We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place - too pricey”
Review of Hotel Phoenix Wing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix Wing
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent place - too pricey”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

When we booked here, we had no idea it was a dog hotel.
When eating in the restaurant other patrons had their dogs sitting with them eating meals.. That aside the meal was exceptional, really really great and at a very decent price. 6 courses of kaiseki style cuisine.
The chalet was nice and cosy but nothing special.
There was no wifi, which is a big drawback.
Overall it was nice but not the value I expected from the price.
This is a nice place to get off the grid and spend time with your family, which is exactly what we did - could have even taken the family pet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Back home after a great holiday in Hakuba I feel the need to share some thoughts/comments and feedback regarding our stay at the Phoenix Wing.

First of all, the house was lovely, nice and cozy. We felt really being nestled in the mountains and surrounded by nature as we wished.

However, there were a few things we didn't like that much. First dissappointment happened when we were supposed to be picked up at the Gory bus stop (as told when we called when boarding the bus in Nagano). We waited 1h in the bitter cold even though we called several times upon arrival (even in Japanese). There is only 1 stop called Hakuba-Goryu. How in the world can you not find it ? (BTW, it came out the resort is just 7min drive away). It really made us bad mood.

Once arrived at the resort we were escorted to our house, hand over the keys and 2 hot refreshing towels without further explanation....just to be told that for dinner we will be driven to a near by restaurant. When I tried to understand which restaurant we will go to, the Japanese guy who supposed to drive us was unable to tell...as he cant speak a word of English. The only thing he mentioned was that we should be finished by 8pm for pick up. Luckily the food was great (and crazy expensive too !).

Next morning we went for BF at 8.30 (as that's the time we were told to show up). The BF room was bitter cold and it seemed we were being the only guest. The food was served right away without asking what we wished to have as there was no buffet. When we asked about dinner, we were told that we can eat at the restaurant but the menu is fixed and costs 3000 Yen/person. Since we couldn't read the Japanese menu nor anyone could explain it to us we gladly refused to eat there.

I didnt felt being taken care nor welcome. If didnt knew that we will be the only guests (for sure we were for the first 2 days) and no one can speak Japanese then i believe we should have been at least told in advance more detailed how things will be organised, that the restaurant basically is not operating, the bar not open etc and that there is no supermarket in walking distance. There was also no English information available, neither at the lobby nor in the houses so people can get more details, especially about the area, how to operate the heaters, where is the next shop, what restaurant are near by. Im sorry, but for the price we paid the service (apart from driving us by bus to nearby shops and restaurant upon request) the team was literally not present and didn't really care. Another real negative point is the non-existence of internet in the room. Its totally inconvenient to walk always to the lobby just to check out some things, especially when its -5C and snowing. Each and every house should have free wifi. As such, I would not recommend this resort to any of my foreign friends although we liked the snow experience but the location and service do not qualify for the price paid (BTW, another thing I didn't llike was the fact that we were told to pay the whole amount in advance !!). We would chose another location where we have access to more shops and restaurant and can be more flexible and independent.

Room Tip: room 402 was nice and had a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OliBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just back from our 1 week stay at this hotel. The chalet is very comfortable and convenient. The only problem is you must go to the lobby to get Internet. I will emphasis on the service which has made our stay even more enjoyable. Everyone is at your service and I would recommend as well their restaurant. I will make sure I come back next time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrunoGuillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights 2 in hotel, 5 in apartment, staff very helpful, made us very welcome, dinner at restaurant exceptional

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPMP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed at the Phoenix Wing hotel for 4 nights with 8 friends for a skiing holiday. We booked 3 chalets and were comfortable, although the space was quite small - normal for Japan.
The chalets were conveniently on the bus route to and from the Hakuba resort gondola, which meant that we didn't have to carry all our equipment far, which was great.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, helping us to arrange ski hire and onward travel arrangements.
A little pricey, but we had a great time nonetheless.

Thanks Tony!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jemjem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Hotel La Neige
#23 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix Wing

Property: Hotel Phoenix Wing
Address: 22305 Kamishiro, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Modern Chalet with only 300M to Ski LiftSpacious and modern The Phoenix Wings 17 semi-detached (98m2) ski-chalets are the perfect home away from home for family and friends. Architecturally designed with steep apexed roofs, lots of glazing and a bold colour pattern, our chalets appearance is swish and unique. Stepping inside you’ll find a bright naturally lit interior with high ceilings, skylights, full garden/forest views, modern furnishings and stylish toilet/shower/bath set. Upstairs is more oriental with Japanese tatami mats and shoji (paper) sliding windows. Free shuttle to and from any of the local ski resorts or 10mins by foot to Goryu’s gondola liftRooms serviced daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Phoenix Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing