We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you would possibly want was supplied...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Deck - outside dining
Deck - outside dining
Deck - outside living
Deck - outside living
Cottage - front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun, Nagano Prefecture, Koshinetsu, Chubu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jodemons
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Everything you would possibly want was supplied - all the comforts of home.”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It's a terrific home away from home. Apart from food, everything you need is supplied. Wonderful beds to sleep on, great heating, plenty of room for 2 adults & 2 teenagers - who want/have their own space upstairs. Neil is a lovely host. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Madori took us shopping a couple of times which was fantastic. We will definately be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaghannn
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage - Great Location”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This cottage was absolutely stunning in every way. Myself and 4 friends stayed in the cottage for 8 nights and never could of imagined it to be as beautiful as it turned out to be. The snow can be seen from inside the heated cottage on almost every wall of the house through the wall-size windows. Apple TV provided was very useful to us.
The cottage was within 5-10 minute walk of "Echoland" which includes many bars, restaurants and convenience stores. It is also located across the road from a snow shuttle bus stop so very convenient for skiers and snowboarders.
The owner Neil was extremely friendly and helpful. He provided us with assistance in many more ways than expected.
I would 100% recommend this to anyone staying in Hakuba and really can't explain how beautiful the area is.
If I return to Hakuba in future travels this cottage will be my number 1 preference.
Thanks so much for your amazing hospitality Neil :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall appearance of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

A beautifully appointed self contained house, PERFECT for a couple or family. Walking distance to the centre of town and shuttle bus services. Neil was even kind enough to arrange the "basics" (milk, bread some fruit) for our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot hot shower!
Liked least: steep stairway to bedrooms
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Even j
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The Cottage exceed our expectations. Very clean, cozy and really well equiped. The location is excellent!
The owner Neil is very kind . We had a wonderful two days and would not hesitate to recommende it.
My family (and dog) love it here! We hope to return every year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BQB place, bedroom
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane S
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in Hakuba.”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We spent a week in this house in Hakuba in October. For a three week holiday this was the highlight. We were staying in business hotels in Tokyo and other places, so it was great to be able to unpack everything and not live out of a suitcase. Also the house has excellent laundry facilities.

The house was very spacious with an indoor dining area and an outdoor dinning table on the veranda. The kitchen is a gallery kitchen but it has everything you would need. For groceries there is a supermarket near the train station, a Lawson’s closer and a convenient store closer still. It’s on the main street. Look for a neon sign saying Jah Jah and two golden Labradors. On our arrival Neil kindly took us down to the supermarket in his car to get most of the weeks groceries.

There are two bedrooms that sleep two people each but there is also a futon that could be used down stairs if you move over the dinner table. The house has one of those Japanese baths with the high sides but it's longer and more comfortable that the ones you get in most Tokyo hotels.

The house is in an area called Echoland. It is well served by restaurants and shops. The main street with most of the restaurants is a 5 minute walk from the street with the house. There is a nice river-walk near the house that leads up to the mountains. Also the gondola station that takes you to Happo Ike or the ski slopes is also within walking distance. We weren't there for the winter season though.

We have no problem recommending this house for people to stay in. The Hakuba area is beautiful and Neil is very accommodating if there are any issues. We hope to return to Hakuba in the next few years and would definitely book this house again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain W
Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cozy cabin near spectacular hiking.”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed two nights at Hakuba Cottage. The cabin itself is very stylish and cozy. The setting is very peaceful and conducive to a relaxing stay. The cabin has been outfitted with all the modern conveniences and particular attention has been paid to the little details that made the weekend so enjoyable. Neil was wonderful. Very attentive to our needs and helpful in pointing us in the right direction. We would return to Hakuba Cottage in an instant. Great place to spend a few days away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. Hakuba itself is a gem. The hiking was awesome. I can imagine that the skiing is just as spectacular. Would love to come back in the winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing