We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Windy”
Review of Hakuba Windy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hakuba Windy Lodge
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from 10 days in Hakuba where I stayed at the Windy lodge. I loved my time at Windy it is a warm, welcoming and friendly place. The owners went above and beyond to help my friends and I organise day trips, to organise black cat couriers to transfer our gear to Narita airport and even keep breakfast open late for us on the days we were hungover! They truly go above and beyond to help you. It is a short walk to Habbo One from the lodge and it is fairly central in relation to the other lodges surrounding it. Some features of the lodge I enjoyed were the restaurant attached to the lodge itself has amazing food and great service, the private onsen's and saunas and the fact the basement of the lodge has more than enough space to store all your snowboarding and ski gear. The rooms may be a tad on the small side but for the value of the place and the free breakfast it's worth it. (You shouldn't be spending too much time in your room on a snow holiday anyways!) I would recommend this lodge for families, couples and groups of friends. I would happily stay at the Windy again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bscammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a great stay at Windy. The owners are so friendly and very helpful. It was nice to return to their smiles and cheerful mood after a long day of skiing.They picked us up & dropped us off at numerous places which made life a lot easier. Windy is only a 2 min walk from the Sakko lifts! Would very happily stay at Windy Lodge again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannas46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've just returned from a week in Hakuba, we stayed at Windy Lodge and found it very comfortable even if the rooms are quite small, but western style. The hosts are very accommodating and extremely welcoming and helpful. Features we particularly appreciated were: private onsens and saunas, a comfy home-style guest lounge, on-site laundry facilities, renowned in-house restaurant, ability to buy ski passes at reception, willingness of hosts to drive us to ATMs, ski hire, etc, etc. Excellent value overall, highly recommended. Also, the heating was very efficient.
Stu & Steph Thomson, Australia

Room Tip: If no en-suite rooms are available, the shared facilities are excellent and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just returned from a refreshing holiday in Hakuba. This lodge is a comfortable and friendly place to enjoy the great snow available for skiiers. The ski lifts are a convenient 5 minute walk away and the cost of our rooms with attached bathroom was very reasonable.

The rooms are small and basic but the hosts make up for it with their warm and friendly personalities. The place they took us to for ski hire was also very good with reasonably priced equipment of high quality.

Breakfast is a welcome start to the day and is included in the price of the stay. But a tip for those on a budget. It can be difficult to find inexpensive food at night and although there is a small souvenir shop across the road with some noodles and drinks for sale, you may wish to stock up on snacks, tea or convenience items before heading up as the nearest 711 is a bus ride away. The night bus are is 200yen per trip so this can add to the cost of getting your dinner, particularly for families. The eating establishments nearby are restaurant standard so although the food is good, it can add up to a lot for families. There is a microwave on the premises that can be used for simple instant noodle meals. Some buses are free in the day.

The ATM is also a distance away so make sure you have enough cash though the hosts kindly offered us rides when we needed them during their less busy time. At night, They operate a lovely Wagyu beef restaurant on the premises which is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is our third trip to hakuba, previous two as entire family, this time just myself and 16 year old daughter. What a fantastic place to stay. Super friendly, night bust stop outside, 100 meters to the lifts, and a restaurant with excellent food. Previous stays were at momoniki and yamano and while both these were great experiences as well, Windy lodge was less than half the price. We stayed in a room with shared bathroom, which was no issue, as the rest rooms were two rooms away, and the 2 bathrooms in the basement boasted private sauna and onsen. Headed there at the end of each skiing day. The lounge on the second floor was a great spot to rest, work the iPad and read a book.

Small fridge and heater in the room and small wardrobe. Twin beds very close together but comfortable. Rooms cleaned every 3 days. Free pick up and drop off at hakuba station or happo bus terminal.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. Ate there 3 nights running and every meal was great.

Free breakfast in the morning got the day off to a great start

You can buy discount lift passes at the front desk.

No frills, but comfortable, great value and friendly atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Can highly recommend for a great ski week.

Room Tip: The room was small but hey, you are here to ski if if you want to kick back and relax you can use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

As a first time traveller to Japan I didn't know what to expect but was completely blown away by the genuine warmth and hospitality at Windy. We were met at the Bus Station, taken to ski hire then on to Windy. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely people at Windy. It's embarassing really that they do so much for you.
The house is well maintained and rooms are very comfortable. Short walk to the ski lifts and after a hard day's skiing the hot tubs are wonderful. Nice to sit back over a beer in the lounge and catch up via the guest's complimentary laptop.
The restaurant provides superb quality food and service at a reasonable price. If you want to try good Wagu beef then this is the place to come.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skigerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

If you are looking for comfortable digs, with great Japanese hospitality, Windy is it......this is one of those places where you get to feeling so comfortable, you don't really want to leave.
Our hosts were so helpful and friendly, as were all the staff. They will happily help out with anything they can.....from a lift to town for hire gear, dinner, bookings, etc....to discount lift-tix and an icy cold beer or a warm sake, after returning home from a day on the hill.
The in-house onsen also helped cure all aches after skiing and boarding.
It is similar to staying at a lodge back here in Australia....a very relaxed atmosphere, with a really hearty breakfast provided each day.
WIndy is also very handy to the Saaka lifts, which are only a 5 minute walk away.
Their restaurant is also well worth visiting - the yakiniku (Japanese BBQ), was delicious... & the famous wagyu lived up to all expectations....we will be back. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveandchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#17 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
80 reviews
The Phat House
#2 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Seventh Heaven Hakuba
#28 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo
#8 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Koharu Resort Hotel & Suites
#5 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Grove Inn Skala
#7 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Windy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Windy Lodge

Address: 4836-5 Hokujo | Hakuba Village, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 121 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $71 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hakuba Windy Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly affordable alpine retreat. Family owned and operated in the Wadano Forest area, WINDY in only 100 meters from the nearest ski lift on Happo-one!! Close to the shuttles to other resorts and an ideal location for families,groupes and couples. This is a small Western style lodge with a traditional Japanese style ambience,and with a maximum of 20 guests you get personal attention from owners who will go out of their way to make this a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hakuba Windy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing