We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ryokan I ever stayed and beautiful japanese food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hospitality.
Stayed for 2nights and great dinner and breakfast. Every meal were perfect. Really enjoyed Japanese traditional ryokan style and mood. We fully loved Tatami room and natural Onsen in Shiroumaso.
Thank to warm family in there for kind services, and we surely gonna visit their again!!!
I love Hakuba and Shiroumaso!
Must visit there!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexes0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 139 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Shirouma-so is perfect for anyone wanting to experience Japanese ryokan hospitality without language difficulties or missing out on mod cons.

In this boutique hotel, service is personalized e.g. Your meals are set up for your room name, not number.

We loved the view of Happo from our room, the soothing onsen and the amazing home style food.

Well set up for skiers and the bus stop to all major resorts is only a short stroll away. Notwithstanding, Toshi dropped us there when it was time to depart, so we didn't have to struggle with all our luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Ryokan Shiroumaso in early January 2012. Ryokan is not luxurious but very clean and has good facilities for ski equipment etc.

Positives were:
- terrific Japanese breakfast
- wonderful onsen
- amazing service (e.g. friendly, helpful, took us to bus station when we were leaving)
- great restaurant recommendations

Minor negatives:
- no thinner blankets available and the standard quilts provided with futons are VERY warm, so my sleep was affected by being too hot (ended up leaving window open at night)
- rooms are not really cleaned each day
- a 10 minute walk to snow

No hesitation in recommending - but if you sleep hot, take a blanket!

Room Tip: We asked for Annex room with a view of the mountain - it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southbank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Shirouma-so is a traditional Japanese Ryokan a short 5 minute walk away from the Happo-one ski-lift and even closer to the free bus to other lifts. The hotel and our room were beautifully laid out and spotlessly clean. Relaxing in the onsen at the end of the day is sheer bliss and the food is truly amazing. Toshiro-san and his family and staff are very friendly and helpful. They make you feel truly welcome.

We spent ten fantastic days here in March - I can't recommend Shirouma-so highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalley58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Azami room at Shirouma-so for 7 nights during our ski holiday. Although we're usually budget travellers, we thought we'd spoil ourselves during what was his first visit to Japan and first stay at a ryokan.

From the moment we got picked up from the Happo Bus Terminal, our host Toshi and his family were most gracious and happy to assist with anything. From providing train timetables to tracking down a lost ski pass, Toshi was always present to help. His English is excellent and recommendations are always spot on.

The room itself was furnished in a simple ryokan style, with tatami flooring, paper-lined walls and a small atrium which connects to a compact bathroom. During the day, there's a traditional table and chairs for two, with Japanese snacks and hot tea provided. In the evening while you're at dinner, this is packed up and two futons are laid out, ready for bedtime. There's a television too, but we never watched it. After a solid day of skiing followed by dinner and a dip in the onsen, we were always keen to simply curl up on the futon and get a full night's rest.

And yes, there is an extremely hot onsen in the hotel, as well as drying and storage rooms for ski gear and free WiFi for guests. So as much as staying in the ryokan is about the cultural experience, the Shirouma-so team haven't skimped on the practical mod-cons.

Despite this ryokan being one of the oldest in the area, it's amazing how well presented it is. For example, the bathroom may be small and have older fittings, but it is meticulously clean. Likewise for the rooms themselves, which are maintained daily with care.

We really couldn't have picked a better location, with Shirouma-so being less than 5 minutes away from the Happo Bus Terminal and a ski rental store by foot. The area is popular with domestic holidaymakers (unlike Wadano), so there's a large selection of Japanese and international restaurants, although the Japanese ones are preferable in terms of quality and price. Both the Nakiyama lifts and Adam Gondola are 10-15mins walk away, however there's a free shuttle bus you can catch to and from the Bus Terminal, if this isn't for you.

Overall, if you're open to the unique Japanese experience of staying in a ryokan, I can highly recommend the Shirouma-so. It may be more expensive than some of the Western style establishments in the area, but in terms of creating happy memories, it delivers in spades.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Beautiful rooms which during the day were setup with a table and low chairs. When you were out at diner the staff would rearrange the room and lay out the tatami mats. We had amazing mountain views from our room. Breakfast was made-up of lots of little japanese dishes and was delicious, every day was different. There was a very nice onsen in the basement which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff were really helpful.

Awesome experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I havent tried all the hotels/ryokans in hakuba so i cant tell you which is the best but Shirouma-so is great. It is 3 min from central bus/information center, 3mn from equipment rental shop, 5min from slopes in Happo One which is the nicest station in hakuba.
The team is incredibly helpful. It has been mentioned in many reviews but it is just unbelievable and so refreshing. They are one step ahead of all our needs and will clearly go the extra mile but in a very natural/unforced manner. It is a family managed small inn with small onsen inhouse. We took the room with bathroom and it was much bigger than the average japonese room and well arranged. The typical local meals were great and communication was never an issue in english which was greatly appreciated.
Overall GREATLY recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkgnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
235 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#4 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#10 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
105 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#32 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
41 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso

Address: 5004 Happo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $130 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting at the base of Hakuba Happo-one ski area, Shirouma-so is a modern Japanese ryokan (inn) combining both traditional wood and modern Japanese "Wa" architectural styles, resulting in a creative and beautiful design. From the entrance featuring wooden pillars and beams preserved from the building's agricultural beginnings in the Edo period, to rooms with large windows and views of the northern Alps, you can relax, place yourself in the hands of Nature, and refresh yourself in the warmth of this historical ryokan. Shiroumaso is appreciated by many guests as a convenient base for skiing, snowboarding, or the numerous outdoor activities of the summer months, as well as a hub for touring Shinshu, Azumino, and other regions within Nagano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing