We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be delighted!”
Review of Hummingbird

Hummingbird
Ranked #3 of 287 Restaurants in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Let Hummingbird be your home away from home! At Hummingbird, you can enjoy Japanese and Western home-style cuisine made with the freshest seasonal ingredients. We provide a warm, welcoming environment perfect for spending an evening with family and friends. Our menu includes several vegetarian options, as well as a wide selection of sake, shochu and cocktails.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Be delighted. You have to book! But it’s worth it. Everything is fantastic here, from the food, the atmosphere, the staff. The owners here are charming. It’s really hard to get a booking here but it definitely lives up to it’s hype.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank KewarraBeachPharmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020

We really enjoyed a simple yet tasty and perfectly cooked dinner at the Hummingbird. It will not disappoint.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ndeleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

This is a lovely cosy restaurant with amazing food. Make sure you order sides as well and you will have an amazing meal. The service is amazing

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank alexandrabramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We booked to go here for Christmas dinner as it looked like a cosy experience and good food. We turned up half an hour early and asked if we could have a drink before our meal. We were met with a slightly awkward reaction. We were put on a table and then it seemed like we were forgotten about. We ordered and portions were small and very overpriced. 2,300 yen for a small piece of salmon with no rice or side dishes. We also ordered a starter of chicken wings which was 3 small, chewy wings with little meat. There was only one chef and one waitress. This was the most expensive meal we had eaten in Japan yet the most disappointing. 7,000yen for two small main courses, one starter and two (non-alcoholic drinks) I would not recommend this. It was a disappointing Christmas dinner.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank lucmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Me and my partner from Australia came here tonight and we’re lucky enough to get a booking we were so happy.

We were in an out with in the hour, we ordered Green Salad which the dressing was so tasty. Chorizo Sausage,Sesame Chicken had so much flavour, Risotto delicious and we had the noodles which were great all being cooked fresh and served with fresh hot plates. I recommend making a reservation for this place if you cone to Hakuba by far the best place we ate with great service these guys put so much time and effort into running this place just the two of them absolutely amazing job.

This little Gem with a Beautiful Husband Wife team made us feel at home there hospitality was outstanding we couldn’t fault one thing, they even walked us out the front door and thanked us and waited until we walked around the street back to our hotel so sweet.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Janeybaby2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird also viewed

Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 

Been to Hummingbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing