We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in the Penthouse room for 7 nights towards the end of the season. The hotel was basically vacant at this time, but the Brendan and the staff still went out of there way to make us feel welcome. Whilst they have 2 bed suites, we chose this room because of the promise of the remarkable view and we were not disappointed - The room had one of the most fabulous views and was very beautifully decorated. The in-house restaurant served great food, staff were also very helpful in recommending making reservations for other restaurants as well. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spencerlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a wonderful 7 nights staying in this hotel with a group of friends. The hotel offers everything you could possibly need. Brendan on staff is knowledgable about the area and always ready to help with advice or information. Luke, the in-house acupuncturist/masseur, was invaluable when my son twisted his knee on his first day skiing. The rooms are beautifully appointed and of a generous size with floor to ceiling windows affording views to the ski fields from the front and across the snow covered trees at the side. The hotel's restaurant Antlers offers wonderful western style food which is a nice change from Japanese cuisine which you will be eating everywhere else you go in Japan. There is also a cosy bar where you can enjoy pre-dinner drinks before dinner. All-in-all this hotel offers a first-class stay and would be hard to find better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here during spring to catch the last of the snow - only a 100 mt flat walk to the Happo lifts.
On arrival we were collected from the station by resort staff who were friendly. the resort is amazing! perched atop the hill overlooking Happo village and across the road from ski hire and restaurants this place is positioned well.
the bar is great with well priced food and drinks. we had room 101 - large ground floor corner studio with a balcony and huge windows/doors to capture the view.
Breakfast was western style with vegimite available!
Staff were awesome and willing to help - Brendan - An Aussie was a fine F&B host and full of great local knowledge and Yori (sorry about spelling) was front of house and great with arranging restaurant reservations and transport.
I will be coming back!
will sleep 4 - awesome fold out in room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jks110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canungra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My Husband and I stayed in the penthouse at The Ridge from 23rd March till the 30th March 2014 and had a fabulous vacation.. The Hotel is spotlessly clean and has been renovated beautifully to a very modern and upmarket Hotel. The decorator has superb taste and the attention to detail has made this hotel an absolute delight to stay in. It is located in the forest at Wadano and is a very easy stroll to Happo One ski fields and lots of bars and restaurants are close by. Although we went as a couple the hotel also has a wonderful entertainment room to keep the kids happy, and give the adults a break in the well appointed bar and lounge area.
The staff were absolutely wonderful, and played a large part in making our holiday so special. All meals were beautiful and the chef takes great pride in delivering you a sumptuous meal. Highest praise goes to Brendan who runs the bar, dining room and generally bends over backwards to help you. This was our second trip to Hakuba, but our first at The Ridge. We will certainly stay here for future vacations in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimmyshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just a quick review - spent 4 nights here with our two children in adjoining rooms for Chinese New Year. Great choice if skiing in Hakuba (although it was the worst ski season in a decade!). Location is (just) walking distance to the ski field or an easy 2 minute drive. Food in the restaurant was great and the bar was nice as well. There is an onsen in the hotel directly opposite which was a good way to wind down. Service was excellent with a mix of locals and foreigners working here - only real criticism is that you barely feel like you are in Japan when here (or Hakuba generally). Still, makes it easy if you don't speak Japanese.

Rooms were a great size, very clean and well equipped (one of ours had a small kitchenette),

Kids loved the games room and the hot chocolates!

If you are not looking for a traditional Japanese experience, don't hesitate. Book this and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic stay here for 6 nights in a mountain view room. From the moment of our arrival until we left, we were offered excellent service by all staff. We were even spoilt with flowers, chocolates, and champagne to congratulate us on our wedding. Daily breakfast, daily shuttle to the large supermarket, assistance with restaurant & private onsen bookings, nothing was too much trouble! The room size was great, especially for Japanese standards, with a large comfortable bed, a couch and small table & chairs. We dined in the restaurant one evening and the food was great, very western. The breakfast was basic but tasty & fresh & varied day to day. The only recommendation would be to offer breakfast for more than 1.5 hours/day.
Thanks Yori, Brendan & Mitch! We hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElyseJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Our family , 2 adults and 2 children( 10 &11) stayed at The Ridge apartments for 8 nights in January. We stayed in a 2 bedroom mountain view room.
The room was fantastic, with an amazing view from the lounge into the forest. The hotel is picture perfect,set in a quiet forest area about 100 mtrs in from main road.
It's very quiet.
The restaurant is intimate providing beautiful meals and bar snacks. The breakfast is great too, offering bacon, eggs. Pancakes, fruit , cereal etc.
We ventured out a few nights to local restaurants that were only a 5 minute walk.
The onsen in the hotel across the road is worth a visit. We also hired a private Onsen one night, but I actually preferred the one across the road.
It's around a 300mtr walk to the closest lift. It's not a difficult walk ,but if you are used to ski in ski out it feels a bit odd walking along the road in your ski boots and it's a bit slippery too. The slopes here at Happo do not offer many beginner slopes, it's quite steep.
The staff are wonderful and go out of their way to help you during your stay. A special thank you to Brendan who is simply wonderful. He is helpful, knowledgeable and really is one of the best assets The Ridge hotel has.
My son broke his wrist during our stay, and I had to return to Australia early to have his cast reset. The local medical clinic will not give pain relief when setting a break, & unfortunately our break was set so badly I had to return home to have it seen by a surgeon.
Hakuba is not easy to get to.. When you add up all your travelling time ( 9 hour flight then at least another 5 hours to hakuba) it compares to some US resorts, but culturally offers a difference.
I will go to Canada or US next time for the snow, only due to the travel time and medical care, but if you are travelling to Hakuba I highly recommend The ridge apartments.
It's very special without being pretentious .

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank margaretBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Black Hotel
#11 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
119 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel & Apartments

Property: The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
Address: 4608 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the prestigious Wadano area, only an easy, flat 200m from the base of the largest ski resort Happo One, this hidden jewel offers unparalleled Western style accommodation, luxury amenities and service. Surrounded by restaurants, bars and onsens, The Ridge is the ideal location for everyone. Complimentary buffet breakfast, plus daily shuttle service to supermarket and surrounds, and located opposite the resort bus and ski school collection/drop-off point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Rakuten and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ridge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing