We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hakuba High Mount Hotel
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is my second visit to the High Mount in Hakuba and it's a great place to stay for any traveller. The staff are fluent in both Japanese and English making it very easy to find out where to eat and ski also other attractions available, they are friendly and a lot of fun. The Sakka chair at Happoone is pretty much at your doorstep and it's a easy ski home. The hotel has an onsen and that is fantastic after a day on the slopes to relax in. The hotel is right on the corner of all bus stops which run on a regular basis or there are restaurants and bars in walking distance. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inflight07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here in 2010 and recently returned in 2014. We really enjoyed our stay the first time and not much has changed. It's still very good despite a couple of minor issues. The onsen is sensational and a very welcome experience after a hard day on the slopes. The shuttle service to Sakka is also very efficient and convenient. Staff were great and very friendly. The rooms are small but this is Japan and the rooms were comfortable none the less. All 3 night buses stopped at the hotel so the service was even better then our first stay.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the top floor as they seem to be the bigger rooms that are displayed on the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went on a family skiing holiday to Hakuba in January 2012 and were very impressed with our stay at the Highmount Hotel . The service was outstanding , everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Being at the end of the bus run and a little way out of things is compensated by the services provided - shuttle bus to the lifts whenever you were ready , the coin to call the hotel whenever you had finished your day's skiing and ready for a lift back , transport to your chosen restaurant , we always chose somewhere on the night bus route home as there was 6 of us , but taxis are quite inexpensive if not going far .
Great buffet breakfast.
The most delightful onsen with wall to wall glass looking out over the forest .
I would highly recommend this hotel for a family ski holiday .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariononholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was my second stay at Highmount and very glad I did. Joe and his team excelled at making us feel welcome.
It is located at the high end of Wadano village, amongst the trees. It's about 1 km from Sakka lift but the hotel takes people down and will pick them up too. It also drops people into town at night time. We found a private road that allowed us to ski right back to the hotel.

It has it's own private Onsen, which is perfect to warm up and relax the muscles after a hard day on the mountain.

The rooms are typical of Japan - small with a small bathroom, but more than comfortable. We actually got a larger room than my previous visit with a useable sitting room.

The staff are very friendly and really made us feel at home. They even all came out to wave us goodbye when our holiday came to an end. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 404 and 505 are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieT8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The team who run the High Mount are the friendliest group of people I have ever encounted in a ski resort. They never stopped helping us and always witha smile. We haven't skiied in Japan before but they helped us with tips and suggestions on everything from ski runs to eating out to shopping and even helped with money exchange when Mastercard was a no go in Habuka. The hotel was clean and well run, other guests were terrific .....we did not want to leave. If we went back we would definitely rebook.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent place to stay. A true family run hotel who were more than helpful, attentive and always went beyond what we expected to ensure we were completely happy. The staff were excellent and offered assistance after I was slightly injured on the slopes. The food was lovely, the rooms were comfortable and the views were breathtaking. The snow season is truly an awesome time to visit incorporating your stay here

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I must say for a first timer in Hakuba, the staff at Highmount Hotel really made our stay a great experience.Both Steve and I stayed at the Highmount for 8 days in mid Feb 2013 and I would highly recommend taking the early bird special with JTB travel. Jo, Saki, Hitoshi worked tirelessly running everyone around in the shuttle buses and were there at hand to help us with anything we needed around town and local services. The rooms are small but tidy ( we stayed level 3) so reasonably quiet.Having an onsen on site at the hotel was great after a long day skiing.

So thank you for a wonderful time. It was really lovely to have good service and hospitality which I feel is a trademark of this lovely little country town.

Highmount is alittle out of the way from town but if you want to get away from it all and look out at the slopes and trees and watch the sunrise in the morning, I would highly recommend to anyone coming to Hakuba to give Highmount a go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 707SueY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
224 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Double Black Hotel
#11 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Wadano Forest Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba High Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba High Mount Hotel

Property: Hakuba High Mount Hotel
Address: Wadanomori, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba High Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hakuba High Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing