We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect in every way”
Review of Gakuto Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gakuto Villas
Reviewed May 5, 2012

On a round trip of Japan, this may be the best place my friends and I stayed at. Not only are the lodges modern, clean, comfortable, and complete with a well-equipped kitchen, multiple showers and heated floors (heavenly after a day on the snow!), but just the look of the place is supremely stylish.

The staff are friendly, English-speaking and incredibly helpful - their shuttle bus was prepared to drive us all around Hakuba at practically the drop of a hat, they could answer any questions we had, and even brought a sizeable Hot-Pot dinner right to our lodge!

If you're visiting Hakuba, you owe it to yourself to stay at Gakuto Villas.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Gakuto Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

After postponing our ski trip a year due to the Tsunami, myself and two teenage sons booked for 4 nights at Gakuto in April 2012 during the Aussie Easter school holidays hoping for some spring skiing. Having only skied Japan once before 3 years earlier at Niseko, we headed to Hakuba on the suggestion that the area is more traditional Japanese and less busy/international/Australian than Niseko.
It was a good call and right from the start we got the VIP treatment from Gakuto's young English couple Henry and Tori. Having virtually no other Villa guests, due to the late ski season timing, gave them extra time but I got the impression (certainly supported by earlier reviewers) that these Japanese managers and English staff really go the extra mile to look after everyone. Everything from finding the best ski hire (Spicy gave us good gear and a great deal) to a grocery pick up, lifts to restaurants, etc.
Much to our delight unseasonally late snow dumped and we were lucky enough to experience Japan's legendary powder skiing in April (making up for a lack of fresh snow in Aspen in January).
Happo was closed on the second snowing day and Henry and Tori kindly offered to take us to Hakuba 47 (purchasing their own lift tickets) and showing us the runs before leaving us to it at lunch time and collecting us at the end of a fabulous full-on ski day.
In summary, I could not fault the whole set up at Gakuto - super helpful staff, perfect villa with huge windows and flick of a switch floor warmers that absolutely toast dry even the most drenched ski gear, bla, bla, bla... two words - "All Good"

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at Gakuto for 5 nights for a skiing / snowboarding trip with 5 friends, taking up two villas. The villas are very modern and immaculately clean and gives you a "home away from home" feeling. The villas include i) an open kitchen and lounge, where one can eat together and hang out as a group, ii) two spacious bedrooms along with separate bathrooms (baths and showers), iii) separate entrance reception area to put all your ski and snowboard gear and iv) wifi access and heated floors (great to come back to after a day on the slopes).

The service was very warm and welcoming, letting us know everything that we need to know from renting equipment to most convenient travel arrangements in the area. We also had breakfast included, which was varied every day and a hearty start to the day. On one of the evenings, Gakuto hosted a quiz night, which was very entertaining (plus we almost won) and was attended by both visitors and the local community.

The villa is located a 5 minute walk to the nearest slopes (Happo) and other slopes are accessible by a regular bus service (around 10 minutes away with bus stop right outside villa). There are also a few restaurants and bars close by.

My friends and I had an excellent time and Gakuto was a perfect place to relax with friends after all the full day skiing and snowboarding action. Definitely check into Gakuto when visiting Hakuba!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Nice,clean and user-friendly villa to stay. Owner Yokogawa san ,manager Henry and tori were very helpful to make our stay perfect.
The 2 bedroom villa we stayed was spacious,well equiped ( even come with a small rice cooker). Will be better if they could put in a washer.

Room Tip: all villas are good. Look out for their promotions to get a bargain.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dewichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed at Gakuto for the month of March and couldn't have had a better time! Henry, Tori, Yokokawa-san and Mama-san are awesome hosts and knows everything worth knowing about the area, different activities, restaurants... and of course Gakuto. Gakuto have a great location in the beginning of the Wadano area, super close to the mountain and all the amazing skiing but also close to restaurants and Happo village. Also bus stop right outside the lodge and the villas. I would go back anytime, it was just perfect! Thanks for having me!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofiabeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I spent three nights in one of these villas, as part of a group of six (two of whom stayed in the lodge next door). The villas are fantastic: modern, spotless, with wonderful heated floors and complete with all amenities - including a fully stocked kitchen, and free Wi-Fi. They're spacious, complete with a bath and two showers, and even had a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival.

Our companions likewise spoke most highly of their room in the lodge, which was traditionally Japanese and likewise fully stocked. Breakfast was good, the service was excellent, and their willingness to take us around by shuttle-bus was extremely helpful and convenient - particularly when one night we had no idea where we were, and had no taxis around anywhere.

Finally, we also got a really great deal: I can't believe how great this place was, given the extremely affordable price. The snowfields were literally a short walk away through the snow, so the location was likewise just perfect.

In short, I heartily recommend this place. Not a single negative word to be said, really. Do check it out!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liviu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed 4nights in January and wished it was longer !
The lodging is perfect, and staff service was excellent.
Even the restaurant was great, try the teppanyaki and shabu-shabu !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uprightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
231 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Villa Hakuba
Hotel Villa Hakuba
#1 of 366 in Hakuba-mura
79 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gakuto Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gakuto Villas

Address: 4720-1,4721,4722 Hokujyo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $315 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gakuto Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gakuto Villas, nestled in the Hakuba Valley of Nagano, Japan. Only minutes away from world renowned slopes, with 10 ski resorts in the vicinity, we offer affordable boutique accommodations for the conscious traveler. Our twelve chic, two-storey houses were specifically designed to provide a distinctly comfortable and modern level of hospitality to our guests. As your home away from home, we are dedicated to making your stay as rejuvenating as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Gakuto Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing