We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 7 nights ever”
Review of Double Black Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Double Black Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at the Double Black Hotel in January 2011 and just LOVED it. Admittedly the rooms are quite small, but we were sort of expecting that in Japan ie. the bathrooms are very compact, but almost brand, spanking new - heaps of room in the shower, tiny hand basin (we are in Japan!) and no room to swing a cat - but all spotless. Housekeeping done daily to perfection, great onsen downstairs, lovely bathrobes and a gorgeous comfortable queensize bed. View from our room overlooked the snowcovered trees and forest like surroundings - felt like we were in a Hansel and Gretel book!

Staff were great - every afternoon we'd perch ourselves in the bar for apres ski drinks & met lots of great people.

Breakfast every morning fabulous - the chef during our stay was a New Zealander called Kurt (this Australian Winter he's working at Jack Frost at Mt Hotham!) We had the most superb food every night we ate at the hotel - he is a magician. Other nights we ate out locally at gorgeous little restaurants in the area - all walking distance. Caught the Hotel shuttle to the mountain every day - very convenient & easy.

All in all, we just loved our 7 nights at the Double Black Hotel - would go back tomorrow. Thank you Karla & Eugene, James, Ben, Cherie & the Japanese girls who tended to our rooms & dining room & of course Kurt. I hope I haven't forgotten anyone....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigiandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 119 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel was nothing short of fantastic. Food was exceptional we ate there every night and didnt want to go anywhere else so that we could try everything they had.... The staff are what really make it a great place. The managers Eugene and Karla are great people. Lots of fun and really went out of thier way to make our trip one to remember. Bar staff were great fun and a good laugh. I have been to hakuba 5 times now. And after staying there. I happily say. It is the best place to stay in hakuba. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leophonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Family of 4 snowboarders, mum, dad and 2 teenage boys, nearly at the end of a 15 night stay and our expectations have been totally exceeded. Right from the very beginning dealing with Tony in the planning and booking process everything was made easy, the DB website gives all the info a prospective customer needs from rates to pictures of rooms right through to getting there - all laid out in a very straight forward and easy manner, good stuff Tony!

From the time Carla picked us up from Hakuba station to now, day 12, we have had amazing service. We have stayed in 5 star accomodation in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Sydney, Singapore and have not received the level of service we have experienced at Doubleblack.
Management: Eugene & Carla (managers) are friendly, accomodating and great hosts, they have made us feel very much at home, are always asking what they can do to help, do we need anything, is everything ok, making phone calls and bookings for us etc etc, right through to turning off the outside light at night so it doesnt make our room unnecessarily bright.

Food: Kurt (chef) is a legend! Being a kiwi probably helps! He tailors meals to what we like and goes the extra mile to please all the guests..the comment we have heard many times is 'this is the BEST food we have had since being in Japan'. The cooked breakfasts (included in the nighly rate) are fantastic! Real coffee, also included in the rate...this is almost unheard of and makes DB a standout. The tables are looked after by a very capable and friendly Cherie. Drinks? James handles the bar extremely well (for an Ozzie) and is quick to suggest a good wine or cocktail when the need arises. All our other needs were handled by Ben, who does the drop offs to the various resorts (also included in the rate) and Kimi, Kauri & Midori who keep the rooms immaculate and provide guests with lots of entertainment.
If you want to holiday in a place that attends to your every need, where you will have a good time, where the staff give great service and have a good sense of humour - Doubleblack is the place.
The rooms are excellent, the food is great, the vibe is great, the price is right but what makes DB a standout is the staff and the level of service. Well done Doubleblack!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZ-snofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My wife and i stayed at double black with a group of 6 other experienced skiers. The rooms were comfortable and fulfilled all of our expectations. the staff were very friendly and willing to accommodate all of our needs. The snow and ski areas are simply awesome. The onsen was a very welcome retreat after a long day skiing. The food was great.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Family of 5 stayed in Jan 11. Everything was perfect from the snow to the hotel to the management of the resort. We really loved Double Black - having an intimate lounge and restaurant is great at the end of the day, and the food was superb. You must make sure you book for dinner tho as other residents from different lodges are also allowed to book here and it is popular !
Rooms are small but v clean and nicely fitted out. Connecting rooms also available for kids. Lovely onsen. Eugene, Kara, Cherie and crew do everything they can to make your stay worthwhile. Drop offs and pick ups from ski fields included. Free wifi also great as no tmany places offer this. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embru282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and i decided to escape the concrete of Tokyo for a White Christmas last year and headed to Hakuba and Double Black. It is a beautiful hotel recently acquired by the White Horse group and had been through a big renovation the previous year. This was clearly evident in the guest rooms which they had modelled in Japanese style with tatami mat flooring, sliding rice paper screen doors etc but had tastefully mixed with raised western beds to comfort the weary skiier... We stayed in their suite and were very happy with the room. It had a gorgeous outlook looking over the pine trees of the Wadano forest and was a lovely home away from home for Christmas.

The only downside would be that the hotel is not on the slopes (about a 5 -10 min drive) away and so you need to organise a pick up service - something the hotel were only too happy to organise for free, as well as a free shuttle service to the other slopes nearby. One of the major benefits of the hotel is that it has a lovely lounge/bar where weary skiiers can relax before dinner - somehting a little rare in Japanese hotels. The only other downfall would be that the whole hotel is run by Australians which in the middle of Japan seems a bit of a shame. Dont get me wrong, im australian and love to hear a familiar accent and friendly smile but it seemed a shame that they hadnt hired any local Japanese to help out around the place to help add more authenticity to the experience and a touch of local flavour.

I would highly recommend the Double Black again and are looking forward to the 2011/2012 season!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TtyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Fantastic holiday in Hakuba staying at Double Black...great service, good bunch of staff who all worked well together and were a lot of fun. Loved the breakfasts and the Aussie steak in the evening was as good as anything in Australia.

Apres ski happy hour in the bar using the hotel's wi-fi was a great way to relax as was taking an Onsen Japanese style bath afterwards. The rooms were clean and the beds were excellent.

The powder snow was awesome, take an back country tour, one of the best days skiing I've ever had....I'm converted !

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
232 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Black Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Black Hotel

Address: 4977-1 Wadano Hokujo | Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $188 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Black Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and friendly 22 room boutique hotel, nestling in the picturesque forest of Wadano, within easy walking distance of Happo/Wadano villages, and Happo One mountain ski area.• Each room has western style beds /ensuite, serviced daily• Fully licensed Restaurant/Bar/Lounge• Free mountain pick up & drop off service• Free transfers to and from Hakuba Station• International TV• Free wireless internet• Games room• Onsen bath • Washing/drying facilitiesGuest general notification. Opening of the 2012/2013 season.We understand a number of guests have been disappointed with the service they received in the opening weeks of the 2012/ 2013 season. We engaged a new management company for this season and have been badly let down by them. We became aware that we were experiencing difficulties after 28 December and one of our directors flew to Hakuba on New Year’s Eve. We then took over the running of the hotel and moved as quickly as possible to address the many issues that confronted us. We can confidently report that Double Black Hotel is now operating as advertised and is living up to all the good reviews previously posted on Trip Advisor.If you feel that you were disappointed with the service you received when on holiday with us, please contacts us and we will ensure that you are appropriately recompensed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Double Black Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing