We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Resort In Toemu
Nearby Hotels
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen(Nozawaonsen-mura)
$296
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Onsen Ryokan Jonnobi(Nozawaonsen-mura)
$253
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shikinoyado Shinazawa(Nozawaonsen-mura)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokan Sakaya(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kawaichiya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nozawa Grand Hotel(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kawamotoya(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nakajimaya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ryokan 
Naraya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
15
9
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
9
4
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 28 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My partner and I had a most wonderful stay here for nearly a week. the room was spacious, clean and homely. this family-run lodge was welcoming and the staff were always warm and friendly.

we also had a good spread of sashimi and sushi from the dinner ordered from the lodge. This was prepared by their promising, resident chef in the lodge.

It was about 10mins walk to the nagasaka ski resort entrance, and less than 5 mins walk from the main street in nozawa, and chuo terminal. great location.


  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nauggnehkhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A beautifully maintained accommodation. Everyday you'll be warmed by the smiles of the family owners of Toemu. Large comfy room with superb cleanliness and soft warm beds. We did not take the in house breakfast but the sushi dinner made by the owner's son who was trained in Tokyo was simply delicious. Slightly far from the ski slopes but easy access to restaurants and onsens. Highly recommended for everyone who is planning for a holiday in Nozawa Onsen.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YeeHuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nozawa onsen is the most beautiful village set at the bottom of a fantastic ski resort. Snow was incredible, plenty of it and so light and dry. Resort inn Toemu was great. Its a good 10 to 15 min up hill walk to the Nagasaka Gonola which is a bit tough in ski gear but we left all our stuff at the ski hire place right near the gondola so there was no need to carry everything up there each day. Lodge is only 5 mins from the main street, shops and restaurants which is great. Seems that no matter where you stay in Nozawa you have to trade off either the proximity to the lifts or proximity to the town facilities. If your are close to the lifts then its a down hill 10-15 minwalk to restaurants and an uphill return. Alternatively close to the town means some uphill walking to the lifts each morning. Staff at the resort inn Toemu are lovely. Andy was incredibly helpful and a great source of info on all things Nozawa. Breakfast was fairly basic but adequate - two types of cereal, rice, miso, toast, and usually a different hot plate of food each morning e.g., scrambled eggs one morning, sausage and egg the next etc. Rooms were tatami style and quite comfortable. Found beds a little firm but they all are in Japan. Ate in house one night as the japanese hosts' son was training to be a chef - we had sushi and japanese hot pot which was great. Enjoy your stay, we did.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank SandraS605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Thanks to Andy, Yuka and all the friendly staff at Toemu Inn.

The lodge is clean, warm, friendly and Andy and team make your stay very comfortable. The lodge has a huge shared bathroom and onsen - one for men and one for the girls. Wifi in the reception is free and downstairs there is huge open area, comfy lounge with open fire.

Rooms are tradition style futon, warm and clean. Some have a private toilet. Others use a shared toilet area. used both and either is good. Place is very safe.

Breakfast is great, eggs how you like them, toast, cereals etc and traditional Japanese breaks as well.

The ski room down stairs is large, leave your gear overnight and all dry by next day. We leave our gear up at the Gondola and walk back in our boots. Ten minute walk and you are at the high speed gondola and onto the slopes of Nozawa.

Local post office with ATM is 5 min walk from the lodge. Centre of town is 5 mins. Restaurants include everything from sushi, traditional curries, chicken, Italian and there are a few restaurants that do the full on Japanese degradation. Must be 50 restaurants in the town.

Personally I believe Nozawa Onsen is the best resort in Japan - been to Myoko, Appi Kogen, Shiga, Niseko, Mt Zao and a few others and I keep coming back to Nozawa. Here's why, traditional Japanese village with the best free public onsens, dozens of great family owned restaurants, great value accommodation, heaps of powder snow, best hot chocolates, a few good bars, great local people, easy 90 minutes from Tokyo, good ski school, excellent hire shops (which can be a big prob in some other resorts - my 13 yrs old has size 12 shoes).

Andy and team makes your stay easy and relaxing. Very helpful staff e.g picked us up at the train station and also dropped us off. Arranged for our bags to be delivered at our next location. The guys really look after you.

I would Highly recommend Toemu Inn. We have already booked in for Jan 2014.

David S

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have recently returned from a 7 night stay at Resort inn Toemu and it was great. The accommodation was very comfortable and the included breakfast was a bonus. The accommodation was very reasonably priced and nothing was too much of a bother. Being able to sit around the fire after a nice relaxing onsen was great. Close to restaurants and the gondala / ski hire shop (probably 500m). Worth the stay. We had the standard room with the shared bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athertonwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews