We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morino Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morino Lodge
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Thank Craig and Matt again for a great time in Japan. Love the place and staff are great. Look forward to seeing you again next year. Wish I could move in. Book with these guys. Some person and welcoming every time. Oh and best place to ski in the world I think.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a week staying at Big Bear Chalet one.
This 3 bedroom chalet was the perfect base for our week of skiing.
The chalet has 3 large bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large very comfortable living room and a well equipped kitchen. We loved the chalet option as it gave us a bit more space, to be able to cook breakfast before skiing and curl up with a wine after a big day on the slopes.
The best thing about Big Bear is the staff and the service they provide. NOTHING is too much trouble. Josh would actually walk around the supermarket with us and find the things we couldn't find or read the Japanese labels to tell us what was what. He even went to a second supermarket to find us tomato paste for our bolognese!!!
Darren, the owner was incredibly helpful when we were stranded by heavy snowfalls that cut the road to Nagano. He organized an extra nights accomodation then drove our group of twelve to the train ( an hour away) when the bus stopped running!!
I highly recommend Big Bear Chalets as a great base for a holiday in Hakuba.
PS Big thanks to both Darren and Josh for all your help!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our first year visiting this area, and we had a nice stay at one of the cottages of Morino Lodge, but the area is a bit difficult to get to, especially with the record amounts of snow the area has received. The staff was very helpful in assuring that we made it in alright and had everything we needed, but we did feel a bit remote and "away" from the lodge. The cottage was extremely comfortable and very adequately equipped with everything you would expect to find/need in a guest house. We were pleased with the comfort and amenities while there and our kids really enjoyed playing outside in the snow in front of the house. It really was a nice home away from home and we wished we could have stayed longer. I would recommend this property, but would also recommend getting trip insurance as roads, trains, etc. were closed for almost two days during our vacation there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdolinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I haved stayed couple years in a row. Craig and matt are great. The staff last year and this year so friendly and always welcoming. Cant get a better location and place to stay. I will be back again next year.
Winter wonderland!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We loved our stay at Morino Lodge. The staff were very helpful and always assisted with booking the many close restaurants, ski lessons, transport etc. It's only a 3 minute walk to the bus stop that services most ski resorts, 10 minutes walk for the others. Included breakfast was great. Wonderful views into Wadano forest. Thanks to the staff at Morino!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockrow, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to Hakuba with 3 teenagers... Morino was everything we wanted and a whole lot more! Matt, Craig, Jeff & Dan were superb hosts, always available to advise us on the daily best snow, arranged dinner bookings @ fun places to eat at night & even provided us with a detailed train schedule for our departure. Morino has an awesome relaxed vibe...we enjoyed meeting all the other guests, swapping snow stories etc.
Generous sized drying room which was respected by all the other guests & kept very neat. Rooms were very clean & bigger than we had expected, & definitely comfortable enough even with all our bulky ski luggage. We loved Morino & will definitely be back! Great hospitality boys!! Thank you!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Triciaa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in a Japanese-style room and really enjoyed our whole visit. The room was warm, large enough for us and had a great view of the snow and the forest. There was a compact bathroom, and a TV with in-room Apple TV (which we didn't use due to wonderful skiing outside!)
The location is great - you can walk to Happo if you want, or catch the near-by shuttle bus, which will also take you to most other slopes.
The best part of Morino Lodge is the people. From the moment we arrived and were picked up at the bus station, the people at Morino were a constant source of help and advice. They help us with hiring gear, gave recommendations about places to eat, loaned walking boots and snowshoes, and there was always someone available to answers questions. Thanks guys! We'll be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Z H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Black Hotel
#13 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#2 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morino Lodge

Property: Morino Lodge
Address: 4692-3 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morino Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Morino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing