We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent facilities awesome location”
Review of Double Black Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Double Black Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, excellent facilities awesome location”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a great hotel! staff were more than helpful, going out of their way to provide an excellent service! free drop off to the ski fields and restraunts as per request and availability. room was cosy, and breakfast just what you need before a day at the slopes. We won free accommodation however got the same service as the paying customers. Owners were on site and more than friendly. very warm, welcoming hotel an experience we will never forget. what an amazing hotel thankyou! not wihtin walking distance to the ski fields but the staff were always willing to drop you off free of charge. mostly aussie staff so language was not an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms are small however considered big to Japense standards, has everything need....even the warm to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    35
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed at the Double Black in a twin room. The room was simple and clean, but small, as you expect in Japan. The onsens were great after a hard day's skiing. The breakfast was a highlight delicious hot breakfast with real barista coffee (something not easy to find in Japan. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too hard for them. Definitely a good base for a ski holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeethalLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Beat place on the slopes, great service, great food. Unreal location. This is a must stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiedion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

2 weeks of great snow, wonderful staff, who were always ready to assist and advise.
Excellent rooms, efficient drying room and great ambience have made this one of my best ski trips in 40 years.
Hakuba, and double black will definately be on the agenda when planning the next ski trip to Japan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Where do I start....the people, the location, the coffee, the cocktails. This place ticks all the boxes! Rooms were very spacious, with amazingly comfortable beds. Great vibe with its own bar and lounge (and free wi-fi) - a fantastic area to chill before heading out to dinner. Wide selection of local beers and Australian wine. The staff were amazing - going out of their way to book and drive us to local restaurants. They also have a free drop off and pick up service to a number of the major ski areas - better than trying to use the local bus service. An extremely well run hotel, with personalised service and fastastic staff. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeh1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

my recent weeks stay at Double Black was far too short...the 22 room boutique hotel is a surprise gem in Hakuba...the rooms are compact (it is Japan), however the use of space and makes for a very comfortable room with very cosy beds. very modern amenities and every room has an Ensuite...(very unique in the area) as well as Onsen. The wonderful staff are both welcoming and willing to make your stay memorable and easy. Congratulations to Rosie, on a fantastic menu and beautiful dining experience. Will definately be back and have no hesitation in reccomending you stay with Double Black Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at the Double Black Hotel in January 2011 and just LOVED it. Admittedly the rooms are quite small, but we were sort of expecting that in Japan ie. the bathrooms are very compact, but almost brand, spanking new - heaps of room in the shower, tiny hand basin (we are in Japan!) and no room to swing a cat - but all spotless. Housekeeping done daily to perfection, great onsen downstairs, lovely bathrobes and a gorgeous comfortable queensize bed. View from our room overlooked the snowcovered trees and forest like surroundings - felt like we were in a Hansel and Gretel book!

Staff were great - every afternoon we'd perch ourselves in the bar for apres ski drinks & met lots of great people.

Breakfast every morning fabulous - the chef during our stay was a New Zealander called Kurt (this Australian Winter he's working at Jack Frost at Mt Hotham!) We had the most superb food every night we ate at the hotel - he is a magician. Other nights we ate out locally at gorgeous little restaurants in the area - all walking distance. Caught the Hotel shuttle to the mountain every day - very convenient & easy.

All in all, we just loved our 7 nights at the Double Black Hotel - would go back tomorrow. Thank you Karla & Eugene, James, Ben, Cherie & the Japanese girls who tended to our rooms & dining room & of course Kurt. I hope I haven't forgotten anyone....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigiandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Wadano Forest Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
144 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
226 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Black Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Black Hotel

Property: Double Black Hotel
Address: 4977-1 Wadano Hokujo | Kitaazumi-gun, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Black Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and friendly 22 room boutique hotel, nestling in the picturesque forest of Wadano, within easy walking distance of Happo/Wadano villages, and Happo One mountain ski area.• Each room has western style beds /ensuite, serviced daily• Fully licensed Restaurant/Bar/Lounge• Free mountain pick up & drop off service• Free transfers to and from Hakuba Station• International TV• Free wireless internet• Games room• Onsen bath • Washing/drying facilitiesGuest general notification. Opening of the 2012/2013 season.We understand a number of guests have been disappointed with the service they received in the opening weeks of the 2012/ 2013 season. We engaged a new management company for this season and have been badly let down by them. We became aware that we were experiencing difficulties after 28 December and one of our directors flew to Hakuba on New Year’s Eve. We then took over the running of the hotel and moved as quickly as possible to address the many issues that confronted us. We can confidently report that Double Black Hotel is now operating as advertised and is living up to all the good reviews previously posted on Trip Advisor.If you feel that you were disappointed with the service you received when on holiday with us, please contacts us and we will ensure that you are appropriately recompensed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Double Black Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing