We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Mexican restaurant in Japan.”

TacoTaco Japamex & Mexican Dining
Ranked #18 of 236 Restaurants in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy the authentic Mexican flavors at TacoTaco, faced on the main street in Echoland, Hakuba. Since 2009, we prepare all of our dishes with the freshest ingredients and utmost care. Our ingredients are prepared daily with our own flair to ensure the freshest and finest dishes possible. Don't miss our Enchilada, grilled chicken / chili con carne / shrimp taco and our famous cheese nachos. Also we serve vegetarian menus like a chili beans taco and Natural rock Oyster as a seasonal menu. Party down at TacoTaco!
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“OK for a Mexican restaurant in Japan.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

It's best to book or go early. We had the Nachos for entree, it was very tasty. But the meal was spoilt somewhat by the main course enchiladas.
The flour tortilla was too thick ( and tough ) and tasted undercooked. Service was good, prices reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fast mexican”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Friendly staff. Only a few tables so be prepared to wait a little for a table or go early. However, service is quick. Chicken enchilada is good. Comfortable setting. Good location, right in middle of echoland. Well suited for a casual dinner, a quick meal. Value is OK.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican in Hakuba”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Brilliant!!!
Just what we needed after a long day of boarding. Lovely staff and great flavours. Just remember they free-pour alcohol so those jugs of margaritas are heaps stronger than in Australia.

Hakuba is a very touristy town so it is hard to get traditional japanese - but seeing as the japanese do everything well so dont worry about it too much.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jesadtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thumbs up”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fun night, great service and good food - the corn chips were particularly good - not stodgy or thick, but light and crispy. Service was brilliant and the chef sent out a round of drinks to apologise for being late between courses (we didn't think so) but it was a nice gesture. The waitress in particular was a lot of fun, multilingual and a breath of fresh air in this wonderful winter wonderland of HAKUBA.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayase-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Nachos, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I ate here after we were unable to get a reservation next door. The staff was very friendly and we were seated immediately. Everything we ordered came out tasting good, especially the nachos. My only wish for this restaurant is for them to offer more tacos on their menu. Otherwise, great place. I will be going back on future visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TacoTaco Japamex & Mexican Dining also viewed

Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 

Been to TacoTaco Japamex & Mexican Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing