We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

From the moment you pull up under the entrance at the Sierra Resort and are faced with a deck with a table and seats and complimentary refreshments you know this is a hotel that really puts a lot of effort into service.

The facilities are amazing- onsen, outside bath, huge areas both inside and outside for relaxing on deck chairs, armchairs or sitting with friends while enjoying the simply stunning views, spacious bedrooms with jacuzzi baths on the verandah, winding paths and trails throughout the extensive gardens- it's all beautiful.

The breakfast buffet is varied, plentiful and delicious- truly something for everyone.

The staff though deserve the highest praise- they are WONDERFUL, and really work hard to make sure the guests are comfortable and happy at all times. As an example, a member of our party was planning to hike nearby Tsugaike Highland when her shoe broke right in the lobby. A staff member noticed and offered to try and find rubber boots in her size from among the hotel boots.

I loved my stay at the Sierra Resort and hope to be back SOON!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 426 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

The location is fabulous with superb views of the mountains, a private forest and a relaxing and comfortable environment in the hotel itself. The real beauty of the Sierra Resort however is the amazing customer service and the quality and friendliness of the staff - without fail they are friendly, polite, and attentive without being overbearing. Sadly we were only able to stay for one night as this was a relatively short first visit to Japan with a lot crammed into a few days, but in that short time we could tell that we should have stayed longer.
In the guest information book the owner explains his ethos of encouraging a positive staff environment and it really shows - nothing seems to be too much effort, and the shuttle service is amazingly responsive and convenient. We will definitely put this no our schedule if we visit Japan again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had 10 days here in April and loved everything about the place. Very comfortable and spacious room (although slightly tired), underfloor heating was great, fantastic view and bathroom, spa bath awesome! Onsen was beautiful, lounge and lobby warm and welcoming. Free snacks unexpected, huge variety at the breakfast buffet, and the service from the staff second to none. Transfers anywhere at any time with a smile!!!

Room Tip: Ask for forest side for 100% privacy (we never closed our curtains)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Arriving on a grey rainy day, we received a delightfully friendly welcome. All the staff were helpful and determined to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The drivers shuttled us back and forwards between hotel, ski lifts and restaurants and were always quicker to arrive than estimated. When we arrived at the lift station on our first day, having stupidly left all cards and money in the safe, Yumi returned and insisted on lending us money for lift passes and lunches... Now that is service, and all with a smile.
The sun came out the next day and post skiing strolls around the grounds and the amazing onsen all contributed to an excellent experience.
The breakfast buffet was extensive and had something for all nationalities and more...... But overall the most lasting memory will be one of top class friendly service. thank you.

Room Tip: The suite had the extra room and sitting area.. This is in the East wing
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had an amazing time throughout our stay at Sierra Resort. We love everything about this resort especially their staff service. They were very friendly, helpful and accommodating with all our requests. The overview of the premises and the location of the resort is perfect! Apart from the close proximity to the ski slopes, another contributing factor in deciding my stay here was their indoor and outdoor onsen. One word to describe it "Zen". They surprised us with a bottle of champagne in celebration of my partner's birthday. We both love this place and would highly recommend this resort! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francie275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have seen other reviews on this resort with so much plus comments and I can confirm that these comments are doing the resort justice. The resort offers so much to the guests from free snacks(miso soup/popsicle/coffee flavored milk/egg with rice/popcorn/etc) to high quality dinner with excellent hospitality. The onsen, although too dark for me, is so great with excellent snow scenery on my Feb 2014 visit. The dinner starter was unforgettable with salmon roe on salmon fillet (raw). The meat was delicious as well as the vege. The ground of the hotel was breathtaking even covered with snow. Therefore, I insist on going one more time during summer season to see the snowfree sierra resort again. But winter season is just a great time to spend a couple days in the resort especially the lounge. At the time of check out, the lady behind the counter offered me a gift. It was two large apples. HOSPITALITY. PLEASE TRY YOURSELF!

Room Tip: I paid 10500yen each person for a twin room (36m2) including 2 meals. The resort has junior suit wi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lester_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Sierra for 7 wonderful nights. The staff at Sierra are amazing, from dealing with requests, booking restaurants for dinner and getting us around Hakuba in the resort shuttle bus. Nothing was ever to much for them. The resort has a spacious feel with an amazing outlook from every window. Breakfasts had a good selection and the complimentary tea/ coffee in the lounges was a real treat. The resort is well situated for the ski fields and the free area ski bus collects and drops off at Sierra. The complimentary miso soup and rice available as you step off the bus after skiing is fantastic. The on site Onsen is wonderful and relaxing at the end of the day. All in all a fantastic resort and we would only stay there again when in Hakuba. Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the west wing are close to the laundry. The suites in the East wing are close to the Onsen.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33LaurenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
231 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
145 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba

Address: Mizubasho Onsen, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#1 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#1 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $174 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have the largest class of rooms & original hot spring in hakuba.and we serve for you perfect pickup & drop off.Best for family: kids for free. Jr.suite have 2bed rooms.Best for lovers: Grand Twin & Double room are 36m2.Double room's bed is kind size(183cm). All rooms have a jet bus and Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Resort Hakuba Hotel Hakuba-Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing