We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday in Winter Wonder Land”
Review of Lodge Nagano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Nagano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent 7 days at Lodge Nagano with our two kids (6 and 9 years old) in February 2010 and we had such a fantastic time we are heading back in January 2013. The lodge was comfortable, warm and cosy. Luke and the staff could not do enough for us and made our kids feel right at home. The rooms were basic but the breakfast was great. Nights in the lounge drinking Sake with the other guests was a highlight as well as the fantastic skiing. We loved Nozawa it is so beautiful. Cant recommend this place enough. Kaz D

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Manager at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hi kaz D,

Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate the feedback and support.

Great to hear you had such a good time with your kids. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the lodge accommodation and breakfasts, even better that you found the service so perfect.

See you in January,

Mark, Yoshi and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

I meant to write a review of Lodge Nagano after our first stay of 10 nights last year but time got away on me. I guess the fact that we returned for another 10 days this year says it all!

Booking online is a painless process and emails are replied to promptly. The packages that Mark offers are great value and he is happy to mix and match according to your needs. The information package that is emailed with your booking confirmation is really helpful and Mark is always happy to assist with any questions you might have.

The lodge was in great condition last year and after some summer renovations was even better this year (love the new fireplace). Luke and Mariko run a tight ship and are so friendly and willing to help out with any questions. It must be exhausting sometimes having to answer the same questions for each new arrival but they do it so well. What I enjoy so much about this place is that it is not a sterile hotel, it is a warm welcoming ski lodge and it seems to attract a good mix of relaxed friendly guests many of whom are return customers.

Our room was clean and tidy and the traditional futon bed on the floor was firm but comfortable. Shared toilets are kept clean by a lovely local lady who chats away in Japanese whilst working like a trooper. I can't comment on the showers as I never used them and why would you when the local onsens are sensational!

Breakfasts are epic and the aroma of freshly brewed coffee every morning makes for a perfect start to the day. The local village has a really interesting variety of restaurants and the food is fantastic as is the local plum wine.

A special thanks to Luke and Mariko for the assistance they provided me this year when I stacked on the second last day and tore a couple of ligaments in my knee. They drove my wife to the hospital so she could laugh at me and then waited to drive us back to the lodge. Their help was greatly appreciated. The knee has been reconstructed and we hope to return next year for another powder fix.

Stayed: February 2012
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Owner at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hi Scott

Thanks for taking the time to write such a terrific review - we really appreciate the feedback and support..

We always try and get across the friendly service, great value, comfortable lodge, etc but it's so much better when it comes from happy guests.

So thanks for your kind words - I've passed the feedback onto the team and they said "Thanks".

Hope the knee is better is better and look forward to catching up next year.

Cheers

Mark, Yoshi and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I spent 5 days here at Lodge Nagano and it was an unforgettable stay. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was delicious, the other guests were great and fun to hang out with, the access to the slopes was easy, the access to the lodge from Tokyo was simple, and the room was just what I needed as a solo traveler. I stayed in the bunk bed room and it was great. After a day on the slopes you can just walk over to one of the Onsens (hot springs) and relax. I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo you may want to bring ear plugs in case you have bunk mates that snore, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Owner at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hi Jon

Thanks for the great review and ratings. Glad you had such an enjoyable stay.

The location is pretty special, terrific that you were able to enjoy an amazing season.

Thanks and happy travels.

Mark and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nozawa Onsen might have been the highlight of our recent honeymoon trip to Japan. We spent 12 nights total in Japan, with 2 in Nozawa. For a place known for it's great snow...we certainly saw the heaps of it, but just happened upon the one day of slush conditions. That was no matter however because the staff at the Lodge and the town was so much fun it balanced it all out.
Highlights...Luke the Aussie host could not have been more attentive in suiting us up with rentals, dropping us off slope side, to delivering us a home made hot breakfast each morning. The room was comfortable with it's own sink and great views of the mountain. They even delivered a bottle of champagne to us for our honeymoon!
Now, to not give the wrong impression...this is not a luxury stay. You share a toilet room with the floor, ski bums are hanging around the lobbies and there's the faint smell of sweaty socks when you come down the stairwell. BUT! Do not be discouraged...it's all part of the experience and really fun. You could see the folks who had stayed a week as solo travelers had found a group to hang with at the lodge and were enjoying the company. We traveled the short 2 minute walk to town and sampled as many of the local eateries as we could. The staff that owns Lodge Nagano, along with a few other friendly hotels, put together an awesome food & bar guide. I believe we tried a lot for two nights...and loved them all. Not to be missed was a simple pleasure however...the public "Foot Bath" in town just across from the famous Oyu Onsen. We arrived around 4pm on our first day, just as the mountain closes. Thanks to a great suggestion from our host, we headed into town, picked up a sticky bun (yum!) and Sapparo, and plopped our feet into the foot bath. We sat and watched all the skiers descend from the mountain with hot feet and relaxed smiles. It's a great way to meet fellow travelers as well!
Also note, the Lodge Nagano has shared showers...but enjoying the public (free!) onsens is really the way to soap up at the end of the day. If you go in the middle of the day most are pretty quiet. On the second day we opted to spend the 800 yen per person to use the Nozawa Grand's onsen. It has both indoor and outdoor baths, soap & shampoo provided, but bring your own towel. For all the other free public baths, Lodge Nagano has towels and shower kits you can borrow to get clean before returning home.
We highly recommend seeing Nozawa...and experiencing all this tiny town has to offer. The skiing, the onsens, the food and of course a very affordable stay at Lodge Nagano.
One final note...there is a blue bus that runs from town to the JR NozawaOnsen train station. We accidentally left on a red bus (it came a minute earlier than the local bus) and ended up on a 30 minute ride instead of 15, and paid 500 yen a piece instead of 300. Not a big deal, you end up at a train station a few stops up from NozawaOnsen Station...but for a bit we thought we'd be lost :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Owner at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hi DubaiTraveler17

Thanks for writing such a detailed review for other potential guests, we really appreciate the support.

Great to hear the team looked after you so well and that the champagne was well received!

And yes, the Lodge is a pretty relaxed lodge with travellers from all over. The team work hard to ensure a friendly and informal atmosphere and the lodge is a great value lodge, but like you say, not a luxury lodge. Our photos and video give a pretty good indication of what the lodge is like.

Sounds like you had a blast and we're thrilled we could contribute in some small way to having a wonderful honeymoon. Congratulations again!

Regards

Mark and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just returned from 10 days stay at Lodge Nagano in Nozawa Onsen. Had a really good experience all round,with excellent skiing. The lodge facilities are all you could want and very clean.Luke and Mariko run a very professional operation and are a great source of information for first timers in the village.Apart from the great skiing, the onsens in the village are a real drawcard with the ability to ease the aches after a day in the snow. Once again, thanks Luke for an enjoyable stay. Rod Donaldson

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Owner at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Hello Rod

Hope all is well. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind words. Appreciate them.

I've passed your great feedback onto Luke and Mariko and they say "Thanks".

Glad you got to enjoy all Nozawa has to offer and had a great stay.

Kind Regards

Mark and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Infinately great value lodge, with friendly and knowledgeable staff, who are more than happy to help you with any requests you may have. Clean rooms, good amenities and awsome breakfasts, make for a fantastic stay. All of this, on top of a beautiful traditional village, with great atmosphere and friendly locals, at the base of an amazing mountain for skiing or boarding. No wonder i keep coming back!!!
Thanks guys. Don Kidgell.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidgell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Owner at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Hi Don

Thanks for the great review - really appreciate it.

Love the ratings and comment on us being great value, that's a big one for us. Thanks also for the feedback on the team - I've passed on your very kind words.

The entire team work hard to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. The breakfasts are a big hit with people loading up for a big day on the slopes.

We love Nozawa Onsen and are pretty proud to show it off to our guests. Thanks again and safe traveling.

Cheers

Mark and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Welcoming and knowlegable staff, great breakfasts, ample common areas, and only 100m to slopes amidst the local community-incredible value

Room Tip: After a big day powder skiing, all rooms are bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Nagano, Owner at Lodge Nagano, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Hello Chris

Thanks for the kinds words and top ratings. Great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciate you telling others about us on Trip Advisor.

I'll be passing on your lovely feedback to everyone here shortly.

Safe traveling.

Cheers

Mark and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nozawaonsen-mura hotels
Nozawa Onsen
Address Nozawa
Address Nozawa
#6 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
61 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Kawaichiya Ryokan
Kawaichiya Ryokan
#4 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
89 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Shirakaba
Shirakaba
#8 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alpine Villa Nozawa
#1 of 142 in Nozawaonsen-mura
137 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Shikinoyado Shinazawa
Shikinoyado Shinazawa
#11 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
11 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan
#1 of 47 in Nozawaonsen-mura
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Nagano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Nagano

Address: 6846-1 Toyosato | Oaza Toyosato Nozawa Onsen Mura Shimotakai Gun, Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun 389-2502, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura > Nozawa Onsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty lodging in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, cosy lodge, budget priced rooms & just 150m to the snow. Awesome location, everything you need for a great experience. With our super friendly English and Japanese speaking staff to help with all your needs, cooked breakfast each morning in the dining room along with comfortable lounge, Lodge Nagano is a very relaxed and comfortable base for amazing skiing in Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lodge Nagano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Nagano Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing