We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for our hakuba ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 373 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A modern hotel with a Japanese twist.

Communal areas areas are spacious and stylish with lovely warm fires for when its cold outside.
Only ate here once but the food and service were good.

The room was decorated in japanese style, tatami matted with large double bed- only thing missing was a bath- shower only- not a big problem.

It's a short walk to the kossukai chair lifts and the free ski shuttle bus stops at the end of the drive to take you to the other ski fields, iwatake, hakuba 47 and the gondola in the middle of the village.

It was good value for money and I'd definitely recommend staying here. The staff- Aaron and Nikki were very helpful and helped us get our bearings so that we settled in nicely

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room with an enclosed balcony. Other rooms have more traditional open balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertieandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I posted a review the day I left here because I was so impressed by this place but for some reason it hasn't registered.
So let me go again and say that this place was outstanding in every aspect. Great rooms, beautiful food served in the restaurant, close to the mountain and all necessary shuttle buses for other mountains, great ski room for drying gear etc, reading areas, games area for children.
Without doubt though better than all of this was the staff service. We were lucky enough whilst there to get to meet one of the owners, Kristoff, and you can see why the staff deliver such great service because the example is set by the owner. Nothing was a problem giving us great advice on what to do, where to eat, making reservations for us and dropping us off places if we needed a lift somewhere.
Equally as impressive service from all other staff particularly Nikki and Aaron- but everyone really!
In summary this place may not be the cheapest in Hakuba but you get what you pay for and that being the case this place is exemplary…I will be taking all my friends and family back there next winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

What every ski lodge should like. Great architecture, lovely interiors, warm fires and sensational views of the mountain. This Hotel is what skiing is all about at an affordable price. Its a little bit out of town, transport was readily available and there are many restaurants and lovely onsen's to visit within walking distance. Also 5 minutes walk to the nearest chair.

Room Tip: 302A, a lovely generous room with spectacular mountain views. Penthouse is a lovely treat, large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitri238749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Thank you Aaron, Nicky and all the lovely staff at the Ridge! Our stay was absolute heaven -despite being down two members of our family we loved every minute of our stay at the Ridge! we stayed in the Penthouse - complete with an amazing bathroom! We all loved the spa bath tub after skiing with its beautiful views! This was truly one of the best ski accommodations we have ever stayed in! Spacious, beautifully appointed and ever so comfortable with 180 degree amazing views of the mountain we found so mesmerizing! The staff made the kids feel welcome and in the main part of the hotel my two sons made use of the comfy games room complete with computer games Tv etc and felt very much at home! Meals were great - a western hot breakfast buffet complete with excellent piping hot cappuccinos was a great way to start the day without wasting too much time waiting around for food to arrive. The bar was very relaxing and cosy with comfy sofas and fire. We had dinner in-house on the Saturday night and found the food and service to be wonderful. All up in the words of my 6 year old "I never ever want to leave mummy this is the best holiday ever!" Unfortunately we had to... but definitely plan to come back to the Ridge with the rest of the family. Thanks again for a truly memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Highly recommend penthouse - apparently the emperor watched the Olympic Games from here! stunning vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiefam5Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I thoroughly researched a civilized place to stay while my girlfriend & I were skiing at at Hakuba.

The Ridge is great.... the staff were helpful in every way and made life perfect from the moment we arrived. The room exceeded our expectaions and was clean, comfortable and warm. It had a fantastic view as well (see pics). Breakfast is included in the tarriff and was a very nice start to each day before hitting the slopes. The main chair-lift is a short walk from the Hotel and the Ridge has a great ski locker and drying room to store your gear at the end of each day. WIthin walking distance there are numerous traditional places to eat in the evening after the days skiing. Ask to go to the traditional onsen up the road from Hakuba Station (on the left), top notch and the staff are happy to drive you there.

Happo One doesn't have too many Australians skiing there but the Jananese are Kamakazi's so be careful on the slopes.

In summary, you can't go wrong staying here. If its good enough for the Emperor it's good enough for me.

Cheers Ross Smith

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMW1200GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I'm not one for writing reviews but felt compelled to share my thoughts on The Ridge Apartments. The accommodation is very well appointed, having previously been built for the Japanese imperial family, and whilst very comfortable it doesn't feel contrived.
Location is great, short walk from the slopes, local eateries and easy to connect with ski school pick ups.
What sets The Ridge apart from many other places I've stayed around the world is the staff. For an ideal combination is having someone deeply vested as the owner. Not just from the equity invested but the time they are willing to dedicate to running a seamless and relaxed destination.
Thank you to the entire team for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After several trips to Japan and skiing at Niseko, we decided to try Hakuba and chose to stay at The Ridge. We chose a hotel room rather than an apartment style option as the cost was massively higher for apartments.

Our room was very nice, spacious enough, and met our needs very well. The only downsides of the hotel rooms are small showers (no bath), and in our room the TV very oddly faced nowhere you could see it. The room had a coffee table and two chairs but cried out for a couch as the only place to lounge was on the bed. However, minor inconveniences only.

The location is very good. It is a short walk to the nearest lift and is well accessed by the local bus routes to take you to and from the various ski areas. The hotel also offers a very good shuttle system for guests with a daily run to the supermarket and an on-demand service to restaurants or other destinations.

The staff is exceptionally helpful and obliging. They all seem to multi-task from dawn to late evening with a variety of duties, including serving meals, working in the bar area, managing the front desk, ferrying guests, and room cleaning.

This was a first season for many of the staff so their local knowledge was a little weak. Not a fault of theirs, but management might give them a bit more information to pass to guests as we can be a demanding lot for help with restaurant recommendations.

The hotel is small and very smart. The restaurant is good and the small bar is a friendly gathering space.

We'd definitely come back to Hakuba for the skiing and to Ridge for the location and accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyPat2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#7 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
105 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#10 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#9 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
206 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 4608 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 373 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the prestigious Wadano area, only an easy, flat 200m from the base of the largest ski resort Happo One, this hidden jewel offers unparalleled Western style accommodation, luxury amenities and service. Surrounded by restaurants, bars and onsens, The Ridge is the ideal location for everyone. Complimentary buffet breakfast, plus daily shuttle service to supermarket and surrounds, and located opposite the resort bus and ski school collection/drop-off point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Rakuten, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ridge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing