We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing deal and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
Certificate of Excellence
Honjo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing deal and great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with a large group of friends and we had a blast. The beds are simple Japanese futons in the Japanese style quarters, but they are comfortable and clean. The meals were really good for the price, but you will have a set time you have to be at the hotel in order to eat your meals.

That being said, the staff was amazing and incredibly helpful. There's even a sweet elderly man that greets you every time you come back as he opens the door for you. The location is perfect and there are free shuttles all day to the ski jos. Goryu and 47 are literally just down the road.

The bar across the street "Tracks" was bumpin' with both Japanese and foreign customers and there is a really cool relaxed bar down the road called Bike Bar. There was a shower in our room and an onsen (hot spa for public bathing) you could enjoy during your stay.

Great place... and the deal they offered for 4 nights plus ski lift tickets, meals, etc was epic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austinsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    46
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honjo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Stayed at Montblanc for 4 nights on a recent ski trip with a group of 14. The staff there is amazing, and super laid back! They were there when we needed them, and helped us with whatever we needed. The accomodations are simple and nice. If you book accomodation with ski passes, you can get a great deal! The food was great! and really convenient after a long day on the ski slopes. All in all they really care about making your stay in their hotel and in Hakuba an amazing time. They always let us know of fun partys/events going on in the area, and were always there to help us out!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harimyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

AMAZING STAY!!! Thankyou soo much Cherry Son, Soulza, Nito, Koji and Mickey for making our stay unforgetable, you gave us 10 star service for the awesomest accomodation deal ever! you spoilt us and whats even better is the friendships we made with you all, best staff ever and the food!..... Ooh My Goodness the food, Nito you out did yourself, you are truly and artist when it comes to food decorating, tasting and the variety! i have never been so full or looking forward to dinner and breakfast than when i stayed with you!! Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Staff, Fantastic Deal (dinner + Breaky + Accomodation + Ski pass for whole stay, dont think i could have done it cheaper in a backpackers when you add it all up!) Fantastic Mountains!! Thanks for everything guys!!! Cherry Sun i cant thank you enough for making us feel like we were at home in your hotel and for spoiling me, Soulza, we loved getting to know you socially and your help was priceless, Nito thank you for making our stay authentic with your sushimi class for dinner it was one of the funniest nights!! Mickey and Koji,your smiling faces every day and your cool personalities were a bonus.
This place is sooo close to soo many diff mountains, not just Hakuba Goryo or 47, but also Happo, Iwatake (begginers heaven), tsugaike, Cortina (fantastic tree runs), Yanaba, Sanasake... every morning soulza and Cherry Son had or tickets and transportation info ready for us ...we didnt have to think! THANKS AGAIN BOYS!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheskaPaintings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

The best service imaginable. I broke my collarbone on the slopes and these guys were awesome enough to pick me up from the clinic and drive me to the station when I left. They even kept me company while waiting for my friends to get back and drove me to and from the clinic when I had to go back.
Two great meals a day with a good variety and even a big fruit plate served in a pineapple on our final night.

The public baths downstairs are very relaxing and an excellent way to end a day on the slopes.

Finally it's amazing value for money to stay here, especially considering they can organise and include lift tickets in the cost of the stay.

Will certainly be coming to stay here again the next time I'm boarding in Japan!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We are a family of four with kids aged 10 and 13. De Souza at MontBlanc who works at Montblanc during the ski season ,speaks english and was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is cosy and staying there was almost like staying as guest of old friends. De Souza's boss, the owner was also very hospitable. We were dropped of at the foot of the ski slopes both days we were there and picked up each evening. Every thing from meals to ski hire was arranged for us without any glitches. Place has wi fi and food was hearty mix of japanese and western. De Souza and his boss were even concerned that we had a pick up arranged for our next destination. We were very well catered for from the time we arrived at the Hotel until the time De Souza dropped us of at the train station. This is a good place to stay especially if you don't speak japanese.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenKwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Thank you very much for your review , your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

I would like to request the kindness of posting this review also on BOOKING.COM so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.
We hope to host you again.
Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Hotel Montblanc is definitely one of the best snow packages available at Hakuba Goryu. We arranged a customised 5 night, 4 day package including lift passes for Goryu and 47, incl. breakfasts and dinner for just over $110 AU/person/night. That's got to be hard to beat.

The hotel is a little older but very comfortable. Rooms were clean but not cleaned daily which wasn't an issue for us. Food is typical Japanese so that usually consists of shredded cabbage (Japanese must love this!), omellette and ham for breakfast, and
a shabu-shabu type meal for dinner each night. While I love this type of traditional meal a couple in my group did feel like a change after a few nights.

Souza and the staff will bend over backwards for you. Souza was absolutely amazing and made our stay as comfortable as possible and even wrote down a travel itinerary for our way to Kyoto.

Thanks Souza!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmacck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Thank you for choosing Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor, your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.
Now for the breakfast we offer a mini buffet and more options for dinner as noodles , curry , steak , etc

We would like to request the kindness of simple copy and paste your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site)So that the next guests will know about your experience with us.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba Group the next time you're in Hakuba-mura.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaustralia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Was our families first trip to the snow. Was a complete success. The accomodation was clean, food was very good, healthy and heaps of it, the staff were amazing: They were so helpful, accomodating and friendly. The package was very affordable and well worth it. Only 7 minutes walk to base of slopes or a bus service stops directly outside hotel. Theres a pub across the road and the baths were clean and hot. The only small issue was smoking inside. That could be confined to a certain area. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nat74Cairnsaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Thank you for choosing Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba Mark.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor, your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

We would like to request the kindness of simple copy and paste your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site)So that the next guests will know about your experience with us.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba Group the next time you're in Hakuba-mura.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montblanc Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montblanc Hakuba

Property: Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
Address: 22200-8 Kamishiro, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montblanc Hakuba 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba Manager Nice hotel,located well,very good prices,free parking,free internet wirelless,also notebook to rental,japanese&western style roons with b , young friendly employees ,portuguese & english talker,drier & lockers roons,collective bathtub,smal living.... Our restaurant offers a diverse menu set on a backdrop of the beautiful Hakuba. Our 'East meets West' menu is sure to delight even the pickiest eaters. Traditional Japanese & Modern Western dishes are made from the finest ingredients Japan has to offer such as Japanese rice, famous Nagano apples, vegetables and selected meats prepared by our Chef from overseas. A vegetarian menu is also available if required. An assortment of beverages are available including soft drinks; Japanese & International beers; Shochu (Japanese Sake); Hakuba's selected wines; Bathe in natural springwater bathtubs (from the Japanese Alps) after a day on the skifields to reinvigorate & relax. If you would like, you can even enjoy a more invigorating & scenic experience at the nearby Rotenburo Onsen. Discounted tickets are available for all our valued guests. Our Services Built in a traditional Japanese/Western style, our aim is to provide a hospitable & personal service to make your stay as comfortable as possible in Hakuba. The Services we offer include: Daily Serviced Rooms Wireless internet access and Internet kiosk with Ski-lift passes & Equipment hire all inclusive (Any information in regards to Ski Lessons, Rentals, Tours, Transfer to and from Hakuba Goryu by regular shuttle and Hotel transfers to other Hakuba resorts is very easily accessible). Business facilities: Air conditioning TV In-room heater Refrigerator (available in some rooms) Private Shower (available in most rooms) Wireless / WiFi internet access Japanese Onsen (i.e. "Bathtub") with facilities including hairdryer, shampoo, soap, toothbrush set; Mixed Menu (Western and Japanese) Vegetarian menu also available on request We can advise and help to book airport transfer to hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montblanc Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing