We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bears Den Mountain Lodge
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We loved The Bears Den so much we went back again a few months later. Tim & Lesley make great hosts and the Den is a great place to explore the slopes from. Accommodation is very comfortable, and it's a great place to chill out. Some nights Tim cooks, but we also enjoyed a few nights out 'on the town' - there are some great restaurants nearby. Would go back again without hesitation. The snow was fantastic too, though better in Jan/Feb than it was towards the end of the season (though upper slopes were still ski-able).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchy2Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2008

I traveled to Hakuba in Jan 2007 & Feburary 2008 & will again in Feb 2009, the 1st time I stayed in a Hotel in Echoland, whilst there 2 of the owners impressed me with their desires to please their guests. When they built their own lodge The Bears Den in Goryu I decided to see if the standard of the lodge was any better than the hotel they were co-owners in previously, I was very surprised as the building & it's fixtures were far above the previous place.
A great variety of room sizes allow couples, family's & groups of friends to all sleep comfortably in the Australian made beds( makes a big difference if your 180cm plus )
Tim & Lesley are great hosts, Tim does a fine job of the cooking, pouring the drinks & will also at any opportunity take you to the slopes & guide you around to all the great powder stash's on the many mountain slopes in the Hakuba Valley. Lesley works hard at insuring that the rooms are sparkling at all times & has great advice on the local cultural spots to visit & if you have any queries on travel tips to & from Hakuba she'll only be happy to help you out .
I haven't even really touched on the hot tub, Media room & special meal nights like Steaks on the Barbecue , this place is definitely a place I'll revisit any time I stay in Hakuba.
Now did I mention how good the snow is ?

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Snowpony64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Dadadadaisuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NK298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakubashionomichi Onsen
Hotel Stelle Belle
Hotel Stelle Belle
#24 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
58 reviews
Hakubashionomichi Onsen
Hotel Abest Hakuba Resort
Hotel Abest Hakuba Resort
#22 of 371 in Hakuba-mura
13 reviews
B&B Santana Hakuba
#21 of 371 in Hakuba-mura
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bears Den Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bears Den Mountain Lodge

Address: 22213-6 Kamishiro Oaza | Kita Azumi Gun, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 Specialty lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $156 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bears Den Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bears Den Mountain Lodge was purpose built to provide quality Western style accommodation in 2007. We continue to work hard at making the Den a wonderful and welcoming place for guests to find their mountain bliss. All guest rooms have a large en-suite with separate full size shower, Sealy Posturepedic King size beds and 5-Star linen. Rooms are rented out individually or joined in privacy for families or groups of travellers. We are situated in beautiful Goryu Village. A short stroll to restaurants and bars in the Village and only 300 Meters from Goryu/Hakuba 47 Ski Resort, take the forest trail at the end of the day to ski–in to our front door. Hakuba offers endless terrain of jagged peaks, epic amounts of snow, plenty of sunny days, long seasons and few people! We hope we can share our local knowledge, good times, and your best mountain story ever. Everyone is welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Bears Den Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing