We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge and friendly staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Villa Nozawa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge and friendly staffs”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Mark and everyone at the lodge are not only friendly but also helpful and patient with the guests. The staffs are around all the time and available to answer any questions you have about the ski slope and the town. From my room, the bathroom, the common area to the ski/gears room, it's so clean that I have no problem walking with just my socks on at all. The lodge is only 10 mins walk to the slope and 3 mins walk to the nearest hot springs. The town center is also walkable distance from the lodge. Breakfast is fantastic and it is included in the room price already. I have such an amazing experience at Nozawa and I'm going back to Villa Nozawa for sure! Mark and the crew, thanks for being such wonderful host!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Hi Carmen N

Wow! What a great review - thanks for the support.

You've mentioned everything we try and get across and it sounds much better coming from a happy guest. So thanks for that.

I've passed your feedback onto everyone here. Hope to see you next season!

Kind Regards

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great place- very nice. We had great skiing and a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Hi Vertullo

Thanks so much for the review and rating. Great to hear you had such a wonderful time.

Regards

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Queensland Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

What a place this was. The staff were so friendly and they made you feel like you were part of the family. Great location to the Karasawa end of the mountain. Not too far to walk in your boots which is a killer sometimes. Perfect for families and younger people. Run by an Australian and others too which were all so helpful. We had heaps of room for our family of four and the kids loved playing cards with other kids at the villa too. We loved the breakfast in the morning and having tea and coffee when ever you wanted was a luxury. You can also use the kitchen if you like too. Don't look anywhere else this is the place to stay. We loved it!!! We are planning a trip back soon.

Room Tip: If you want to save money maybe get a room that doesn't have a bathroom because the ones that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Hello Amy B

What a wonderful review - thanks so much. We're thrilled you had such a great time at Villa Nozawa.

Great to hear the location next to the slopes was spot on for you and that our service was appreciated. We all love Nozawa and enjoy showing it off so our guests have a wonderful time.

Hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinmer, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

After staying at at Nozawa Cottage in 2011 we returned to Nozawa with great expectations and also went back to the heart of the union to Villa Nozawa. BOTH lodges/cottages have some many positives it is hard to split the two. The Villa has a staff that are so good at keeping the Villa glowing morning and night (from Breakfast to to log fire at night) Mark, Gabriel & Kyoko and the rest made our stay so easy and smooth it is hard to fault the place. The Cottage is so close to slopes that my feet were begging me to return there every afternoon. Already planning the 2013 stay. The varied breakfast was able to get my kids all the way to lunch which was a great plus for us. The social atmosphere of the common room was just unbeatable and a mecca for the 500 cards each night. The variety of activities (see the tip advice below) added to the sense of communal spirit as all who entered traded their days events and trip advice.

Look forward to our return in 2013 (for round 3) and wish Mark & the Team a great thankyou from my family for our fabulous 2012 Nozawa holiday.

Regards
Stuart Gibson

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Hello Stuart G

Fantastic review - appreciate you telling others about us.

Thanks for the info you've provided potential guests. I've also passed on your kind words to the team.

Hope to see you next year!

Take care.

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

In writing a review, I suppose it would be nice to come up with some suggestion or other that might make a guest's stay more enjoyable, but when it comes to Villa Nozawa I'm drawing a blank. Quite simply, everything is perfect just the way it is. Mark and the team have every little detail already organised for you, all you need to do is turn up, relax and enjoy. Villa Nozawa has a great location, less than a 5 minute walk to the lifts. In fact distances and walking times are really irrelevant in Nozawa as walking around the village is an enjoyable experience in itself.

If you are keen on your skiing then Nozawa really delivers. If you want the chilled-out (I guess literally!), quaint ski-village experience then it is all there. If you want to go and eat some inexpensive, awesome food then Nozawa is your place (special mentions to Yoshimi Soba and Daimon Soba - noodles don't get better than that). Even during a week's stay I didn't ski every run nor walk every street - really just providing a convenient excuse to go back. Thanks guys, looking forward to the next trip!

Room Tip: Room 304 was nice, had a great view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Hello Simon T

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and no problem that you're drawing a blank on what to improve!

So pleased you had such a good time. We're pretty proud of Nozawa Onsen and want to show guests all about this wonderful village.

Can't take credit for the amazing skiing, but the snow this year has been incredible!

Glad you enjoy all the village has to offer, from the onsens to the great restaurants.

Look forward to having you back! Safe traveling.

Cheers

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I couldn't be happier with the quality of our stay at Villa Nozawa. Mark and the team were all very helpful and friendly, and sitting in front of the fire in the common room after a long day of skiing was just perfect. If you're in Nozawa Onsen to ski or board, or otherwise, this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rorywevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Hello rorywevans

Thanks for a fantastic review - really appreciate the support and you taking time to let others know about us.

Thanks for your very kind words about the team - I've passed them on to everyone.

The fire has proven a big hit - it really is a great spot to relax after a long day on the snow.

Cheers and thanks again.

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in February 2012. The staffs and the owner are fantastic ! The team at Villa Nozawa do a lot for the guests; not only offered help and answered questions with infinite patience but to assist us to transfer our luggage from fourth floor to third floor and making sure that everything was in order when we were back from ski. The breakfasts are great and more than enough to get you going for the day. The room was clean and very spacious. There was free wifi which were are able to pick up on our phones and ipad.
We truly enjoyed our stay in Villa Nozawa. Special thanks to Mark, Gabriele, Kyoko and the team and not forgetting our ski instructor Luba who have their magical ways in connecting with all their guests

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivian_kualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Hello vivian_kualalumpur

Thanks for a fantastic review.

It's great when previous guests write detailed reviews and mention all the things we do on our web site (but it's much more believable for readers when it comes from a guest!).

Thanks for your very kind words about the team here. We do work really hard to ensure every guest has a great time, we're very proud of Nozawa Onsen and love showing her off.

Pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts so much - they're a very popular way to start the day and the variety keeps things interesting. WIFI is critical these days, even in a tiny ski village in the Japanese Alps!

Thanks for the review - thrilled you had such a great time and it was a pleasure having you.

Safe traveling.

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nozawaonsen-mura hotels
Nozawa Onsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
#1 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
82 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
#3 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
93 reviews
Nozawa Dream
#2 of 140 in Nozawaonsen-mura
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nozawa Onsen
Shikinoyado Shinazawa
Shikinoyado Shinazawa
#10 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
11 reviews
Kawamotoya
#14 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
57 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Address Nozawa
Address Nozawa
#6 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Villa Nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Villa Nozawa

Property: Alpine Villa Nozawa
Address: 6631 Toyosato, Shimotakai-gun, Nozawaonsen-mura 389-2502, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Ski Lodge in a terrific location Absolutely magnificent sweeping views across the valley and Nozawa Onsen Resort. We completed a renovation recently to upgrade our facilities. We even installed a fireplace! The lodge has been Number 1 on Trip Advisor since we opened our doors almost 10 Years ago now Mainly due the the terrific team we have working with us We thank all our repeat guests for coming back year after year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Villa Nozawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Villa Nozawa Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing