We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in a lovely village, with very friendly, professional staff.”

Restaurant TAMON - Nozawa Cuisine
Description: 野沢温泉村の名外湯「熊の手洗い湯」側にかわもとや旅館内のオープンレストラン+テラス
Restaurant details
Description: 野沢温泉村の名外湯「熊の手洗い湯」側にかわもとや旅館内のオープンレストラン+テラス
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I dined at the tamon restaurant last week, and it was delightful. The thought put into the dishes was extensive, and very tasty. The decor is Japanese minimalist, but the service more than compensated. Yes it is on the expensive side, but the food and service worth it, a small but well thought out wine list to accompany the degustation menu is worth trying also. Possibly the only improvement may be cosmetic, to possibly separate the dining area from the entrance foyer, but a minor issue. If you are not trying to feed young kids, this should be on your dining list whilst in nozawa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Watergirlfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigchocola, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant TAMON - Nozawa Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your great comments.We are heppy that you had a good time in Nozawa.We also enjoyed talking with you.We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are currently staying in the Kawamotoya ryokan, in which this restaurant is situated - the dinner here was absolutely fantastic! I think it was 7 courses in total, and each one very tasty, I am normally a little on the safe side with food, but decided to just eat what ever was put in front of me, and I was not disapointed! The best food we had in Nozawaonsen by far!

Thank world-explorer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Restaurant TAMON - Nozawa Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear world-explorer89,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on tripadvisor about our restaurant. And my team and myself are pleased to made you discover dishes that you didn't know and you have appreciated !
sincerely,
Arnaud Devillers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wow... Great dinner! A little expensive ($160.00 SGD with drinks) but worth every penny! Very friendly staff and we ate outdoor on the patio.

Thank Joycelyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud D, Directeur général at Restaurant TAMON - Nozawa Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Joycelyn10,

My team and myself are glad that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant. And we hope to welcome you again during your next visit in Nozawa-Onsen.

Arnaud Devillers
Hospitality Operation Manager
Kawamotoya Ryokan & Tamon Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When I explore Japan I love exploring different restaurants and different types of Japanese cuisine. My daughter and I spent a night in Nozawa Onsen and were invited for a meal at Restaurant Tamon in the Kawamotoya Ryokan. I automatically presumed it would be a typical kaiseki type meal. How wrong I was! The first thing that struck me as we walked towards the hotel was the outside deck used for dining - something very unusual in these parts of Japan. Unfortunately there was already a large group sitting outside and enjoying themselves so we had to be content with an inside table. The waiting staff were attentive and helpful but their English was a little limited at times. There were various courses served one after the other - a European fusion style cuisine but including a number of local ingredients. I asked our host if it was a local chef but apparently he was trained in Europe and previously based in Tokyo (if I understood correctly). It's probably not a restaurant for younger kids but I had no choice as I was without a babysitter. Nonetheless my daughter ate nearly all that was put in front of her and even asked for an extra serving of salad and dessert. When she got bored between courses she ran off to the foot baths just opposite the entrance to the ryokan. If you're having a stay in Nozawa I can definitely recommend Tamon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank guy-jin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastedgeResorts, オーナー at Restaurant TAMON - Nozawa Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We are glad both you and your daughter enjoyed the Nozawa culinary experience and atmosphere at TAMON! Please do visit again next time you are in the village we can cater to a range from casual to fine dining, and kids are always welcome. We have stay packages at the Kawamotoya Ryokan with full course kaiseki, and also cater for group dining / parties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2015
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zeitflau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant TAMON - Nozawa Cuisine also viewed

Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun
Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun
 
Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun
Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun
 
Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun
Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing