We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski holiday with family - perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ski holiday with family - perfect”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Yamano Hotel for a ski holiday - if you want to ski / snowboard than this is an excellent choice. It has all the right facilities, well managed with friendly staff. I will be back again in a few weeks with my nieces and nephew who are having their first experience of skiing in Japan and I am certain staying here will be a highlight.

Room Tip: You can decide between Western or traditional Japanese - rooms second floor at the front have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdwyer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have known Keita and Monica for about 10 years and are very glad to be part of their "family" in Hakuba. Every year we come back for a week or so of skiing and keeping up with Erika, their lovely daughter. The hot spring water in their bath is a highlight too, as are the meals. Looking forward to coming here in other seasons too. Thank you!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroundtheworldser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was our third stay at the Yamano Hotel, and the reason we keep returning is because of the warm friendly service, comfortable rooms, and great food. This is a family run hotel, and Keita and Monica are wonderful at making you feel at home. They really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. We are always too lazy to walk with all our ski gear to the closest ski lift that is only about a five minute walk from the hotel, and the Yamano Hotel staff is always more than happy to drive us to the lift or to the further gondola. If you need a ride back after a day on the slopes, you can call them and they will pick you up! What great service! If you want to ski at one of the different resorts further away, there is a shuttle bus that picks up and drops off right in front of the hotel. We always eat breakfast and dinner at the hotel, but for the guests that want to dine out or want to go out for drinks, the Yamano Hotel can recommend places and will even drive you there. There is no need to eat out, because the Yamano Hotel has delicious and filling dinners, whether it be the 5-6 course western style dinners, or the Japanese style dinners like all you can eat shabu shabu! Thei all you can eat breakfast buffet is also very good, with both Japanese and western breakfast foods. The only little suggestion I would make to make the breakfast better would be to get another toaster. They only have one very slow toaster, and I had to wait quite a while to make toast, especially if someone is making cheese toast. We always stay in one of the rooms with two beds in the main room and a tatami mat loft with futons and a small kotatsu style table. Very clean and spacious! Sure the bathroom is tiny, but if you want space to bathe, you can go downstairs and use the hotel's big ofuro/bath to soak and relax. My son loves the hotel's free internet. The Yamano Hotel always spoiled us with their great service, so we can't think of staying anywhere else in Hakuba!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKtreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this property for seven nights in early February.

The hotel staff were very agreeable and often went out of their way to accommodate us such as driving us somewhere or picking us up. The hotel manager in particular may our stay as easy as possible. He spoke English well, the only downside of which, was that I didn't get to practise speaking Japanese!

We stayed in a Japanese room which was rated as being suitable for three people. While it fitted the two of us comfortably, it would have been crowded with another person.

Sleeping on a Japanese futon was also a new experience. My recommendation is you use as many mats as you want in order to make it as comfortable as you want. Another reason why only two staying in the room was better.

The main downside to the room was the size of the en-suite. I'll attach some photos of it to better illustrate it. But in a word it's small.

As others have said, it's a short walk to closest Happo-One lifts, Nakiyama. I personally didn't ski it but while leaving we saw others skiing past the shuttle so after snow (which there is lots and lots of) it's possible. The hotel is also the start/end of a shuttle bus route to Hakuba 47/Hakuba Goryu so it makes getting to those ski resorts very easy.

We really appreciated the free wireless internet. We had no problems with it, it just worked, and there was plenty of latency and coverage. We didn't use the computer in the lobby but it was there and appeared to work fine.

Our package included breakfast (it seems all do) and dinner. We were treated to a variety of Japanese dishes and Western dishes which a Japanese "twist". In my opinion the best thing about the stay was the food. It was great knowing there was a table reserved for us downstairs at which the food would be promptly served soon after we sat down every night.

The hotel is a short walk to the Happo village so it is possible to walk to other restaurants and shops. We did twice and it's not a bad walk when you're not carrying skis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilliamdeBurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our family had two rooms at Yamano Hotel for one week. The location might be a little removed from the village centre, but it is possible to ski from the door to the lifts, so what's the problem? The easy walk into the village restaurants at night was actually one of the most pleasant parts of our stay, but it might be a problem with younger children. When we did ask for a lift to the far side of the resort or to the bus station, it was happily organised for us, plus there is a shuttle bus service to the neighbouring resorts. We only had dinner at the hotel once... it was part of our package and the western style food was OK, but there's a good selection of restaurants in the village which we preferred. We heard other guests raving about their Japanese dinners which you can book ahead, but we saved money by eating elsewhere. The hotel atmosphere is leaning towards a ski-lodge rather than a hotel; it's a friendly, peaceful, family retreat at the end of a big day. Our rooms were very spacious and clean, with beautiful outlooks over the snowy fields. We loved using the onsen to relax after a day on the slopes. Having a washer and dryer with washing powder available was a bonus. We also appreciated the use of the computer. Breakfast was a highlight, with a wide and plentiful selection of western and Japanese food, yummy homemade jam and great coffee. Overall our stay was comfortable. I would say this hotel is perfect for families of energetic adult/teenage skiers who want to be close to great skiing on amazing snowfields, get out and make their own fun in the village and then relax in a friendly, home-style environment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brekatosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay here and it was excellent!! It's a nice family run hotel, Keita and Monica both make you feel at home and are extremely helpful with helping to book restaurants (Japanese restaurants are often small and fit up to 15ppl at best, important to book).
Rooms were clean, we were lucky with our room as my wife and I were given a western/japanese twin room which had a loft style design - lots of space than expected.
Location is a bit out of town, in front of the ski jump stadium itself, the closest lifts to Happo are about 200m which is actually ski-able on footpath as the snowfall here is amazing!!

7 days straight we had snow!!

For dinner you can eat-in which dishes are prepared very well, or you can walk to Echoland, if heading into Hakuba town itself the hotel does help with pick-up/drop-off - I'm guessing this is depending on how busy they are since it's family run, not a lot of staff.

Access to ski resort of Hakuba 47 and Goryu is much easier as the shuttle service picks up especially for Yamano hotel guests due to their location right at the hotel's doorstep!

Hotel clientele were mainly couples and family which is great as after a full day of boarding/skiing you just want to sleep without being woken up by drunks/party goers of which Hakuba itself is not like that at all, it's peace, quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Simple but highly effective. The owners run the hotel and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
68 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
226 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#32 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
41 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Goryukan
Hotel Goryukan
#18 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
72 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#2 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Yamano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Yamano Hotel

Property: Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Address: 3477 Hokujo | In fron of Jump Stadium, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#4 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#5 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Yamano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best powder skiing holiday in Hakuba!Hakuba Yamano Hotel offers cozy accommodation, great mountain views, easy access to ski resorts, hot spring & sauna, delicious food and knowledgeable staff. Ranked by Michelin Green Guide Book for 2009 for its superior service, food and rooms.There are 5, 7 Nights and 10 Night Packages including Lift Passes available. Packages can be booked with breakfast and dinner or with breakfast only.A delicious breakfast, a mix of Western and Japanese and transfers in Hakuba when you stay. You can also choose a Japanese style dinner or a 5 course Western dinner included package. Also for early bird bookings we offer 15% off from our rates/person/night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hakuba Yamano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamano Hotel Hakuba Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing