We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Dragon, home away from home!”
Review of Elk at Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk at Hakuba
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I loved the atmosphere, the staff were relaxed, helpful, friendly and efficient. The facilities first class, clean and tidy. I would have no problem recommending Blue Dragon to anyone, looking to visit Hakuba.
Steven Lewis

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twigsiwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 73 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have been traveling to the Blue Dragon for the past couple of years now. It has become our home away from home. Great down to Earth and friendly staff who are very helpful and informational. The rooms are clean, comfortable and include a great perk, an in-room bathroom! The location is fantastic with close shuttle stops and a quick walk to an upbeat nightlife scene. We have to say the lounge is a great place to relax after a day on the slopes. You won't regret booking a room!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have been travelling up to Hakuba for a couple of years now and the Blue Dragon has been the best place we have stayed by far. The service and attmosphere are great with real down to earth people who genuinely care about your experience. The location is great with easy access to the shuttle that will take you to Happo, 47, or Goru in just a few minutes. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Just call and they should be able to set you up with what you are looking for exactly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the Blue Dragon. Clean, good sized rooms, great people working there. The staff were excellent in helping us with local information on the best mountains to ski that day, good restaurants, booking tours etc. Thanks Jaime!

With the shops an easy walk from the Blue Dragon and bus stops really close, it was a great location for us!

We would definitely be go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and it was a great place to stay! Jaime and Adam were both really helpful with where to go and arranging my hire skiis. They helped us find places to eat, onsen and what mountain to go to for the day! It is nice and close to Echoland but have to catch the bus to the mountains but they are really regular.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Blue Dragon a few times now and it is SUCH great hotel in Hakuba! Located just a short drive from Hakuba station and the slopes. The rooms are great (small for US standards, but typical Japanese standards) with heated floors, a flat screen tv and a private bathroom. Each guest is given a yukata (Japanese robe) to wear during their stay. The Blue Dragon staff is warm, welcoming and super friendly! We have loved every one of our trips!

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar with two single beds. Beds can be pushed together to make a king bed for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJHampton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week with my partner and found the accommodation to be great.

The room:
Small, but a typical size of what you would find around the area and in Japan. There was a double bed and big window which had fantastic views. The bathroom had a bath which was small but I was pleased it even had a bath so no complaints from me.

The loungeroom:
There was a communal loungeroom that most guests used and I found this to be great. It was warm and cozy and since guests weren't allowed to change the channel on the TV, I didn't have to put up with any shows I didn't want to watch. It also meant that I spent more time talking to other guests which was a plus as we met some lovely people. It was nice to be able to order snacks at the bar as well.

The area:
I think the area it is situated in is great. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The bus for Goryu/Iimori is just outside and the bus for Happo is just a short walk up the road. Otherwise there are taxis to get around and they are relatively inexpensive. There is another hotel across the road that has an onsen and that is definitely worth booking (ask Jaime to book).

Service:
Jaime and Adam were always happy to help out and nice to have a chat to. It would have been nice to have a complimentary towel change (a towel change was 1000 yen) perhaps mid way through the trip. Breakfast was ok, with toast and cereal. There was an option for a cooked breakfast for 1000 yen per person which I thought was a little overpriced since the cafe up the road does the same for about 500 yen, but since I didn't want a cooked breakfast this wasn't a problem for me.

The house itself is lovely and inviting and clean. It has a very homely feel to it. The drying room was great and it was nice to have nice warm clothes and ski boots in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy_traveller4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
235 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#7 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
206 reviews
K's House Hakuba Alps
#11 of 107 in Hakuba-mura
45 reviews
Hotel Cultured
#79 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk at Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk at Hakuba

Address: 2443-5 Oaza Hokujyo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 107 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $176 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk at Hakuba is a contemporary western lodge in the heart of EcoLand, Hakuba. Inviting, relaxed and centrally located, Elk at Habuka combines modern western furnishings and conveniences with a cultural element. Each twin, double or four share room enjoys private ensuite bathrooms, comfortable beds, heated timber floors, quality linen and toiletries and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elk at Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing