We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but will not stay here again”
Review of Hakuba Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed in this hotel with 2 kids, age 6 and 7 years old, traveling on our own. I was surprised to see westerners working in the hotel, so there was no problem communicating with the hotel staff, even though we do not speak any Japanese. The hotel is not luxurious but clean and comfortable. We paid more for a deluxe room with huge floor to ceiling windows and a large balcony, perfect for admiring the lovely snow scenery.

When we were there, it snowed heavily for 3 days. We had no choice but to eat every meal in the hotel because I did not want to walk in the knee deep snow with 2 young kids. Though the food is good, the menu is very limited, and the prices are very expensive, a meal for 2 adults and 2 kids cost about USD100, and it is certainly not worth the price. We always ate at the Japanese restaurant because our kids like to eat rice, we had problems communicating with the Japanese waiters/waitresses who only knew very little English.

I love Hakuba in winter, but the next time I go I will not stay in this hotel again. I will choose a hotel that is very close to other restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosamund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

Greatly enjoyed my stay at the end of December 2010 in Hakuba at Tokyu hotel.

Was surprised how much larger Tokyu was than I expected when we turned up, the two restaurants and bar area were of quite a good size and the hotel has many rooms. After spending some time walking and skiing around Hakuba I do think it is the largest property in the area (from what I saw) and the staff were always helpful and very willing to assist, with the majority speaking very good english.

I highly recommend the set menu lunches in the restaurants, quality and price were fantastic.

The location is very close to Happo ski lifts, and the bus service from Tokyu to the Happo ski is great. They have an onsite ski hire on the ground floor, good for boots and skiis at very reasonable rates (can charge to the room). If people are after 'performance' ski equipment then Happo gondola has a few ski hire outlets.

The food in Hakuba at night is great, with Tokyu providing in the room a guide to Hakuba food outlets/restaurants..this was great and very handy.

The hotel has two onsen onsite (during the winter the outside onsen is closed), one for males the other female...both a good size and very enjoyable for a good soak after the day.

Looking forward to visiting Hakuba and Tokyu again in the future :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidK-aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had an excellent stay in early April to catch some late season skiing. The hotel staff were very helpful with good recommendations on places to eat and where to ski. The room was fairly well sized for Japan and comfortable enough with views towards the mountains. As others have mentioned the breakfast was really very good and worth taking if it is an option with your booking.

We rented our skis from the hotel ski shop and found the equipment was in good condition, even for the end of the season. The shuttle bus services was also convenient and not far from the base of the gondola in Happo One.

Location wise, there's not too much near by although there are a couple of restaurants and a bar quite close. The walk into Happo does not take too long although it can be very dark on the walk back up.

Also, as others have mentioned, the onsen is a great way to relax after a day on the slopes. The only grumble with the hotel is that the bar tended to close quite early.

All in all, we were very pleased with our choice and have booked again for our Christmas ski trip.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Hoj_in_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Everything was superb, from check in to check out two weeks later.

Our room was very spacious (deluxe or superior, cannot remember) plus a balcony and with a view of the mountain . Breakfast was one of the most enjoyable times during our stay. Warm and cosy, fantastic food, floor to ceiling windows with superb views of the mountain and watching the snow falls. Try the omelettes made by the "chopstick dude" as my 11 year old called him - a winner. The staff were very helpful and friendly during our stay. The hotel has its own ski hire facility and the ski room with lockers and drying room were nice and spacious. Onsen, onsen, onsen, how good was this!!! Located in the hotel with both indoor and outdoor onsen, this was a sure way to wind down and soothe those aching muscles.
The hotel is within walking distance from the ski lifts but we took the hotel shuttle, only a few minutes to any ski lift. This shuttle will also take you to the neighbouring resorts. The snow was good and plenty of it. Never any long lift lines or crowded slopes however, weekends seemed busier than normal. We normally had lunch on the mountain (very different from that in Europe) and tried some of the local restaurants for dinner.
I would recommend Hotel Tokyu and happo-one to anyone and hope we will be able to return here for another memorable holiday one day.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Room was spacious and had everything you would want (including VERY effective geating). Staff very helpful and some speak excellent English. We hired our ski gear from hotel for reasonable rates. Only 5-10 mins walk to the ski lifts - there is also a shuttle bus at front door. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Magentalovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Hakuba was one of the places I always wanted to visit and we stayed 3nights at Hakuba Tokyu. Very satisfied and wished to visit again.

Interesting special rates were offered on various internet sites to celebrate the hotel's 50th anniversary for this low season.

The hotel is located not far from the train station where we rented a car(10-15 min ride). It seems they have also pick-up services from the station.

The hotel seemed to have gone through a substantial refurbishment just before our arrival. Our stay in a new and clean room was comfortable, although it was rather small. We enjoyed the small balcony despite the chilly weather.

I booked one night with pre-fixed dinner out of the three nights.Very often pre-fixed menu sold combined with room charge is too large for us as portion, and is boring with little choice. Therefore we tend to avoid such. However, we were so impressed by the quality of the food served here and decided to eat a la carte at the same French restaurant Chamonix for another night. Ample choice of a la carte dishes was available, compared to other hotels in Japan so far experienced.

The services throughout our stay were impeccable, as expected to be a Tokyu hotel.
The hot spring bath was nothing special but good.

Many trekking and walking courses are proposed by the hotel and tourist office which we benefitted from.We also flyfished in a small pond reservoir in front of the hotel estate.

I appreciate the PC rental service at 1000 yen per night.

I am delighted to find Hakuba not spoiled by too much commercialised tourism and business. From Tokyo, it is far, ahead of Karuizawa and Tateshina, but worth travelling for nature and mountain lovers.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed for five nights. Our room was very nice - above average size, great view, good amenities. The hotel has a very nice Japanese bath for hotel guests. The shuttle service to the ski slope was efficient but does not run to often. Staff were great across the board - efficient and professional. There were English speaking staff.
The bus into town is convenient but the route takes too long. You might want to pay for taxi. Otherwise, depending on the weather, you can walk to many restaurants in the nearby area. The skiing was awful in February but the hotel and food in Hakuba sort of makes up for it.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank so_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#4 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#10 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#9 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
107 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#16 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
148 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#14 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Tokyu Hotel

Address: 4688 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $199 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakuba Tokyu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Booking.com, Rakuten, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hakuba Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuba Tokyu Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing