We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a let down...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Hakuba

One Hakuba
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hakuba-mura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Hakuba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a let down...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked through Morino Lodge (Amazing guys, book through them) and stayed at One Hakuba. What a let down, the place was amazing, the location was supreme, the house itself was confusing and disappointing.

There isn't any instructions on how to use any of the appliances except the TV and water heaters, we had no idea on how to set the heater on and the hot tub (the reason we booked this place) didn't work. The power would trip every time we tried to turn it on. Morino were nice and tried to get an electrician in to fix the issue, but he told us that the place was using too much power for it's allowed power contract. They recommended turning everything off, but no luck. We turned everything in the house off and the hot tub still tripped the power.

The Main bedroom was so small and hard to put our luggage in the room, it should be more of a 2 bedroom villa instead of a 3 bedroom as the master room seemed plonked in. If you're staying with people be prepared for a loud wake up call from people in the lounge room/kitchen.

Overall Morino were amazing and helped us. But the owner needs to address some issues on the property which can justify the cost per night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konvict67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at One Hakuba, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We have just taken over management of this property and the guest has valid points which we have now fixed. Unfortunately the fixes couldn't be made in time to improve their enjoyment of One Hakuba. The problems were due to a very underpowered fuse box which should have been upgraded when the hot tub was installed but wasn't.

This has now been remedied by doubling the power ampage of the main breaker. Now the hot tub can be used with Jacuzzi bubbles whilst two people are simultaneously taking a shower!

The instruction manual will be updated by next season to provide a smoother and easier experience for all guests.

The new owners are also renovating the property so the 2nd bedroom which was a loft (leading to noise complaints) will be a games area and the previous downstairs bedroom and games room will be made into two bedrooms.

We are confident that this will improve the stay for all guests next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I prefer Hakuba in the summertime as it is great escape from the heat & humidity of Tokyo. We stayed at One Hakuba for a long weekend in August 2011 & had a fantastic birthday BBQ on the balcony decking.
The house sleeps 8. The top (2nd) floor has 2 double bedrooms, one with a balcony & outdoor hot tub. It was very relaxing sitting in that hot tub with a glass of champagne, listening to the cicadas & hearing the cool air rustle through the trees. The main (1F) floor has the kitchen & living area & a sizeable balcony deck where there is a gas BBQ for you to use. We actually took up the owners (One Chalets) in-house chef recommendation & got him to do all the prep & cooking for a 20 strong birthday party. It was amazing & very reasonably priced at Y4,000 per person for a generous 3-course dinner. (I would definitely use this service again). On the ground floor there is the 4-man bunk & games rooms - perfect for kids! Bathrooms & amenities were all of a high standard. There is also a basketball net for you to shoot some hoops. The local area is easily accessible if you have a car & there is a local co-op, lakes, restaurants, mountains. Lots for everyone to enjoy. We hope to go back to One Hakuba this summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tokyolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The chalet has potential to be a very beautiful destination. However given the price per night, the furnishing and accommodation was average and the kitchen was less than satisfactory.

The managing agent did not properly inform us of how everything worked, so we found ourselves figuring out most appliances in Japanese! When the hot tub actually worked, it was a winner.

The chalet was not clean to 5 star standard and the downstairs bathroom smelt.

For such an expensive rate, we would have expected a lot more.

We were however put in touch with the Boarding Co., who met and exceeded our expectations. Thank you to the Boarding Co.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 247Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Double Black Hotel
#13 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Sekkasai
#33 of 96 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Morino Lodge
#6 of 96 in Hakuba-mura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Hakuba

Property: One Hakuba
Address: 4693-9 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301 , Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Hakuba is a true Alpine gem, a deluxe 3 bedroom chalet to comfortably sleep 8 in the heart of the Hakuba valley. Location-wise this chalet is hard to beat: a short walk from the main Happo resort lifts, this chalet is perfect for a hassle-free holiday with children, but also for a fun time with friends as bars and restaurants are close by. Construction on One Hakuba was completed in 2010 and it boasts all the features one would expect from a uxury chalet, including an outdoor hot tub, games room with table football, wii console and games, cable tv, fully appointed kitchen. At 170 square metres, this 3 storey chalet is one of the larger self-catering properties in Hakuba. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing