We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - just book it”
Review of Panketo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panketo Lodge
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“Look no further - just book it”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The owners and managers of Panketo Lodge are kicking some MAJOR goals in their first season.

We stayed 5 nights over the 2012/2013 new year period and were fortunate enough to meet two of the three Aussie owners/families – super friendly and genuinely nice people. Amy and Ollie (the managers) were also superb – always on hand to give advice and tips on the mountains, restaurants, arrange equipment and to have a chat over breakfast/evening drinks. This lodge is amazing value for money - the owners put in the hard yards reinventing the place and it has paid off. Keep an eye out for the old sake sets and hand paintings left behind by the previous Japanese owners. Very handy to the Sakka lifts (and therefore the rest of the mountain) – less than a 5 min walk with a number of restaurants, bus stops, a few bars and a little convenience shop within walking distance along the same road. Definitely check out Penke Bar – right next door – yummy food, live music, great tunes and well priced drinks. We stayed in Room 203 (I think?) – directly at the top of the stairs (no shower but the male/female onsen rooms downstairs were excellent – no queuing and private couple use was permitted). Other rooms do have showers. Bed was ridiculously comfy. Was it brand new? Yes it was –all part of the reno. Breakfast was more than sufficient – the hot special changed daily and was served with a smile and views over the forest and valley. The fully functional kitchen made for easy lunch and dinner prep. Great common lounge area includes an open fire place and comfy lounges – perfect for wine/cheese/beers in the evening. There’s a washing machine and dryer in the basement with solid drying room (internal and external access) – perfectly dry clothes and equipment each morning. Pick up and drop off from the train or bus station was very much appreciated and the nightly scheduled shuttle trips to the onsen (return), ATM and supermarket came in handy. A special shout out to the owners who kindly lent us ski gloves. We had splurged on some high end accommodation in other parts of Japan as it was our honeymoon, but Panketo Lodge was by far the most memorable stay and best value for money. In fact, it was the only accommodation we bothered to tell our friends about!

Save us a room next season please!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TownsvilleNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Panketo Lodge, we being Mum, Dad and two kids 5 and 6 years. This was truly a trip of a lifetime. Even before we departed home, the website provided all the details needed for an easy journey from Tokyo to Hakuba. Whilst at the lodge Amy and Ollie made all four of us feel completely welcome. Skiing lessons were arranged, lifts to various Onsens and restaurants...what more could you ask for...mmmmm, did i mention a warm breakfast was also provided!!! I actually came away from a family holiday involving plane flights, bus trips, train rides, loads of skiing feeling completely relaxed. (Possibly this could have something to do with relaxing by the fire at night time once the kids were in bed with some good company and good Saki!). A big thank you to Amy and Ollie for being such an essential part to our fantastic holiday....we will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A friendly lodge, managed by excellent staff, Amy and Ollie, nestled close to some of the best skiing available.
The lodge accommodates about 20 people and encourages a friendly atmosphere with a large breakfast area and a warm open fire in the lounge room for relaxing and recounting tales of how many accidents your mates had on the slopes, with a few drinks.
The rooms are clean and warm. The bed was firm and comfortable and the small downstairs Onsen was hot for soaking tired muscles.
There is a large communal kitchen available for cooking dinner, or Amy and Ollie are happy to recommend and book one of the many restaurants within easy walking distance of the lodge.
At the end of the day you are going for the skiing - and the lodge is located approximately 150m from the chairlifts, which makes skiing a breeze.
Special thanks to Ollie and Amy, who were friendly, knowledgable, accommodating, and put on a great BBQ in -5 degrees.
I'll be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really enjoyed my time at Panketo Lodge from beginning to end!! Transfer from the Hakuba Train station was much very appreciated after a long Journey non-stop from Perth. Ollie Tee'd up my first boarding lesson within the 1st hour of Arrival. Both Amy and Ollie were extremely helpful and easy going throughout my stay, they provided a lift to the ATM and shopping centre every evening for all the essentials like Sashimi. I spent 7 nights in a 4 bedroom dormitory on the ground floor, great quilt and fresh bed linen. The lodge had an indoor Onsen which helped mend the body after some hard stacks!! Haha A hot Breakfast was served between 7-9, it was always a treat and got me off to a good start each day. Only 2min walk to the snow and board down to the asako chair lifts so no need to wait for buses or taxis etc. The fireplace in the living room was pretty sweet to just relax with a beer and chat to all the other guests before hitting the town. It was my first trip to Japan but certainly not my last and I’ll be doing my best to confirm my next stay in Hakuba at Panketo Lodge before it sells out for next season.
Many thanks
Eóin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great lodge! The hosts (Amy & Ollie) are so generous, very easy going and extremely welcoming. The lodge itself is amazing, spacious rooms, nice fire place, honesty bar and big communal kitchen. Every now and then they put on a big BBQ night which is always amazing (for non-vego's). So close to the chairlifts as well as Penke bar (great bar to visit).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a gem this place is!

My 3rd. visit to Hakuba and wished I'd discovered Panketo Lodge earlier. Located very close (2 minutes walk) to Saka lifts this lodge is perfect for couples, families or infact everyone. The managment couple are brilliant in customer focus and a wealth of local information. They can pick up/drop off, run onsen/ATM/supermarket runs in the lodge 10 seater van.

There's use of a commercial kitchen, a bright and airy meals area (breakfast supplied) and an open fire. They run an honesty bar and there's a groovy bar/bistro adjacent (Penke Bar) along with good restaurants down the road.The drying room is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed recently with our 3 kids aged 7,5 and 1. A memorable experience that I would recommend to anyone with kids. The lodge has large living areas with lots of space for the kids to run around and even a basement room just for them. Nice having the hot bath onsen after a hard days skiing! Service standards are very high with attention to cleanliness. Walking to the lift also a bonus. Great value for money accomodation which you need when travelling round with the family. Inhouse baby sitter at cheaper than mountain rates took a load off our mind.

Room Tip: at the end of a corridoor and not under the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#5 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
225 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Villa Hakuba
Hotel Villa Hakuba
#1 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
75 reviews
Penke Panke Lodge
#2 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panketo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panketo Lodge

Property: Panketo Lodge
Address: 4844 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 150 meters from Happo One Ski Resort The spacious 4-level layout features stunning floor to ceiling cedar and oak finishing, made complete with a wood stove for extra coziness. Our high-end custom beds will help you get the perfect rest before a full day on the slopes. Comfortably hosts 6-7 guests with 3 bedrooms, one full-sized bathroom and a half bathroom on the second level ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Panketo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing