We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Villa Nozawa
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Back home in Australia after a week at Villa Nozawa, and I still keep an eye on the snow and daily reports - wishing we were still there (two adults and one child). We feel lucky to have been there to witness Gabriel being the first westerner to win both the Giant Slalom and down the mountain races, congratulations!
A huge thank you to you all, Mark, Gabe, Kyoko; also Jess, Ian, and all the rest of the team. Utterly friendly, happy, hospitable and helpful. Couldn't help but compare this top-service mindedness to skiing in Australia, especially at the end of the season (Australian slopes will not see us again).
This was our first stay; recommended by friends who went there last year. Now knowing how fantastic the Onsens are; tried to get through as many of them as possible, so had one in the morning before the slopes and again before dinner, and in the end it was a tough struggle to stay away from Furusato Onsen with both outdoor and indoor onsens. Next time we'll know there is no need for a room with a private bathroom - which seemed to us more like an airline toilet with a bathtub - and so not really worth paying extra for. We appreciated the advise of the staff on the activities, rental gear (best skis I've ever had), as well as restaurants, and enjoyed eating out each night at a different restaurant, great value and the draft beers were very good and cold! The Craft Room made a great coffee too.
All I wish to say, we wish to return as soon as possible as can't be there right now, taking the short stroll to the Karasawa chair lift and on to the condola and Nagasaka Trail for another day's skiing in a fairytale setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Perri_12,

Thanks for the review!

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Glad we could help out and make your holiday that bit easier, the team all say "Thanks!" for your kind words.

There really isn't much comparison with skiing in Australia and that's definitely a good thing! Australia doesn't do snow quite like Japan. ;o)

Hope to see you again next year,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Three of us stayed at the Villa last week for 5 days of skiing and fun. The Villa had been highly recommended to us by relatives and it met all our high expectations.
Right from the start with Gabriel's warm welcome it was a wonderful time. The skiing, (just a short walking distance to the first lift) was great with the warmest of welcomes on each lift. We hired all our equipment through the Villa which was a breeze with the equipment being delivered right to the Villa for us. The breakfast was great with each morning a different menu but the staples of toast and cereal always available with tea and coffee available all day as well.
Nightime activities and day time excursions were organised through the Villa. We had a great Italian dinner and Mark's other property near by. Other activities includes a sushi making night followed by a movie night, Monkey tour, Japanese cooking classes and even ski lessons offered from the Villa. One of us was a non skier and there was plenty for her to do, wandering around town and the activities offered by the villa.
Our spacious,yet simple Japanese style room came with an ensuite which was great and provided us with a great nights sleep. (The rooms without ensuite have a much better view though.)
Nothing was too much for the Villa's team with all our needs being met.
The town itself made skiing here something new for us. We have skiied in a lot of places around the world but none have offered the wonderful restaurants and authentic Japanese culture as did Nozawa. We ate out every night for some great meals that were cheap ...all under $10 a dish..and varied (loved the apple dumplings on the street at night for dessert). Each dining experience is filled with heaps of authenticiity and variety. The onsen, an experience in itself!!, is just behind the villa as well as others scattered around the village
This accommodation certainly earns its number one rating on TA. Thanks Mark, Gabriel, Kyoko and the team for looking after us so well!
As we said, it certainly was a thrill staying at the Vill.....a!!!!

Room Tip: If you want the best view don't have an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi chris G,

Thanks for such a fantastic, detailed review. We really appreciate it.

Sounds like everything was pretty spot on - breakfast, ski gear, excursions and activities, room!

Great to hear you made the most of the skiing and the village - there's so much more to Nozawa Onsen than just the mountain, so I'm glad to hear you got in there and checked it all out. And you've got to love such cheap meals!

Happy travels,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginowan-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mark, Gab, Kyoko and the Nozawa Villa team made our first family trip to the snow a memorable one. Their warm friendly approachable service made obtaining information easy. Marks vast knowledge of the mountain helped to get the best out it.
The Villa is clean warm and spacious. The common room is a wonderful place to meet other like minded positive people who are living life. It was great to return from the hill and share a warm drink or beer with other guests.
The strong Japanese culture in the town is wonderful and certainly a highlight.
I look forward to future trips to Nozawa Onsen and staying with Mark and his team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello Tom P,

Thanks for the review!

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay - glad everyone was so helpful and made it easy.

Our guests tend to be super friendly and spend a lot of time in the common area downstairs, so it gets a really social atmosphere happening! Glad you met a few people and had a chat.

Happy travels,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinmer, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our 3rd time with Gab, Kyoko, Mark and the team and another exceptional holiday. Their easy going manner coupled with their efficency made another skiing holiday so easy. Their ability to cope with changing requirements takes the stress/worry away. The common room was a great place for all to relax after a full day of skiing, have a quiet beer, trade stories and information, check out each others photos and GoPro movies and fed the fire was just a great way to finish the day. If the reader of this is looking for a place to stay Villa Nozawa is must stay

Room Tip: The team is great for your needs just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Stuart G,

Thanks for the review and the great pictures!

Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and found the common room so relaxing. The open fire has made a huge difference, we get heaps of people telling us how much they love it.

Thanks for all the great feedback and happy travelling,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are a mixed French Filipino family of 5 living in Hong Kong. This was our first time to Japan, and we had little experience only in skiing. Our first contact to prepare this first trip was with Villa owner Mark who is kind, helpful, quick and precise in all answers. During our stay, Kyoko and Gab who manage the Villa Nozawa were very dedicated to our well being together with Mark who also spend quite a lot of time in Villa. Through their hard work, commitment and kindness, we really felt at home. Everybody is concerned by the well-being of the others, and it makes Villa Nozawa the perfect place for family or friends stay. Villa is always very clean, environment is friendly, safe and cosy. Breakfasts are healthy and complete with a special dish every day (like potatoes with bacon and egg, pancakes,..), aside from all you-can-eat cereals, fruits, bread and hot drinks; on our first day, there was even a welcome party to meet other guests. Main living room is open whole day to all guests and equipped with comfortable sofas, a nice fire place, a beautiful view on the village and mountains and wifi to share with our family or friends our latest photos. You are also free to use the main kitchen whole day. Villa is quite close to one of the public Onsen, a very relaxing and typical experience after a hard day skiing. And at night, you can either eat in close restaurants or make a 10 minutes walk to dine in village. Ski slopes are a short walk from the Villa and the shuttle to Gondola is also very close and it takes 3 minutes only by shuttle to go to Main Gondolas Station. We also rent the skis and shoes at reasonable prices at Villa. The last day, as it heavily snowed, we appreciated so much Kyoko proposed to drive us to the Bus Stop back to Nagano. We also booked an excursion to Monkeys Forest at very competitive price (my wife did not ski but she also enjoyed so much her stay in Villa Nozawa and Nozawa Onsen). We really would like to thank, Kyoko, Gab , Mark and the rest of the team for this wonderful stay in Villa Nozawa, as they are always present to give you the best service and advice. Nozawa Onsen is a great ski resort with many slopes for both beginners and more advanced skiers. If Villa is mainly occupied by foreigners, Nozawa Onsen still remains a traditional Japanese village. Even on the slopes, the proportion of foreigners is very low (10% ?). We stayed there during the busy New Year week, but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes to ride lifts. Eventually, it really looked like a paradise place if we are looking for snow falls. I would recommend this place to all my friends, and anybody who is looking to ski in a traditional Japanese village which offers all modern comfort and who likes to stay in a very beautiful, clean, friendly and comfortable Villa. Hope to come back one day soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, Great way to enjoy snowfalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Xavier B,

Wow! Thanks for such a fantastically in depth review - you've covered all the main points that people like to know before they stay with us, so I really appreciate it.

Sounds like your stay was pretty perfect!

I've passed your kind words onto Kyoko and Gab - they're very happy they could help.

All the best,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our family had a fabulous week skiing Nozawa Onsen and staying at Villa Nozawa. The village was charming, not particularly commercial and all within walking distance. The staff at the lodge were terrific and the lodge itself was lovely. Recommend it - we will be back one day! Michelle

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Michelle M,

Thanks for the review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time skiing and the village - it's a pretty special spot.

Hope to see you back soon,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from our amazing first trip to Japan to see what all the hype was about when our friends were raving about the snow in Japan. Well safe to say our friends don't lie, the snow is amazing especially in Nozawa Onsen...it was off the chart! We are really spoilt now and will probably become 'snow snobs' who only snowboard where the snow is amazing as we have never experienced powder like that before.

Enough about the snow because Nozawa Onsen and Villa Nozawa has so much more to offer. The village is so sweet and quaint and we loved the fact that the locals didn't speak much english, which encouraged us to try out our very basic Japanese. We bathed in the traditional onsens, at first with some reservation but after the second visit, all inhibitions were gone and we bathed like the locals…it is an absolute must after a day on the mountain.

The food in the village was amazing and we did not have one bad meal. We am still dreaming about the steamed dumplings, bakery treats and numerous local restaurants that have exceptional food at affordable prices.

Villa Nozawa is one of the coolest places we have ever stayed. Mark, Yoshiko, Gab, Kyoko and all the staff at Villa Nozawa made us feel so welcome and at home from the moment we arrived. They have extensive local knowledge about the mountain, food, things to do and local traditions, which made our stay easy. The rooms were huge and we had the most beautiful view of the mountain outside our bedroom window, which was a delight to wake up to every morning. The common lounge room with a roaring fireplace and strategically placed vending machine made hanging out after a day on the slopes very comfortable. We met amazing people who all had a love for the snow which made conversation flow and even more easily after a few beers.

We only arrived home yesterday but have already started planning our return trip to Nozawa Onsen and Villa Nozawa next season, with new friends we have met at the Villa. Thanks for an awesome holiday guys….it was AMAZING!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariangela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Mariangela V,

Thanks so much for a fantastic review!

Great to hear you enjoyed your trip. I love the comment about "snow snobs" - I think it's safe to say that Nozawa makes a few of those, I'm one too, for sure!

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the village and onsens. They are fantastic once you get over the initial awkwardness.

Great you found all the staff so helpful. We do try, so it's great to hear when we've gotten it spot on.

Look forward to seeing you next time,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nozawaonsen-mura hotels
Nozawa Onsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
#1 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
80 reviews
Nozawa Dream
#2 of 139 in Nozawaonsen-mura
49 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Ryokan Sakaya
Ryokan Sakaya
#3 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nozawa Onsen
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
#2 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
92 reviews
Nozawa-onsen Utopia
#6 of 139 in Nozawaonsen-mura
34 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Address Nozawa
Address Nozawa
#6 of 45 in Nozawaonsen-mura
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Villa Nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Villa Nozawa

Property: Alpine Villa Nozawa
Address: 6631 Oaza-Toyosato | Nozawa-Onsen-Mura, Shimotakai-gun, Nozawaonsen-mura 389-2502, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Villa Nozawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Villa Nozawa Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing