We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent hotel”
Review of Elk at Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk at Hakuba
Zama, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, decent hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

From the pictures, thought this place would be fab, but upon arrival, I was a little let down. It was looking a little run down. Rooms boasted a king size bed, but the bed took up the whole room. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, even for Japan. The main room on the ground floor wasn't heated well, so it didn't make for a good central hang out. Close, with easy access to the slopes, though. I would consider staying again, but there are so many other little places around to choose from, I might shop around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bandacarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    1
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thank you to the new owners of Elk at Hakuba. We arrived very early in the season and were made to feel very special as the first guests! Elk is clean, beutifully designed and great value for money. Even the floors are heated! The owners provide wonderful bar snacks, breakfasts and assist with a driving service to local restaurants, of which there are plenty. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grassh0pper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights last week, didnt book just knocked on the door as i arrived early from Australia and a friend said to try here before my other accommodation started. Nicest people, new to the area, helped me out so much, cosy beds and great lounge, i wish I was staying here for my trip.....great start to a new business

Room Tip: I looked at all of them they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ograbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluedragonhakuba, ex-owner at Elk at Hakuba, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Please note Blue Dragon Hakuba was sold in November 2012 and is now known as Elk at Hakuba
To all those who stayed and reviewed Blue Dragon Hakuba thankyou for your support and feedback
To all those who choose to stay at Elk at Hakuba in the future I hope you have a fantastic time in Hakuba
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

whole heartedely agree with the comments below

hotel is in a great position 5 - 10mins walk to echoland 5 mins walk to 7 - 11 (the only atm) in town and most important next door to the hakuba 47 bus stop and 100m to the bus stop servicing other resorts

in terms of the hotel it is warm clean and spacious
the drying room is big enough for everyones gear
the breakfast is awesome good selection of toast n cereal
the internet is a strong signal for easy wireless surfing

overall 5 stars

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard04111983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Phil T. I experienced a wicked two weeks at the Blue Dragon great staff awesome rooms and beds,everything you require is very close, all in all a terrific place to stay and enjoy Hakuba.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was a totally fantastic experience in terms of western style lodges in Japan. The rooms are tidy and clean and have an ensuite bathroom, the beds are comfortable and king size (!!), the lodge is warm, plenty of couches to rest a snow-tired body on, great atmosphere and great spot for Apres ski. The shuttle buses are a very short walk and frequently run so it's really easy to get to a choice of great mountains. There are plenty of restaurants within a 5 or 10 minute walk and a great onsen across the road. Booking was made easy and the staff are happy to answer any questions with a friendly smile. We spent out honeymoon here and were even greeted with a bottle of gorgeous champagne and were left with a parting gift to remember our trip by so we felt really special. The only downer we had was that our DVD player didn't work... but maybe that was just life telling us we should be out doing something else!!! We want to go back with a group of mates!!

Room Tip: Be sure to tell the staff when you are booking if you are on a special holiday because they will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Arrived at midday, reception was unattended... was jealous because I knew the staff were lapping up a big powder day.
You are made welcome to use the lounge and amenities prior to checking in.
The rooms were great with the beds being my favourite feature, king size! No problems recovering from Hakuba skiing and après skiing- both of which are excellent.
The lounge and bar area was great place for a few drinks and a chat after skiing and even after dinner. Breakfast supplied was perfect
Shuttle services to all slopes are out the front, Happo is a 15min walk
Exceptionally comfortable and welcoming accommodation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
140 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
225 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#2 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
135 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk at Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk at Hakuba

Property: Elk at Hakuba
Address: 2443-5 Oaza Hokujyo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk at Hakuba is a contemporary western lodge in the heart of EcoLand, Hakuba. Inviting, relaxed and centrally located, Elk at Habuka combines modern western furnishings and conveniences with a cultural element. Each twin, double or four share room enjoys private ensuite bathrooms, comfortable beds, heated timber floors, quality linen and toiletries and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elk at Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing