We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Luna”
Review of Hakuba Luna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hakuba Luna Hotel
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Luna”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from our family trip to Japan. We stayed at hotel Luna for 6 nights, 2 adults and 3 children aged 15, 13 and 4 years old. Overall this is a fantastic place to stay. It is skin in and ski out. U can ski back to the lodge and lift is about 200 m away. The owners and staff were extremely helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Miles, Marianna and Bianca at the front desk helped with bookings for tours, Onsen visits and happily dropped us to various locations. Owners Mark mad Kerrie p, were also extremely friendly mixed with clients and also happy to help where they could.

Having a 4 yr old, we ate in most nights in there restaurant. Food was great, especially the lamb shanks and pizza. Breakfast was good, serving a different hot meal each day. Happy hour from 4-5pm was always a great way to unwind after skiing and mix with other guests.

Rooms were of a typical ski lodge size with own small ensuite. Very clean and beds were so comfortable. We all slept so well

If we return to Hakuba we will definately stay at hotel Luna. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Luna Hotel for a week, great time, good value, lots of snow. Hotel is 100m from happo one chairlifts & ticket office.

The staff was awesome, really friendly and helpful, sharing good tips on places to go skiing, and there is happy hour from 4 till 5 at the hotel :)

Also there is easy access to buses which will take you straight to Cortina, Hakuba 47 and other resort closed by. If it snows, Cortina is a must.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoduzerosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've just returned from my second holiday to Hakuba and once again stayed at the Hakuba Luna Hotel. The hotel position is second to none. Literally a 2 minute walk to the lifts and ticket office. Believe me, after a day of snowboarding with teenagers and young adults the short walk is priceless. Happy hour from 4 - 5 is a great way to relax and chat with other hotel guests in the lounge bar area. if you don't feel like going out for a meal the hotel restaurant Eclipse does some great Italian food. my boys loved the pizzas. I think most rooms have there own bathroom, but this time I shared a 4 bed room with my sons (very comfy beds). The shared bathroom facilities were very clean and conveniently located......plenty of hot water too. Hotel staff were very friendly and happy to help you book time at an onsen or a meal at another restaurant if you choose. There is a bus stop just across the road, which makes it really easy to go into town of catch the bus to another ski area for the day. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squashie123, Owner at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for returning to Hakuba Luna Hotel again this season and thank you also for taking the time to prepare a Tripadvisor review.

We are delighted that you loved everything about your stay.

We’re very pleased that your boys loved the pizzas in our restaurant, Eclipse. We have a terrific chef this season and we have been receiving great feedback on all of our dishes. The lamb shank, the warm chocolate fondant and the panna cotta are particular hits with our guests and diners.

We look forward to seeing you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hakuba Luna for our honeymoon in January and couldn't have had a better experience. The owner, Kerry and her staff went out of their way to make it a memorable experience for us, from the bottle of wine in our room on arrival to booking a romantic dinner for us and driving us there. It was also my husband's birthday whilst we were there and once again the staff went out of their way to get an amazing chocolate birthday cake for us.

The rooms are clean and well set up and the beds are by far the most comfortable we have slept on in a hotel. The staff are so friendly and eager to help in any way they can, they have managed to create such a great atmosphere where the guests all socialise with one another by the fire in the bar after a day of skiing.

The location is also great, 50 metres to the Happo ski lifts

I would definitely recommend Hakuba Luna to anyone visiting Hakuba.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesky166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squashie123, Owner at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear bluesky166,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hakuba Luna Hotel and for writing a Tripadvisor traveller review.

Our fantastic location and large, very comfortable beds are two of our best physical features.

A honeymoon is a very special holiday. We place enormous importance upon trying to ensure that our guests receive terrific, friendly service. We are therefore delighted to read your review and know that the team at Hakuba Luna helped to make your honeymoon with us a wonderful experience for you. We wish the two of you a long and wonderful life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I feel bad to write a bad review for this hotel because the staffs, although they are not perfect, were really trying hard to make us have a memorable stay in their hotel and Hakuba as a whole. I was unintentionally informed that the owner made it hard for them because he lives so far in Australia and has so far did not do enough to fix the problems that they have there. When we arrived we found out our heater did not work and actually can not be fixed since the parts of a 30 year old heater is hard to find these days. Fortunately for us, Miles, the manager was kind enough to lend us his portable heater so we could survive the four days we were there. We learned on the last day that the entire heating system was broken, so we were lucky to have that portable heater. The Staffs however salvage those four days for us. Matt and Miss Maruyama did their best to accommodate our inquiries and requests and the other staffs were also quick to assist us any way they could. The small family hotel feeling was there and would have been a perfect experience if they are matched with better facilities. The vending machine was broken the whole time we were there and the hotel van should have its door fixed since it sometimes slides open by itself on the road. The location was quite good with a ski lift only 200 meters away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squashie123, Owner at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Hendrik0711,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hakuba Luna and for taking the time to prepare a Tripadvisor review.

We are very pleased that you and your family loved our staff and that you were also very happy with the location and the small family feel of the hotel. The hotel has a great location and we really emphasize to our management and staff the importance of providing great friendly service, so it is gratifying to read that this was your experience.

We were surprised and very concerned regarding your comments on both our role as owners and the heating because since purchasing the hotel in 2009 we have invested very heavily in continually upgrading the hotel, including installing new heaters in many of the guest rooms. We have followed up on the things you were disappointed with and offer the following comments.

You were the second guest of the season to stay in your room. The first guests to stay in that room and the guests who have been staying in that room since you, have confirmed to us that the heater is working fine. You appear not to have been advised that the heater often takes a few minutes from the time it is turned on until the heating kicks in. This is because the heater’s inbuilt thermostat needs to first check the room temperature and compare it to the heat setting. If the heat setting is below the room temperature then the heater does not come on. As our Manager, Miles had been in hospital and then recuperating in the days leading up to your arrival; at the time of your stay he was not aware of the detailed operation of the heater. It would have been better for all if he had been able to explain its operation to you; however we are pleased that he provided you with a replacement heater.

We have subsequently asked the managers to display additional signs in the guest rooms and in various public areas of the hotel, including a sign explaining the initial delay at start-up of the room heaters.

Unfortunately, some of your comments are based upon inaccurate hearsay. Neither the hotel nor the heaters are 30 years old. Many of the room heaters are new. Those that have not yet been replaced are nothing like 30 years old. The hotel commenced operations in the 1990s.

Since purchasing Hakuba Luna in 2009, my wife and I have spent time at the hotel every ski season (and numerous times between seasons checking on the continuing refurbishment of the hotel). We also employ a local Hakuba management company on a year round basis. We were in Japan while you were in Hakuba and we were at Hakuba Luna on your last day there. We spend time at Hakuba Luna every ski season in order to help ensure that the hotel management and staff are looking after our guests properly.

You said that our Toyota Hiace needs its door fixed, but this is incorrect as the door is working fine. Only last week I drove the Hiace on the tollway to and from Nagano to buy additional furniture for the hotel. I have also been driving it around Hakuba quite frequently, so I have firsthand knowledge that it is not broken. I suspect what happened is that the sliding door was not closed properly while you were in the van and the driver failed to check whether or not the door closed. It is unfortunate that the door opened while you were being driven in the van and we are sorry to learn that you were concerned, however the door isn’t broken.

The vending machine is operating. It was just jammed during your stay and our staff needed someone to help them clear the jam.

I hope my comments clarify things for you. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hakuba Luna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

There has been so many good reviews about Luna, so we were really looking forward to our stay.
Unfortunately, I can’t recommend it myself as it didn’t live up to expectations.

Good things
Friendly staff, Bianca especially was helpful.
Daily trips to the ATM were really useful.
Location was good – next to a ski lift.
Pizzas were very good.

Bad things
Everything was broken – only one light in the bathroom worked, one light in the bedroom and the heater didn’t work.
The room was not cleaned the whole time we were there.
The bathroom was really outdated.
The whole hotel was a bit rough round the edges, a good example was there was a hole in the wall next to the bar, rather than fixing it, it has been sealed by stuffing a towel in it. It needs a bit of money spending on it.
Although the location next to the lift is good, there is not much going on nearby.
The staff were really friendly, but clearly were seasonairs and didn’t work in hospitality, they needed some management.
Nobody seemed to be running the hotel, so things were a bit chaotic.
Breakfast was a shambles, everything had run out everyday and always had to ask for more milk, juice, bread cereal – was a bit of a pain.
The place was pretty chilly the whole time, the heating needed to be left on more.

The annoying thing is that with a bit of management, we thought this place could be great and has potential, however we can’t recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maap1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squashie123, Owner at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear maap1983,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Hakuba Luna and for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review.

We are glad that you found our staff to be very friendly, that you liked the location next to the Sakka lift and you also loved the pizzas in our Italian restaurant, Eclipse. We're also pleased that you liked the little extras like the daily trips to the ATM at the 7-11 store.

We have followed up on the things you were disappointed with and offer the following comments.

In light of your feedback, we have made some changes to the breakfast arrangements. As you will be aware, all guests receive a hot western dish each morning and have access to an unlimited breakfast buffet. We have moved the buffet to the large central bench table so that there is now plenty of space at the breakfast buffet. It can also accommodate larger quantities of breakfast items than was the case during your stay. The breakfast buffet includes a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices, yoghurt, toast, muffins, tea and coffee etc.

We have asked the onsite management team to ensure that heating in the restaurant and the private guest recreation room is set to a warmer temperature now.

You mentioned the towel plugging the hole in the wall next to the bar. Since purchasing Hakuba Luna in 2009 we have consistently invested in upgrading facilities (e.g installation of ensuites, purchase and installation of large flat screen TVs, creating the private guest recreation room, upgrading plumbing and heating, purchase and installation of additional commercial kitchen equipment for our restaurant, purchase and installation of guest laundry facilities etc.). As part of our ongoing hotel refurbishment, in the lead up to this season we replaced a large traditional kerosene heater near the bar with a cozy fireplace feature which our guests love. As our builder was rushing to complete all the work he had in hand in the lead up to the season, as part of our good working relationship with him our management team agreed that provided he finished installation of the fireplace he could come back a little later and finish off the hole where the old heater's ventilation outlet used to go through the wall. After your comment, we have asked to the builder to expedite this cosmetic work.

You may not be aware that about 95% of accommodation providers in Japan (including some of the 5 star hotels) use a prefabricated type of bathroom, as we do at Hakuba Luna. For a person experiencing Japan for the first time, the en-suite bathroom may appear very small and possibly outdated, Yes, they are small but they are not outdated. We put you in a room on the upper floor to give you better views. The bathrooms in these rooms are beige. As we have new white en-suite bathrooms in the guest rooms on the first floor, if you stay with us again we can allocate you a room on the first floor if you would prefer this.

It is the nature of Japanese ski resorts and the limited period for which working visas can be obtained that many of the non-Japanese staff will be in either their first or second season at the resort. At Hakuba Luna, we aim to have as many repeat staff members as possible as well as a blend of international staff and local Japanese staff. All of our team have hospitality experience, in most cases substantial prior experience working in hotels in Hakuba or other international locations. We are delighted that you found Bianca to be specially helpful. Bianca was our onsite manager last season. This season she oversees and trains the current hotel managers and helps out as a relief manager when necessary. Friendly guest service is paramount for our team. The very positive feedback we usually receive from our guests reflects the importance we place upon this.

As you were one of our first guests this season, and as one of our two managers was in hospital and away recuperating for much of the time you were with us, it is possible that during your stay operations were a little disrupted and there may have been less attention to detail than is usual. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations.

We hope you will return to Hakuba Luna in the future and you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have just spent 10 days staying at the Hakuba Luna Hotel and had the best time! The staff were wonderful, attentive, polite and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to do their best to ensure our stay was a memorable one. If we are lucky enough to ever return to Hakuba, we know where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squashie123, Owner at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear TrishKelly,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your review.

As delighted guests are our biggest asset, we’re very pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful time with us.

Hopefully it is not too long before you are able to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Wadano Forest Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Double Black Hotel
#10 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
41 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Koharu Resort Hotel & Suites
#5 of 100 in Hakuba-mura
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Luna Hotel

Property: Hakuba Luna Hotel
Address: 4777-1 Wadano, Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakuba Luna Hotel is a very friendly, small hotel in a fantastic location in the beautiful Wadano Forest in Hakuba Happo-One.Hakuba Luna has 16 guest rooms, each combining Japanese style with western bedding and other comforts.Hakuba Luna is ideally located almost opposite (approx. 80M from) the Sakka Quad chairlift. The hotel is an easy ski-in during much of the season.Hakuba Luna has a very popular on site restaurant plus all the features you would expect from a small comfortable hotel.The inter-resort and Hakuba Village shuttle bus stops are directly in front of the hotel. Over the last three years Hakuba Luna has been renovated and upgraded by new owners. Very attractively priced for this season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hakuba Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing