We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Third Visit - and it won't be my last which probably says it all!”
Review of Hakuba Windy Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hakuba-mura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hakuba Windy Lodge
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I first stayed at Windy in 2010 when it was recommended to me by a friend. I followed up in 2011 and stayed there again this year (2014)in February. The value for money is exceptional and absolutley nothing is too much trouble for the owners Akira & Meiko. Despite the fact that the extremely popular Windy Kobeya restaurant is part of the Windy Lodge complex, guests can arrange to be ferried to and from other restaurants if they wish to dine out. Dining in is an oppotunity not to bre missed as you won't find any better Wagu beef anywhere in Japan. Truly a home away from home with the Ski Hire next door and the Sakka chair a 200 metre stroll away. david L

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Windy lodge is the place to stay in Hakuba! Literally a 100m walk to Happo-One ski resort, with free shuttle bus stops next door to get to all the other ski resorts. The staff are so helpful and accommodating- one of our party got tonsilitis and they drove her to the doctor and physio and back and made appointments for her. Every day they offered lifts, suggestions and useful advice. They organised all our transport for us, and will do anything you ask of them. Seriously awesome service and so friendly. Breakfast was good- a great way to fill up before a day on the snow. Booking was easy and our rooms were exactly as shown on trip advisor. The onsens are a bit funny, but once you get used to it, they are the best thing to come back to after boarding all day! Will definitely stay here again.
Penkes bar next door is good for an evening drink- don't even need to put all your winter gear on to get there.
Spicy ski rental 300m down the road is a great gear hire place, and an easy walk from the lodge.
This place was perfect with the exception of a small scattering of bogan Aussies doing their best to make a bad reputation for the rest of us. Not the lodges fault at all.

Room Tip: No rooms have double beds- all are single beds. You don't need a private bathroom- the public ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbieG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The lovely couple which run this little lodge are absolutely wonderful! They go out of their way to help you and are happy to help organise anything you need! They have very good English skills and hire a number of English speaking staff who are all very helpful. The location is perfect, next door to a bus stop which can take you to any of the local ski areas or the information Centre, and ~100m from the nearest lift in the happo-one area.
The buffet breakfast is Western style and provides everything you want (including fresh fruit! )
Two minor draw backs.
1 - only twin bed rooms are available
2 - bad water pressure in our ensuite room. However, there is a wonderful down stairs japanese style bath with a shower with plenty of pressure that we used.
Overall a very good place to stay with great staff :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Me and 2 mates stayed here during the early snow season (Dec 10-15) in 2 twin rooms which was during the early-season. Rooms were perfect; clean, spacious and well heated, ensuite bathroom was good, no problems with hot water or water water pressure and a lounge area downstairs provides a cozy place to relax if you don't feel like going out.

But by far the best thing about this place was the amazing hosts. Boss and Miyako speak English well and can give advice on great places to eat and Boss is also an amazing chef (Try out Boss's wagyu beef and special home made BBQ sauce). They helped organise transportation to ski lifts, another ski resort and even invited us to join the staff welcoming dinner for shabu shabu. Boss is also very responsive to facebook so if you ever need to contact them, this is probably the easiest way.

A delicious, buffet breakfast was included and was cooked every morning and there was a variety fresh fruit and vegetables (rare in Japan). There is also a 2 person spa and bath for relaxing in after a day at the slopes.

Will definitely stay here again if we return to hakuba. Booked through Samurai Snow which was relatively inexpensive, but you could probably contact through facebook

Alex, Jeff & Harrison

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k15866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The owners of Windy Lodge are terrific hosts that really understand the personal touch! They both went out of their way to cater to all our needs and make our whole family as comfortable as possible. They were really helpful in assisting us with ski passes, advice about equipment hire, day trips, bus transfers and other hotel bookings. We ate in-house on our first evening - the meal was delicious! The hosts happily supplied shuttles to restaurants nearby for the rest of our time there, making it very easy for our party of 5 to move around the town and enjoy various dining and entertainment options on offer. The rooms and facilities are basic, but clean, comfortable and little touches like the electric blanket heating the Japanese-style sitting area in the communal lounge where we played cards in the evening were so appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Basic but clean. Small yet accommodating. Central but quiet. Rustic but appealing. Ticks every box really. Can't stop raving about it and recently re booked for our second trip to Hakuba. Haven't stayed anywhere else in Hakuba, but wouldn't want to. Never let a first impression fool you, we arrived late at night in dumping snow, to a dimly lit, small looking wooden building with a restaurant attached, and were welcomed by the friendliest people I've ever met, showed us our room, sat us at a table in the restaurant with a chunk of Wagyu steak to grill ourselves at the table and a couple of cold Asahis. Breakfast was kept open late for us then the owner drove us into town himself to buy us lift passes, total legend. The lifts to waist deep pow are pi--ing distance from the front door, you can slide to them from the driveway within 20 seconds, and being able to take all your cold wet gear off inside and be in a stinking hot Onsen and sauna with a cold beer within 30 seconds is epic! It's a place you wake up smiling, and even if you are still sore, a whack on the back and "cheer up mate" from the owner/chef Akira followed by a post breakfast / pre-session Onsen sorts you out quickly! Snowboard down the road to the pub, get a 3 minute bus home, bliss. We even had an off day (hungover) and the owners booked us a taxi to take us night riding at the resort next door! Just take some anti depression pills with you for check out day, I sulked for the entire bus,train and plane ride home to Australia.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

With great English from its host's, the Windy lodge is a must stay for even the most experienced travelers! The Lodge is impeccably maintained and with the owners being more than accommodating, we were able to make bookings throughout Japan! Your Hosts are very well respected within the Hakuba community and rightly so, with a friendly greeting, their local knowledge will be more than enough to ensure your ski/board trip will be one to remember! EXCELLENT! ***** 5STAR!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Wadano Forest Hotel
#5 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Panketo Lodge
#17 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
44 reviews
Hotel Kuraya
#27 of 371 in Hakuba-mura
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koharu Resort Hotel & Suites
#7 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
60 reviews
Gakuto Villas
#8 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
101 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba House
Hakuba House
#18 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Windy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Windy Lodge

Address: 4836-5 Hokujo | Hakuba Village, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly affordable alpine retreat. Family owned and operated in the Wadano Forest area, WINDY in only 100 meters from the nearest ski lift on Happo-one!! Close to the shuttles to other resorts and an ideal location for families,groupes and couples. This is a small Western style lodge with a traditional Japanese style ambience,and with a maximum of 20 guests you get personal attention from owners who will go out of their way to make this a stay to remember. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing