We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Schanze Nozawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schanze Nozawa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to host Kathy and Yee who make our stay a very pleasant and enjoyable one. Very convenient location to the Gondolas as well as the village. Good food recommendations by the girls. Take their word for it. Clean rooms and very near to two onsens.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with Schanze Nozawa. The ladies will be thrilled to read your kind compliments you had for them. We are really glad to hear you had a wonderful stay, and that you find our location favourable. We hope we will be able to welcome you again the next time you visit this little village.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the lodge between 5th and 11th of january 2013 and all we can say is that this is a perfect place to stay for families. Rob and the team were super helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They were easy to deal with in booking the times and also easy to deal with in helping us with our transfers and also 'little secret' tips with restaurants and onsens (perfect for aching muscles after a hard days skiing). We walked the few metres to the Arena Spa every night for a family outdoor onsen, and that was the highlight of our day!

We stayed in a loft room with great views of the slopes and village. This room was perfect for our family of four and the traditional futon beds were very comfortable and warm.
The lodge is only 50 metres away from the gondola station but you can ski straight back to the lodge - in essence ski-in ski-out.

The other main benefit of the lodge is that after skiing the kids can play in the snow right out side the lodge whilst you are inside having a beer or a nice hot cup of tea -the lodge has floor to ceiling windows in the main living area.

Breakfast is part of the deal and quite substantial, the menu changes daily. There is a communal living and dining area and this was perfect for socialising and meeting new friends / families. We were very fortunate in meeting some other lovely families whilst we were there and this was another positive of this type of accommodation versus being isolated in a hotel room.

We loved our stay and whole heartedly recommend Schanze lodge. Thank you Rob and the girls for a memorable and perfect stay. We will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear SydFamily2014,

The team at Schanze Nozawa is really pleased to read your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

We are blessed with a good location and many amenities close-by. We are glad you enjoyed the SPArena where your family can experience open-air onsen together. Many families, like yours, enjoyed their stay at Schanze Nozawa as they could enjoy their favourite coffee or beer while watching over the kids having their share of fun in the snow right at the doorstep.

We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

From the moment that we stepped foot into Schanze and Rob and his family placed warm slippers onto my freezing cold feet and a cup of warm tea in my hands I knew it was going to be an incredible stay, and I was not wrong. Rob and his family were so hospitable and welcoming, doing everything they could to make our stay great. The location is unbeatable!!!! The view from our bedroom window is attached, and it was simply breathtaking, we opted to stay in a traditional Japanese style room which was quite different to what we are used to (being from Australia), but it was a great experience. A minute walk to the main ski lift and the ski jumps right outside the accommodation (these weren't open yet as we went too early in the season). Rob helped us out with everything from places to eat, to Onsen etiquette (an absolute must while here!) to booking us into cooking courses and driving us all the way back to the train station in the next town over. As a very special surprise for us, Rob and his family organised a big Christmas dinner for everyone at the lodge, with so much delicious food and wine you didn't know what to eat next, and that was all complimentary! I highly recommend staying here - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The japanese style rooms have the most spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Camille,

Many thanks for your A+++ rating and fabulous review on Schanze Nozawa!

Your room does have a perfect view of the Olympic-standard ski jump, where one can catch live action at times.

We are glad you enjoyed the surprise Christmas dinner. We were fortunate that one of our lovely guests - Stephanie, a chef who had so kindly agreed to warm our hearts with her superb culinary skills. That Christmas dinner was indeed special and memorable. Thanks Stephanie.

We look forward to warmly welcome you again at Schanze Nozawa.

Happy Holidays!
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hi all,
Don't question it, stay here!
Just book now, do it...
You won't regret it.
The place is in a perfect location. You really can ski in ski out.
The authentic rooms are really clean and tidy with great views of the passing skiers/borders.

The sun pours in all windows so a little sleep in at least for one morning is a must!
Breakfast is great and filled me up each morning (FYI, big eater!)
Rob and co work tirelessly all day/night to make your stay the best it can be.
The place is full of smiling faces and great charm.
So much serenity!

We came for a couples week during Christmas for the first time to Nozawa trying to find an authentic town and get away from all the aussies.
We got just that.
It was perfect. Nothing but locals on the hill.
We scoped out all the other hotels in town and nothing compared with this location.

Hot tip: Rob's youngest one loves vegemite!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Will,

Thank you for the interesting review!

It was great having you with us in December. We are quite blessed to be at a beautiful spot in the village where we are close to the ski runs and gondola. Interestingly, we did ponder about putting up day curtains, but that would have deprived our guests from having an authentic Japan holiday experience.

Thanks for introducing vegemite to my 4-year old Kaela, who now loves it. We are running out of vegemite.

Please come back and visit us anytime.

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We're not doing ourselves any favours here as we would like to keep this place a secret, but we couldn't do that to Rob (owner) and the team who were extremely hospitable and made us feel so comfortable that after our first visit in Dec 2013, we went back in Jan 2013 to end our Japan trip here, where we felt we had come home. Apart from that Schanze is very clean, the rooms are comfy and warm with views of the skiers coming down the slopes, the facilities are great, the breakfast is amazing and Rob went above and beyond helping us and making our stay unforgettable...we are already planning our next trip!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kilifoti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Foti,

Thank you so much for visiting us and making time to write this review.

We are thrilled to welcome you back in January 2014 after you left in December 2013. We were really happy that you spent your birthday with us as well.

Thank you for your compliments on the warm and comfortable rooms, and the good views. We are glad that you find our breakfast "amazing".

The most rewarding part of the Schanze Team's job is that many of our guests arrived as strangers but left as great friends. Hope to welcome you again at Schanze Nozawa!

Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

MY POINT OF VIEW

I am an Independent traveler from Singapore. This is my Point of View. Schanze Nozawa catered to all my needs, in terms of cleanliness and comfort. Limited rooms and facilities but it was the most convenient to the Nagasaka Gondola and Tomy Ski Rental, which was about 3 minutes slow-walk. I spent a total of 10 nights in Schanze Nozawa. In terms of price, it was a bargain, and even more affordable for couples and bigger families. It was a Traditional style bedding with futon on tatami mat, with paper-thin window shades. The walls were so thin that they tend to have ears as well. Recommended room is top floor 305, corner unit which was where I stayed in with a fantastic view on both sides. You could literally watch skiers and snow boarders ski by, with the occasional ski-mobile and snow plough tractors. On New Year’s Eve midnite, I could see fireworks from my room window, even though it was slightly blocked by the giant trees in front of Nagasaka Gondola. I still managed to capture some big fireworks on cam. The basement Dry room may need some attention though, as most of the time, it was cold and the heater was triggered off. Some days, my Ski suits were not totally dry at all.

The breakfast was of a different variety daily, close to Michelin-Star Chef layout of food design. It was excellent preparation by the Schanze girls. What remained the same was my favorite local Kaya spread and coffee from Singapore. I was never far from home……………………
Rob and team (also Singaporean) were very friendly and gave good advice as well as good recommendation of places to eat, even though I’ve been to only 3 restaurants for dinner, they were just so nice and delicious that you tend to go back again and again. Besides, being a single traveler, it was more convenient to eat out on the bar-top table when it was full-house. Most of the restaurants have a homely feel and staffs were friendly and they speak a little English as well.

I could safely say that I have been to Paradise (besides the Ski slope), and Schanze Nozawa provided me the lodging to visit this quaint village that was filled with history and culture of a 1000 years. Having a creative mind, I felt like going back in time, compared to where I came from. I could imagine the Shogun and Samurais that roamed the streets. The traditional Kimono costume clad women and Geishas that went about doing their daily marketing chores, the fish mongers and pork belly sellers, as well as the Artisan and Artists of that bygone era, which I believe was the Edo period (The Era of the Warloards). I would have been the last Samurai then, as I felt there’s a Ninja walking behind me while I walked back to Schanze late on snowy nights. Perhaps he was a permanent resident there as well then..…..lol (this whole place has a totally different feel that needed to be experienced, which was completely different from Tokyo). A visit to the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park is a must! Rob was good to point out how to identify the Emperor of the tribe, which I managed to capture on cam while we were leaving the area. During the last 5 minutes, the Emperor was spotted with a younger concubine and they were far away from the madding crowd, having some quiet time on the snow. The rest is history…….

I’ve also enjoyed some fantastic skiing and the Forest trail was my personal favorite. Will definitely come back again, as I’ve got to conquer the Skyline trail and soak myself in one of the many free Onsens and also the many great restaurants that I have yet to experience. My choice of stay is definitely Schanze Nozawa again, due to its convenient location, great hospitality and fantastic daily breakfast. Well done Schanze team. Cheers! Eric Tye

Room Tip: TOP FLOOR ROOM 305, Good view of Skiers & the Snowy Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERICTYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear EricTye,

It was great having you with us. Thank you for your wonderful and descriptive review, which really benefit other readers and help to give a great insight on they could expect when they visit Schanze Nozawa.

We are pleased to hear that you find the level of comfort and cleanliness up to your expectation. But like you said, the best deal really is Schanze's location - we are just steps to the gondola station, chair lifts and ski rental shops.

Like many other of our rooms, you had one with a fantastic view of the ski runs where you could catch all the action by the window, plus the snow plough tractors to groom the runs each day! And come at the right time, which you did, you can catch the awesome firework display right from your own room. We are pretty sure you enjoyed that.

Michelin-star breakfast we have not, but thank you for the compliments! The team worked really hard to think of different breakfast each morning, so that our guests can get to try out different variety of breakfast each day. We are glad that you enjoyed the south-east Asian's all-time favourite kaya, and our Australian guests never felt away from home when they clean up the vegemite can.

Please come back and visit us again soon. We would love to show you many more fabulous restaurants which you have not sampled.

Happy Holidays!
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in Schanze Nozawa for 2 days during the last week of December 2013.

From the start of the booking, the Lodge provided all the useful information for our stay in Nozawa Onsen, from getting there to cost of the ski equipment/class booking.

The lodge itself is run by a Singaporean family, so it will be a good place for English-speaking guests to stay. However, it also have a staff who can speak Japanese well.

The lodge itself has a very friendly atmosphere. Rob and Geyln are excellent hosts, so are their 2 staff who gave recommendations to the onsens and restaurants/eateries. They also assisted in the rental of the ski equipments from the nearby shop and the booking of restaurants, and everything necessary right up to our last day at Nozawa Onsen to ensure a comfortable stay.

The friendliness of the hosts and the staff extended to the guests as well, so we had some nice time interacting with the guests as well.

We will love to come back here one of these days in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear ChengCheng,

Thank you for staying with Schanze Nozawa and writing this review.

It is really nice to know that you find us a cosy and friendly place to stay. And we have been really blessed to have even friendlier guests like you, that really make our job a whole lot more fun to do.

We would love to have you come and visit us again soon.

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nozawaonsen-mura hotels
Nozawa Dream
#2 of 140 in Nozawaonsen-mura
49 reviews
Wafupension Miyazawa
#58 of 140 in Nozawaonsen-mura
10 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
#1 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawamotoya
#14 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
57 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
#3 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
94 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Address Nozawa
Address Nozawa
#6 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schanze Nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schanze Nozawa

Property: Schanze Nozawa
Address: 6974 Oaza Toyosato, Shimotakai-gun, Nozawaonsen-mura 389-2502, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice & comfy ski lodge, Schanze is situated just steps from the main gondola station & ski lifts. Guests get to choose rooms with tatami or western beds. Rooms have awesome view of the mountains or ski runs. Family Rooms are duplex rooms which can accommodate up to 6 guests, and is a great choice for family or big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Schanze Nozawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schanze Nozawa Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing