We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Nozawa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schanze Nozawa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nozawaonsen-mura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schanze Nozawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Nozawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Almost hesitant to write this as you can tell by the time it's taken me to do it.
I don't want to tell you all just how good it is at Schanze.
Rob and the girls made our stay with 3 kids a most memorable one.
Proximity to lifts is a bonus, clean, great breaky and very helpful.
Will be back next year.... If we can get in!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Rob,

Thanks for the awesome review!

Schanze and Nozawa ski resort is not much of a secret anymore, Rob. But no worries, we will have the Studio ready for you and the family this coming season!

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great loaction and Rob was an absolute legend and the staff were great. Rob took us out to eat and recommended some amazing local restaurants. Would definitely recommend to friends! See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear James,

Thank you for staying with us. You and the group are simply lovely people to meet. I know you will be back again, hopefully with the rest. See you soon!

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Close to the lifts, very comfy beds, warm and awesome owner/staff. Walking distance to the main street for dinner and onsens. From cooking eggs in the morning for breakfast to just chatting or dropping you off at the bus station Rob and the girls are great.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper the street facing rooms can get noisy early morning after heavy snow - wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arrowmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Schanze Nozawa for your ski holiday. It was our pleasure to host you.

Happy Holidays!

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, so easy to get to the slopes avoiding a tiring walk a steep hill.
Rooms were great and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was perfect and most of all Rob and staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will back and definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Scott,

This response is long overdue, because we were busy making improvement to the lodge during the off-season. Gone are the moody wallpaper. Now we have refreshing and bright wallpaper in each and every room. We have also torn up the old tatami mat.Guests will now be greeted by spanking new tatami mat. All thanks to guests who provided constructive feedback for us to work on.

Thanks for visiting us last season, and continuing to visit us again this coming season. See you soon Scott.

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

my stay at the schanze really added to an amazing holiday in Nozawa.Rob and his staff(those two lovely gals)were great,so helpful with suggestions on restaurants,onsens or things to check out or just a bit of a chat.the lodge is well located with just a stroll to the lifts,neo bar and an easy walk to the onsens and restaurants.really loved the village with many good places to eat and grab a beer.I am home but mind is still in Nozawa.thanks Rob and co. hope to see you again.

Room Tip: I will take any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geofnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Geofnz,

It was lovely having you stayed with us. We are happy to know that you had an amazing holiday here in Nozawa.

We are always happy to help our guests if they need anything. The crew would be happy to hear your compliments. You are absolutely spot on - the bars and restaurants just a few houses away are really handy especially on a lazy night. The onsens 5-10 minutes away is a real bonus.

Thannk YOU buddy. Till your next ski trip in Nozawa.

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Rob and his family were extremely gracious hosts - staying up late until we arrived from Tokyo by car Friday night, preparing lovely,hot breakfasts in the mornings, making sure we had all our gear, and sorting us out for parking. The lodge is conveniently located right in front of the main gondola and a short walk away from the village center. Traditional tatami rooms, but the futons are very comfortable and warm. All this for a very reasonable price! We will definitely be back. Thank you guys!

Room Tip: Big families should ask for the Family Studio, which comes with its own kitchenette and sleeps 6. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Alisaun,

Thank you for the nice little review on Schanze Nozawa.
It was a pleasure getting to know you and your friends. We are really happy to hear you call Schanze a home away from home, even better with this is coming from one who has been a frequent visitor to Nozawa. It is good to know that we will be meeting again soon :)

See you next season.

Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Perfect location for skiing in the hills. Really hotel and a really good host, Rob.
Thanks for all
Don't miss out on the Snow Monkey tour the hotel provides

Can recommend the Schanze Hotel for everyone.

/ Per
Sweden

Room Tip: Contact Rob in advance and he will fix it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchanzeNozawa, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Per,

Thank you for staying with Schanze Nozawa. We have really good fun having you with us. We just wished you had stayed longer. The Snow Monkey Park day trip is definitely not to be missed, with the walk through that forest actually twice the fun, and the lunch break at the sushi train bar just about everyone's favourite.

We hope to meet up soon on your next Nozawa ski holiday.

See you,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nozawaonsen-mura hotels
Nozawa Onsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
#2 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Nozawa Dream
#2 of 139 in Nozawaonsen-mura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Onsen Ryokan Jonnobi
Onsen Ryokan Jonnobi
#11 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nozawa Onsen
Ryokan Sakaya
Ryokan Sakaya
#1 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
The Ridge Nozawa Apartments
#3 of 17 in Nozawaonsen-mura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Nozawa Grand Hotel
Nozawa Grand Hotel
#7 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schanze Nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schanze Nozawa

Property: Schanze Nozawa
Address: 6974 Oaza Toyosato, Shimotakai-gun, Nozawaonsen-mura 389-2502 , Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice & comfy ski lodge, Schanze is situated just steps from the main gondola station & ski lifts. Guests get to choose rooms with tatami or western beds. Rooms have awesome view of the mountains or ski runs. Family Rooms are duplex rooms which can accommodate up to 6 guests, and is a great choice for family or big groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schanze Nozawa Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing