We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de St.Marute(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hakuba Park Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
Aqua Alpine Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Cook(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Phoenix Wing(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Bosco(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hotel Hakuba Goryu(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
109
51
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
51
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmont blancescal plazashuttle busolder guylift passesski resorthotel is in a great locationthese guysstaff for making our staybasic accommodationdiscounted ratea great stayski fieldstour bookingsski passbreakfast and dinnerthe staff are super friendly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 177 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our family of four stayed in a triple room (1 toddler) for six nights and highly recommend this hotel. By U.S. standards the rooms are basic and a little worn but have everything that you need, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast, included in our rate, was good -- not too much, not too little.

What makes this hotel stand out is the service. Everyone helped us resolve several travel issues that were unrelated to our hotel stay. In particularly, Souza, the manager, could be relied upon to be incredibly helpful no matter what the issue. He makes this hotel stand out above the others!

A few tips:
1. We only went skiing at Happoone, which is an easy 20-minute drive by car. (A taxi will cost about ¥2300 each way. Even if you don't have a car this is still probably less expensive than staying closer to this ski resort. (We went to Happo because of the Evergreen ski school. Other ski resorts are much closer.)
2. We only needed tire chains to get in/out of the hotel parking lot, which could have been avoided if we had snow tires. We had problems getting the chains on the tires and the hotel helped us out with this tedious task! So thankful.
3. There is a really nice indoor/outdoor onsen located a very short drive from the hotel, and the hotel provides a shuttle bus there upon request. However, if you have a car it's easy to get there on your own.
4. Hotel wifi worked well for our needs.
5. If you want to eat at the hotel for dinner, be sure to let them know in the morning.

Other issues:
1. In our room there was no storage space for clothes or any shelves. We survived, and it's hard to say where you'd put additional furniture anyway.
2. As other reviewers have noted, there is smoking in the hotel, particularly in a place near a stairway. For most of our trip the smoking was not an issue but on the last day or two there were either some heavy smokers or a large group and, of course, smoke travels. I'm fairly certain this would be the case at most hotels in Japan, but as non-smokers our biggest wish for this hotel would be to figure out a way to further isolate or eliminate smoking in the hotel. The problem wasn't so big that we wouldn't come back, however.

Again, great customer service that is hard to find anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulza, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Thank you very much for your review, your opinion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

From season 2014 we turn the hotel all non smoking .
Hope to host you here again!!

I would like to request the kindness of posting your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site) so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.

Regards
Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We highly recommend Mont Blanc at Hakuba for comfort, attentive service, and accessibility to Hakuba ski slopes. This place is a gem!!! A reasonably priced family run hotel in the traditional Japanese style (including hot baths) with all the modern conveniences to make for a truly comfortable and highly memorable stay. But what makes it stand out from all the rest is the service. Sakura San and his father along with Souiza attended to my family's every need during our stay, far exceeding our expectations. This included arranging discounted lift passes, providing transportation, and even assisting us with travel arrangements and translating itineraries. Moreover Hakuba was covered in snow while we were here making it totally enchanting. We look forward to returning. Patricia and family

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 123PatriciaP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thank you very much for your review , your opinion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.
Hope you come back !!
I would like to request the kindness of posting your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site) so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.

Regards
Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Sakura San and Soulza both very friendly and helpful. They give a very good discounted lift pass and very best price to stay. Even better if they can service tradition Japaness food. I will definetly stay here when I come to Hakuba again.
Daniel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielau128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you very much for your review , your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

I would like to request the kindness of posting this review also on BOOKING.COM so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.
We hope to host you again.
Regards
Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would recommend for anyone to stay here. The lodge is in a great location within walking distance of the slopes, or you can catch one of two shuttle buses which stop nearby. The rooms and food were great and the staff are really lovely and helpful with everything. Really a wonderful place and I can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you very much for your review Ellen , your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

I would like to request the kindness of posting this review also on BOOKING.COM so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.
We hope to host you again.
Regards
Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mont Blanc for our honeymoon. A short walk up to the lifts at Hakuba Goryu and straight across the road from a great little bar called Tracks. Souza the manager is a DJ from Brazil, he speaks perfect English and is incredibly helpful. We stayed at the Westin in Tokyo and we enjoyed the Mont Blanc far more due to the great atmosphere and awesome service. Would definitely recommend the Mont Blanc.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you very much for your review Michael , your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

I would like to request the kindness of posting this review also on BOOKING.COM so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.
We hope to host you again.
Regards
Souza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews