We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hakuba Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, very friendly staff, well appointed rooms and a good breakfast buffet. We tried the restaurant,, which was ok, but actually preferred the food in the cosy lounge by the fire. The staff 'went the extra mile' to make drinks for us that were not on the menu. ski-rental in the hotel is super-convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a ski holiday in hakuba

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JVTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    75
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
67
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything was perfect . Walk in to hot chocolate on arrival. At first the beds were at bit hard but we pushed them together and put the extra doona from the wardrobe between the two and slept on that and it was perfect. They even made our bed like that for us. Plus after a day of skiing I could sleep in the snow. Onsen was lovely super clean and the outside one was just stunning to sit in. Breakfast, goodness me, beyonde choice fantastic choices for my partner who is vego. Locals are super friendly. The veiw was lovely from the room. Hot chocolate in the vending machine. Only thing was horrid wifi but we didn't mind sitting in the lobby because it was so easy to feel at home. Stay here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breeony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice hotel. Nice enough rooms. Beds a little too hard for me. Tiny bathroom, a bit outdated.
Staff were very nice, helpful. Many foreign staff on hand for English speakers and other languages.

On site onsen a little small but very clean. One bath inside one out that was closed for 3 out of 5 days.
Don't recommend getting the package that includes dinners as it limits your choices too much.

All in all a nice hotel, with shuttle busses running to the ski areas for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great. Only downside is the staff lacked english skills which made communication difficult . Breakfast brilliant. Ski set up amazing. Hummingbird down the road a lovely place for homely japanese food. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINGERTWIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for the Hakuba Tokyu Hotel for 7 nights in Jan/Feb this year. We split the stay as we went to Cortina for 2 nights.

Overall our impressions of the hotel were quite positive;

The location is excellent - It is in the Wadano area of Hakuba. The closest lift is the Kokusai Quad Chair lift, you can exchange your lift tickets there and also get refunds there. The lift is about 10 mins walk - fairly flat and very do-able in ski boots carrying your gear. The Hakuba Gondola is about 5-10 mins drive in the ski shuttle which runs regularly from the front of the hotel. There are also regular shuttles to Hakuba 47, Goryu, Iwatake as well as a night shuttle. Taxis are easy to get, and super cheap if you don't want to wait or miss the shuttle (as we most often did).
There are some excellent local restaurants within a short walk. Musashi, Hummingbird and La Neige Higashikan. The Pub is nearby too and great for apre drinks.

We took a deluxe room and the size was amazing. Loads of space and a balcony too. The beds were quite firm and the pillows super hard - but that is fairly common in Japan. There was a good size bathroom with plenty of space and the shower had plenty of pressure. If you were travelling with kids I would recommend this room, just for the space.

The service in the hotel was on average good; The young people in the concierge whilst nice, seemed a bit clueless and seemed to be there as work experience or maybe to study Japanese. We received a message 5 hours late which meant that we missed a back country tour the next morning - they didn't seem to understand why this was frustrating. The staff in the Breakfast room were fantastic and could not do enough to help.

The food in the restaurant was OK. The Breakfast was good, a mix of Asian and some western foods. We didn't have dinner there but had lunch on the day we arrived. It was OK.

One of the best things about this hotel is the Onsen. It has both inside and outside, the outside is just beautiful with a great view of the snow covered garden. Plenty of good products, rather than just no frills soap and shampoo. We did find that the Haukba Onsens won't let you take drinks in unlike the one's in Niseko.

Plenty of facilities for skiers and boarders, each room has it's own locker downstairs, and there is a large drying room. There is also a skiers entrance so you don't clatter through the lobby and neat little air pumps to blow the snow off your gear. They also have a rental counter with a small range of gear as well as a service where they will send out to get your board/ ski's waxed/tuned overnight.

If you are arriving by bus from Nagano, you will probably be dropped off at the Hakuba Information Centre, they will call the hotel's shuttle which arrived really quickly, and dropped us back on the day we left.

A few words of advice for Hakuba;
Make sure you take cash or use ATMs as you find them (there is one at the Happo info centre) with you as many local restaurants will only take cash.
If you are travelling with a group pre book your restaurants as many of the local Izakaya are very small and may not be able to fit you in.
If you get a good snow day, it is well worth the trip to Cortina, as they are at the top of the range and closer to the sea, they generally get double the dump that Hakuba gets. There are buses, or you can stay a night or two at the Green Plaza Hotel.
Learn some Japanese phrases, the locals are so friendly and they really appreciate it if you make an effort.
Some restaurants in the Hakuba area worth trying are;
Emu - A fantastic local joint, you can cook your own okonomiyaki at the table, they have the biggest bowl of ramen ever for JPY700 (around $7AU)
Hana-Ya - An excellent Izakaya (Japanese Pub). Excellent sashimi and fantastic skewers!
Shinshu Dining Sarugaku - The buckwheat pancakes are an absolute must!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Aims_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Aust.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our five night stay at the Tokyu, Hakuba, was a highlight of our recent trip to Japan! The staff was welcoming, the room extremely spacious even with the inclusion of an extra bed for our daughter, and having the bathroom, vanity area and toilet located independently of each other made excellent sense for a family sharing one suite!
An excellent breakfast buffet ( loved the fine china and silverware!) fortified us for each day on the slopes. Ski lockers, free washer/ dryers and the regular shuttle to the lifts made the ski experience easy to organise. And coming home to an in- house onsen was heaven!!! ( And I loved the hair/ body products supplied!)
There are so many little eating places close to the hotel that we were spoiled for choice, and enjoyed ice-creams from the hotel shop and vending machines as well!
The only little negatives were the hardness of the beds and pillows and the lack of coffee in the room ( only Japanese tea). Mind you, we slept well, regardless!
Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends who want a little luxury in their holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NQTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Tokyu exceeded our expectations. A lovely traditional hotel in a beautiful
setting. The staff were very welcoming & accommodating. When we missed our shuttle bus, they readilly called the hotel bus to transport us to our destination. The rooms are large & very comfortably furnished. The local area, Wandano, has many terrific restaurants all within a short walk & very reasonably priced, much less than we had budgeted for.
The only improvement which could be made- the mattresses were very hard, especially after a hard day on the mountain. I had my bed made up with an additional quilt under the mattress, but some pillow top overlays would be a great addition.
The hotel has hot spring onsen, with indoor & outdoor baths & lovely toiletries & bath products to use.
There are ski lockers & drying rooms close to,exit for shuttle bus to the base of ski slopes.
The laundry with free use of washer/dryer is also of great benefit.
Breakfast is an excellent spread of Japanese & Western cuisine. The staff are very attentive & will quickly fulfill request for hot milk or omelet or anything else you require.
There is an onside shop with very reasonably priced drinks, food, clothing & gifts. There are also vending machines with. Drinks & ice reams.
The manager is a lovely man who personally assisted us for medical needs for our daughter & showed us options for our requested change of rooms.
We were mature adults traveling with our 4 adult children, all in their early 20's, we all loved the hotel and the entire Hakuba experience. The Japanese people made our holiday a truly delightful experience. We hired our ski gear from Spicey's which I will review separately- they were great.
We will return & yes, we will stay at the Tokyu!

Room Tip: Outlook from all rooms good. Alpine view lovely, some noise from ski lockers on 2nd floor, so reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Tokyu Hotel

Property: Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Address: 4688 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#16 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakuba Tokyu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakuba Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuba Tokyu Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing