We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elk at Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk at Hakuba
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Elk made my holiday to Hakuba. I could see the shuttle stop outside the door and it was only a 5 minute walk to the Happo Bus Stop - I have been to a lot of ski resorts and the walk has been a lot worse. Echoland was also only 5 min away with an array of restaurants and little bars to choose from.

With my limited Japanese I found it difficult to find out information regarding the ski resorts. Luckily Joel and Mike were always helpful with insider tips of where to go, cheap pass coupons and nice enough to drop me off one day when I missed my shuttle.

The room was good value for money with western style beds and own bathroom. This is not the Hilton but a clean own room for a good price.

Good for a group of friends travelling but don't want to share rooms or the chaos of the larger Australian Chalet Accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWineDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    1
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

All the excellent reviews of the Elk lodge are rather misleading. The website is false advertising. We expected a lodge but walked into a student hostel equivalent.

The room was not clean, under the bed was disgusting. Our towels were not changed once in a weeks stay.

The staff consist of Australian university students who's only concern was going snowboarding. while they were friendly they were unhelpful with Can't do attitude sometimes forgetting we were paying guests.

Daily breakfast was substandard. So called delicious cooked breakfast was one greasy egg, part of a processed sausage and a hashbrown. Makes me feel ill thinking of it.


Lounge common area was mostly used by the owners family, central heating malfunctioning and the staff were not prepared to light the fire stating they needed to save wood.

I would be surprised if this "lodge" stays in business, as the owner lacks the required hospitality skills.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Snowboardjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for a few nights in the Elk lodge, Lack of local feel as there's no Japanese speaking staff. The shuttle bus stop to the ski area is a distance away from the lodge, you'll have to walk around a 5-10 mins walk and with the ski boots and slippery ground, it can be quite a mission. Nearest convenient stores is around 15 mins away, there's basically nothing much nearby. All restaurants and shops are around 15 mins away.Rooms and toilet are pretty small, ll but I guess it's standard Japanese size. Game room is rather cold, dark and uninviting. I guess if you're a hard core skiier than it's okay to stay here to crash and rest at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skattierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Elk at Hakuba is a fantastic place to stay. Located in the restaurant district of Hakabu, it's an easy walk to any of the great eating spots and a simple bus ride to any of Hakuba's 8 world class ski mountains. The Australian service team are terrific and happy to help in any way they can to get you skiing or boarding in the best conditions each day. With 3 or more families you could essentially have your own private ski chalet with all the benefits of a dedicated support team. Well worth a look.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HBNthCurlCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Joel picked us up from the Happo information centre and took us around town to sort out a few last minute jobs. We stayed 5nights and the communal atmosphere in the lodge would be hard to beat! The staff were very obliging and happy to book restaurants, shuttle us around and help out when some of our gear broke. The included breakfasts are great with plenty of fuel to last until lunch. The open fire is great at the end of the day. The lodge is a short walk to the Echoland Main Street and the nearby (5-8minute walk) is a great way to end the day. Shuttles to all resort areas are within a 2 minute walk of the lodge. The bathrooms are a little small, but functional. Great place to stay for super reasonable rates!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Swell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at the Elk early Jan for 8 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The owners and staff were fantastic, easy to deal with, made our dinner reservations and were full of local knowledge.
The rooms were great, plenty of space and even better... they had heated floors! The bathroom was small (re height) so tall people might struggle but it had a toilet, mirror and shower which is all you need.
The rest of the facilities included a dining area, living area (incl TV & DVD), small bar, pool table, table tennis and a drying room.
The location is very handy... walking distance to two bus stops (required to get to the slopes), a short walk (10min) to Echoland or a 15-20min walk to Happo (restaurants and bars), 100m from an Onsen and it's quiet.
I'd defintiely stay again if I make it back to Hakuba.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on a snowboading trip. This place is located centrally and a 5 minute walk to Echoland. It is also right next to two of the major shuttle stops for the resorts. The Australian staff who run the location are very friendly and make you feel right at home. They are quick to offer great tips on where to get the best skiing in. The rate includes a cooked and continental breakfast. Rooms are very modern and cosy. Highly recommend staying here. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#16 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
76 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
133 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
137 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk at Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk at Hakuba

Property: Elk at Hakuba
Address: 2443-5 Oaza Hokujyo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk at Hakuba is a contemporary western lodge in the heart of EcoLand, Hakuba. Inviting, relaxed and centrally located, Elk at Habuka combines modern western furnishings and conveniences with a cultural element. Each twin, double or four share room enjoys private ensuite bathrooms, comfortable beds, heated timber floors, quality linen and toiletries and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elk at Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing