We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Place to Stay in Hakuba”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lab Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lab Hakuba
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay in Hakuba”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Going again this Summer to the Lab Hakuba (winter Japan 2013), better skiing than anywhere in Aust even better than Taos or Telluride, deep deep powder, great back country areas.
The only place to stay is the Lab, comfortable and cosy and at the right price, can't wait to do it all again, the service including management is top notch.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
6
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Lab was amazing from the moment I got there! The owner was really approachable and willing to help me out. Over the two weeks I stayed there everyone who came had a great attitude, as well as the lovely staff. I'll be saving up to go back ASAP.
Also it's in the best location!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 with a bunch of mates and had a great time. The Lab is a 5 minute walk from Happo-One and a 5 minute walk to 2 bus stops which service most of the valley. There are numerous places to eat and shop which within walking distance too.

At night, the majority of guests can be found in the awesome bar downstairs sharing stories from the day and sinking some beers. There's a really good communal vibe going on and it just adds to the whole traveling experience.

I would recommend staying here if you are in a group of friends as I believe the majority of rooms are shared between a number of people (4-8). Personally this was not an issue but some may feel differently.

In conclusion, this place has a great location backed up by a bunch of great people all looking to have a good time. The staff are awesome too and will go out of their way to help you. The place isn't exactly 5-star luxury but it has everything you could want and need on a serious snow trip. Would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paolo692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Lab is a really great lodge to stay at, especially if you’re on a budget! Walking distance to 7/11, lifts, ski hire etc. The best thing about it was the open and friendly atmosphere you can always find at the bar! Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurenStaveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at The Lab in late Jan and early Feb 2012. The snow was unreal, and the accommodation made it even better. The large bar and common room downstairs was always full of people having a drink or two and frothing about how good their day was. The rooms are exactly as you want from a hostel, clean, comfortable and warm. Nothing extravagant but it does the job.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tjb43333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Arrived to our room in the early hours of Sunday morning, the room was absolutely freezing. The room took a long time to warm up, it would have been nice to come into a room with the heater turned on. All our room consisted of was a bed and that was like sleeping on concrete. Honestly I think the lab needs a clean and a little renovating.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
I would recommend this as place to stay if you are on a budget or on a boys trip.
We were meant to be there for 7 nights but only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacko2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Lab is located at the base of the biggest resort in the region, Happo 1. With an epic resort a 5 minute stroll away as well as a plethora of backcountry options from there, its a no brainer to stay there if your a keen Skier or Snowboarder. Those not so keen on venturing out to the bars every night, never fear, you can share a quiet froth and bro-story of your day in the comforts of your own Accomodation. This is a pretty awesome feature when you have skied yourself retarded and you have whiplash from the amount of faceshots received that day.

In my 2.5 week stay i experienced friendly and helpful service, as well as making a bunch of new friends. Airport transfers picked me up from Narita airport and dropped me at the Lab where i picked up my passes for my stay. I arrived late the night i landed in Japan but was still able to ski my first morning.

For a young crowd looking to ski, party or just relax, The Lab is the reasonably priced place for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
40 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
67 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Goryukan
Hotel Goryukan
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
149 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
103 reviews
Hakuba Gondola Hotel
#74 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lab Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lab Hakuba

Property: The Lab Hakuba
Address: 3372-1 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 96 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Lab Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lab Hakuba Hotel Hakuba-Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing