We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hakuba-mura
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
58
24
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
24
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night skiing cheese fondue schnitzel drying room german beers sister hotel on site restaurant rental equipment nearby onsen location was perfect the bus friendly hosts feel right at home the hotel manager comfortable rooms every morning laundry facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is not enough room here to say how fantastic our experience was at the Marillen hotel. I could rave about the hotel itself, the beautiful rooms, the magnificent views and prime location. I could outline all the extra services they offer such as personal shuttle service , onsen arrangement, fabulous on site restaurant with entertainment and magnificent breakfast fare. However the real treasure of this place is the people who run it. Every
single staff member treats you as if you are the most important person in the hotel. Nothing is too difficult, if they can help they will. This service begain months before we had arrived. Coming from Australia I was finding it difficult to work out how to get to Hakuba from Tokyo. I emailed the Marillien six months before our trip. Within ten minutes they had answered sending links and explaining the best way to get here. This level of service continued throughout our trip.When my husband lost his ski pass ( embarrassingly it was in his jacket all along ) they were making calls to help us out. Again, when trying to work out how to get back to Haneda airport, they were there to help us book. The vibe of this hotel is amazing. The owners, Bernd and Naoko are just lovely genuine people who are so knowledgeable about this area. We treated the rides to the different ski fields with Bernd as a tour in itself! If you are coming to Hakuba book as early as you can to make sure you get the chance to experience the Marillen.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank susanbO1345WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiahakuba, Front Office Manager at Marillen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Susan

Wow what an incredibly lovely message about our Marillen Hotel! Everything you have written is so thoughtful and it makes us very happy to read. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all of our services and your time in Bernd's Keller.

We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff who are passionate about customer service and providing the best possible guest experience.

We hope to see you back here some time very soon!!

Kind regards,

Georgia and the Marillen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in the Marillen hotel. The owners Bernd and his wife Naoko, along with their staff, were genuinely friendly hosts and were extremely accommodating throughout. The room was comfortable and cosy, the food was tasty (both breakfast and dinner) and the location was perfect. We were unfortunate to not have had much snow during the stay so didn't get to enjoy the slope outside the hotel, but we imagine that it is brilliant during peak season.

We highly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank iltt1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiahakuba, Front Office Manager at Marillen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear KM

We are so pleased to hear you had such a great stay in our Marillen Hotel! It is great to hear how you enjoyed our rooms and your time in Bernd's Keller.

It is a shame about the snow but we are glad you still made the most of your time in Hakuba!

All the best and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Georgia and the Marillen staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Our stay at the hotel was fabulous. The owners and staff were warm and friendly, able to assist with all our enquiries, and shuttled us around from bus station to ski resorts with no additional costs. We were staying on the top floor, the stairs were challenging after a full day of skiing, but we managed just fine. We had 3 staying in one room, good size, comfortable with enough room for all our luggage. The drying room and free use of the washer & dryer was a bonus. Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lia_travel-goodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiahakuba, Front Office Manager at Marillen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lia

Thank you for your kind words about the Marillen Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms and the services we provide. We love to help with all enquiries and for you to experience all the different mountains in the Hakuba Valley.

We look forward to you next visit!

Kind regards,
Georgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We had a wonderful week staying with Bernd and Naoko who looked after us like family. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was more than adequate to equip us for the slopes and the atmosphere for apres ski was excellent.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennifermJ4570TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiahakuba, Front Office Manager at Marillen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jennifer

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Marillen Hotel and we are so delighted you enjoyed your time with us! We are glad you liked our rooms and apres ski in Bernd's Keller.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Georgia and the Marillen staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

Was the best hotel I have ever stayed in highly recommend staying there was a really friendly comforting place that was nice and homey there were always friendly faces to greet u when u came back and had grate staff

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jahahsskzixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiahakuba, Front Office Manager at Marillen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alex

Thank you for writing such kind words about our hotel! We are very happy to hear you thought the Marillen was comforting and homey.

We look forward to welcoming you again :)

Kind regards,
Georgia and the Marillen staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews