We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hakuba-mura
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
12
21
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
12
21
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski room japanese standards public bath adam gondola lockers cereal boots skiing hakuba
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2019 via mobile

This was our first time in Hakuba and our travel agent had booked us here at Hotel Moegi.

We found this beautiful hotel to be homely and the staff very accommodating.

Our room was twin share, and very spacey (compared to most hotels in Japan). The rooms are basic but very warm and more than enough when really you’re just sleeping there at night and on the mountain all day. The bathroom was a bit small, like a plastic capsule. My partner (5ft11inches) found the shower amusing, the top of his head was about an inch from the ceiling when standing in the shower “trough”. But regardless, there was always plenty of hot water to have relaxing showers in.

The ski room downstairs was well organised and plenty of room to put all our gear.

Breakfast included a hot plate and a buffet of cereals, pastries and fruit - again basic but the staff were very accommodating to my partner who has Coeliac disease, and made sure his meal was gluten free.

The hotel is in great location to the Adam Gondola and a short walk to the shops.

We would recommend this lovely hotel and definitely stay again!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank deble91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

Basic, but clean and comfortable. This was a great hotel for a family holiday. It was close to the Happoone chairlift and the gondola. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but enough to get you through to lunch. There is a restaurant for evening meals but it is basic and I would recommend eating elsewhere. The hotel reminds me of the private, family run B&Bs in the UK.

Room tip: There are no lifts so you may have to carry bags etc up three flights of stairs.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Moegi for the first stop of our Honeymoon. We were greeted at the front desk by lovely staff who provided us with our ski lift passes, brochures and explained the shuttle bus timetables to us.
The room was big and spacious with a couch, table, mini fridge, tv, small washing horse and small closet space to hang some clothes/keep shoes.
The bed was quite firm so we requested some extra blankets which we used to pad the mattress out a bit.
The room had ducted heating which you could have off/low/med/high. There was not an option for cooling however with overnight temperatures around -8degrees Celsius cooling was not needed, we just Turned the heat off if we were warm from walking and that was comfortable. Insulation of the building was very good. The staff had arranged a beautiful bouquet of flowers with a card to congratulate us on our marriage in our room which was a lovely personal touch.

The ensuite was small, a very tall or large person may find it a squeeze. We would get undressed and towel off outside of the ensuite but it was not an issue as a couple but may be a consideration if you are staying with friends and shy to get undressed. The ensuite did have temperature control which was great, you didn't have to fight to find the hot water in the shower. We would set the temperature on the dial and within 20seconds the shower was ready to hop in. Perfect after a day in the snow.

Long story short - some rowdy guys moved into the room next door. They were so loud, banging, music pumping etc. and later caught smoking in their room. They were ejected from the hotel after warnings and the staff were no nonsense about it. The staff were very apologetic to the guests affected. It is not a 'party' hotel, it is very much a quiet enjoyment place for couples, families or groups of friends who can be respectful. If you are looking to get drunk with your mates and party in your room, this is not the hotel for you. If you are respectful of the hotel and staff they will go above and beyond for you.

There is a locker room downstairs for your snow and ski gear as well as gender separated onsens. A small vending machine has a couple of beer selections and soft drink. There are tea and coffee options to take to your room as well.

The breakfasts each morning were really nice. There would be one set hot breakfast and it was slightly different each morning. You can also ask for toast. There is a selection of cereals, fruits, juices and pastries available for self serve. The food service was great, the clearly take pride in the hotel, very clean, efficient and friendly.

Access to the main gondola was an easy 3min walk. Plenty of food options within walking distance. Easy walk to the shuttle bus stop which will take you all around hakuba for free during the day and a small fee at night.
On our check out the owners were kind enough to take us and our bags in their van to the local bus depot.

Overall we really enjoyed Hotel Moegi and we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

Grumpy unhelpful matron who would not lend a poor bloke with his crinkled short her iron, wanted $Au 50 for a deposit on a power adaptor.
The drying room is down stairs and difficult to access with narrow steep stairwell. only given a 30x150 metal cabin per room.... and don't think about wearing your ski boots through the main foyer !!! ARGHH
breakfast limited to 7- 8.30am and a fixed hot meal.
very small "plastic moulded toilet, hand basin and bath" you really wouldn't want to be size 16 or more ...you probably wont fit through the door

The upside - great access to the ski fields, and basic restaurants 150m away.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdefghi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

The hotel staff were extremely helpful, accomodation and gave excellent restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was cooked fresh each morning as you arrived and there was also cereal, pastries, fruit and salad too. The rooms are Japanese style, small but comfortable and warm. The hotel is situated a few meters up from the gondola station and just below evergreen so it’s extremely quick getting to the slopes. A 10 minute walk to village for restaurants. The hotel also has male and female onsen to use each day.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank davinaboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews