shops to tempt you with a better than average selection of foods and island made trinkets. As for the room, ours was great, we travel with 2 teens, and rooms that sleep 4 are hard to come by in Asia, harder still if they won't share a bed. The Rizzan had a great room with 4 twin beds on the tenth floor with breathtaking views a balcony along its length, so long that it required 2 sliding glass doors and still had room for more glass- one wall is floor to ceiling windows. There is a mixture of outlet styles for electronics, and ample space to walk around. It was immaculate. Only knock is after dark, the only lights are lamps- like so many other hotels conserving energy costs around the world. It is too dark to read and TV is all in Japanese, so bring a board game, and play hard on the beach so you will sleep early. We will go back.

Room Tip: Check for room rates on multiple sites, They are not consistant from one to another and great bargai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-R-in-northcounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Brilliant location, large rooms, no WIFI, several restarants reasonably priced - but key ones close arbitrarily even at peak demand. Other services also withdrawn arbitrarily like internet in the lobby. Please note there are Japanese and English prices with different booking systems making it very expensive for this level of service - the place is at best 4-star. Worst thing is constant (hotel owned) jet skis making considerable noise pollution all day and driving away any hope of wildlife.

Room Tip: definately go for sea facing higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is a very good beach holiday hotel, but do be aware that Okinawa is where the Japanese go on holiday, it's not a massively cosmopolitan area. The hotel has a huge selection of restuarants. All you can eat sashimi! Beer is expensive, but the hotel has its own off license which isnt, with lots and lots of awamori! It's essentially a little town on its own, although it is in the middle of nowhere. To address some issues other people had:

a) wifi is available in the pool bar, lobby and some of the restuarants
b).yes, barely anyone speaks English, but barely anyone in Japan speaks fluent English, plus there were plenty of Aussies on gap years who could translate for you!
c) they charge for towels yes... but they're 150 yen each, don't be so tight.

The cocktail bar is amazing and quiet. We went in school holidays so there were a LOT of Japanese kids so while that means as a young couple we were allowed to be silly without getting tutted at, it was nice to be able to get away from them on a night. The pools are a little bit small but they are open until 10pm. The hotel has its own beach.

Get out on a day trip as well while you're there, granted they are all in Japanese so you will have to be a bit independent, just remember where the bus is parked!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomwninety1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
2.6 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
10.9 mi away
Vessel hotel campana Okinawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
4.0 mi away
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Kafuu Resort Fuchaku Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay

Property: Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay
Address: 1496 Tancha, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0412, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Onna-son
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#5 Spa Hotel in Onna-son
#6 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our paradise resort the beach is figuraively smiling at you.The origin of the neme for the Rizzan Sea Park Hotel at Tancha Bay is derived from the Ryukyu Dynasty official‘Jyana Rizzan’We are located in the Okinawa National Beach Park with 800 meters of a natural white sand beach.Please enjoy the paradise of the Rizzan resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rizzan Sea Park Onna Son
Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing