We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home........”
Review of Aqua Alpine Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Alpine Hakuba
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
“Felt like I was at home........”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thanks for the “GREAT TIME”
I am one of the five that accompanied Jeremy for the two day ski trip/Australia Day. The staff at the Aqua Alpine Hotel is exceptional, Thanks so much Sam, Rob, Jonathan, Leo, Samantha you made me feel like I was at home. The service was phenomenal never a wait for anything. The shuttle was right there when you needed it every time, Jonathan your the man. The kangaroo burger (my first) was awesome to say the least. The Eggs Benedict Saturday morning was great as well. I can’t wait to return for some more of their great hospitality food and up to your waist powder. The sprinklers that water the driveway is such a great way to keep the snow away so you don’t slip and bust your you know what. You can bet I will be coming back as soon as possible.
Steve J

Room Tip: The suite was great, it slept three ski bums just fine. The shower set up was very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The theme of this trip is "It just keeps getting better!". We had a party of 5 with a last minute reservation. The guys at the Aqua Alpine bent over backwards to get us in the weekend of Jan 25-27. We arrived at the train station Friday night and we were met promptly by Rob and Sam. Upon arrival we were welcomed by John and Akbar who check us in and helped us with our luggage. From my understanding, the hotel is an ex-corporate retreat center. The main social area is made up of a bar and lounge area with a wood burning fireplace and relaxing sofa chairs. The other half is the dining room area for breakfast and dinner. We had some great drinks and appetizers the first night of our arrival.
The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast. It had snowed 70 cm over night. Sam took us to get our gear. The rental shop pulled out all the stops and pulled the wrappers off a brand new pair of Black Crow powder boards! It was a powder day and probably dropped another 70cm. Skiing at Goryu was amazing (even though the visibility was low) and we skied back to the hotel after we were done. We hopped in the onsen soon after (make your reservation ahead of time). It was Australia Day so the Aqua Alpine hosted a great celebration. We met some great Australian folks (in case you can't tell by now, we are from the States). We had Kangaroo burgers and more great comfort food. The snow kept falling.
Later in the evening we went to a local bar with our hosts Rob and Sam to continue Australia Day celebrations.
Even though this sounds like a great recommendation for singles, I saw several families at the hotel that appeared to be having a great time as well. They have skiing for all skills from first time to expert. There is also a game room with full size billiards that the kids will love.
The next day breakfast was great again. Omlets, waffles, and eggs Benedict to die for. We hit the slopes early. Went all the way to the top and managed to get almost first tracks down. Skiing was epic with snow so deep you couldn't find the bottom.
Again, we returned to the onsen for a nice soak before jumping on the train to go home.
I can't wait to go back. There are so many other ski slopes I'm the area to explore.
Rob, Sam, John, Akbar and the rest of the staff at the Aqua Alpine made our visit unforgettable.

Room Tip: There are only about 12 rooms. The two we had were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This year was our 3rd stay at Aqua Alpine in 4 years and although I agree with a reviewer below that the house keeping services need to be addressed in some instances and the ‘dinner / bar menu’ needs to be reviewed to allow for a variety of options including ‘comfort food’ as the set menu did not appear to be an option for most people who were staying at the hotel which I believe would then compliment the other food establishments near the hotel, we are already in the process of booking for next year!

We feel fortunate to have found this place 4 years ago – its location is great although if you miss one of the (many) shuttles provided by the hotel in the morning, the short walk up the hill certainly warms up your leg for skiing but it’s the people and the services that they provide that makes staying at the hotel so enjoyable. Josh and Akbar are superb hosts and go out of their way to ensure that all guests are welcomed and no request is too small for them. This year there was John, Sam and Robb (special mention to Robb for suggesting the Californian wine which great) who were just as attentive and helpful to not only us but to everyone around.

It is a very welcoming place and provides an environment that not only suits families but also allows guests to mingle and get to know each other and chat about how great the snow and skiing conditions are in Hakuba

See you next year! :)

Room Tip: Nothing beats having a Spa in the Mountain Suite at the end of a long day of skiing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Aqua Alpine in January for a week and recommend it highly to all especially for families with young kids. The atmosphere was warm and friendly with the Aqua team looking after our needs and providing special attention where required.
We were originally in two separate rooms due to late booking on our part but after the first night, they moved us to a large family room with loads of space and very comfortable bedding and clean (if small) bathroom. The onsen is a must for a small charge (500Yen each) - just make sure and book early as it is popular. (Note to Aqua team - A half hour booking system would be useful so everyone can get fair access).
We were taken everywhere we needed to go to - ski hire (with a house discount), any of the three ski resorts, Monkey tour bus stop and local restaurants if they were too far to walk or in our case when it was snowing quite a bit. Special mention for John, Sam and Akbar for shuttling us around for the week.
The bar & lounge with a fire place is a great place to wind down with happy hour drinks on offer. The restaurant serves a great brekkie and also has Al a carte and set menu dinners. If anything can be improved it would probably be the menu structure as some of the set menus were pricey especially when the kids at times only ate little of what was on offer. If this could be addressed we think the restaurant would be frequented more often and there would be less reason to look elsewhere - although there are lovely local places to try out such as Canada Tei and Pizza kaya.
One night we left the girls to play with the other kids in the games room while we had dinner out such is the assurance and comfort you feel at this place.

Thanks Aqua team for a most pleasant and relaxed stay and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Tip 1 - Don't worry if your choice of room type is not available right away - the Aqua team will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Aqua Alpine Hotel in hakuba in December and enjoyed every moment. We were lucky that there was a good dumping of snow just before we arrived which made the stay there that much better. We found the whole team were friendly and welcoming to both my self and my family. On our arrival my navigation was old and the manager Akbar went out of his way at 11pm to come and find us, and the same service was followed during the duration of our stay. Compliments to the whole team for really taking the time to take care of us for all our needs. Definatly be back later this year. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vbornino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed at Aqua for the third time in 4 years. It would appear that they simply can't get it together.

The food is average, rooms are not getting cleaned, the bar and restaurant are freezing and smell of smoke.

Staff members constantly turn the sprinklers on the driveway resulting in wet boots and pants.

The heater in the drying room goes off over night.

The hotel seems to be stingy on electricity using very few lights at night leaving patrons sitting in the dark and refusing to turn lights on during the day.

Room heating is turned off during the day so if you want to stay warm you have to stay in your ski clothes.

The list of complaints is endless and even though we have brought many of these complaints to their attention nothing is done.

I will try to find somewhere else to stay in Hakuba.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iliketotravelcoomera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place could not be faulted from the moment we walked in. Suitable for all including families. This place is located wonderfully and the staff are so helpful in every way. They not only had affordable pricing with their food and beverage but excellent service. Staff suggested other great restaurants nearby and would even drive us and pick us up when we were ready so we did not have to worry about a thing. It was a pleasant stay to say the least and my partner and I cannot wait to go back, we have suggested for all our friends and family to get here as soon as possible. It was truly the best holiday we have been on and the best place we have ever stayed. If you are looking for an action packed holiday with no worries or a relaxing stay in a pleasant area do yourself a favour and book a room here, you will not regret it.

Bianca- Primary School Teacher from Sydney NSW

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Alpine Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Alpine Hakuba

Property: Aqua Alpine Hakuba
Address: 22203-151 Kamishiro, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture (Formerly Aqua Alpine Hotel)
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Rakuten so you can book your Aqua Alpine Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing