We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hakuba - Awesome Echo Hotel”
Review of Hakuba Echo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hakuba - Awesome Echo Hotel”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and three teenage boys went to Hakuba and arrived at 0200hrs on the 22nd December 2012 - after being picked up at Narita Airport, Tokyo and driven the nearly 6 hour drive. The Mini van that picked us up was warm and very comfortable. The driver was lovely, courteous and accommodating when needing toilet stops. Tina at Snowbeds had organised this service and we will use it again in December this year when we go back. We had the kitchenette/2 bedroom suite on the first floor and cannot complain about anything. The staff, especially Ali were wonderful and we missed them very much when we went onto Toyko for another 6 days. We are in the process or organising flights and accommodation at the moment for another 15 days at the Echo Hotel in December 2013/January 2014., we loved the village atmosphere of Hakuba and the genuine kindness of everyone we met on our trip. Echo Hotel will become our home base for many years of skiing, we loved it. Roll on Christmas!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Supernurse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our family of five, and a friend stayed at the Echo Hotel in January this year. We loved the hotel - the staff were fantastic, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and the location wonderful as we were able to walk to a different restaurant every evening. The shuttle stopped just across the road so we were able to get to and from the slopes very easily. We stayed in a 2 bedroom kitchenette suite, and our daughter and friend shared a twin room. Although the bathrooms were small, the bedrooms were spacious and the wardrobes great. We loved the downstairs bar area during the evenings, and really appreciated the cooked breakfast every morning. The laundry was very convenient – important when travelling with a family! A special thankyou to Steve for waiting up for us until 3.30 am the first morning, and to all of the staff for their wonderful service. Booking through Tina and Snowbeds was incredibly easy, and the machine generated automatic quotes made planning the holiday and comparing accommodation rates simple. We loved the holiday so much we have booked a condo for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted_B255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Four of us stayed in a condo at Echo Hotel for nine nights. We originally booked a seven night/ six day ski package but loved it so much we stayed on for a couple more days. The condo was fantastic, especially for the package price we got and was very easy to book through Tina at snowbeds travel. Echo hotel is in a great location - surrounded by restaurants and bars and the ski shuttle bus just over the road. Pool table and lounge upstairs were great for relaxing and meeting people although we hardly wanted to leave our comfy condo! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harpers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for one week in February 2013 with a group of friends, having organised the trip through Snowbeds Japan. Throughout the entire stay the staff were extremely accommodating, and when available, helped with local area transport, taxis, restaurant recommendations, and organising sightseeing. Easily the friendliest staff of any hotel I've experienced.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, with TV and Hulu (selected movies/tv shows/youtube free on demand).

There was a daily western breakfast (eggs, sausages, baked beans, as well as cereal & toast), and large common area on the top floor, as well as a small bar on the ground floor with reasonably priced drinks, however at the time we were there it was usually very quiet.

It's about a 25 minute walk to the Happo-One ski area, and the shuttle to all the ski areas leaves from right across the road. Plenty of restaurants and bars literally across the street, or within a short walk.

Highly recommended; I would definitely consider coming back here on my next trip to Japan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_M_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my third time at Hakuba but my first at Echo Hotel. I took 5 friends with me and we stayed in one of the condo's at Echo Hotel. The staff were welcoming and genuinely nice and very helpful. The hotel and condo is really nice and great value for money. It's very easy to book from Australia and it's so much easier having all lift passes and ski gear rental organised by this team prior to arriving at no extra cost. The only issue was that they couldn't keep up with our red wine and scotch consumption :)

Thanks Echo Hotel, we'll all be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just recently stayed for a skiing break over Chinese New Year at the Echo Hotel. We really enjoyed it. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Great service: I forgot some very important documents in the room and they directly mailed them to me. This does not happen every day.

Otherwise, the deluxe rooms are very spacious and clean. The Western breakfast was good.
All in all, it was a beautiful holiday and we would go back to the Echo Hotel any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GStarxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the echo hotel for a week in December, just as the season started. We arrived at midnight and were greeted on arrival by Ali and told we were upgraded to a condo.
The staff were really nice and helpful, the condo itself was so great only thing was the pool table above us at night time. You could hear every ball.
I would absolutely stay at echo again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, General Manager at Hakuba Echo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Hi Kelly A, Thank you for staying with us in Feb 2013 which was our first season running Echo Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade to a condo for your stay. We note your comments on the pool table and you will be glad to know that we had the carpet replaced prior to the 2014 season with thick underlay sounding proofing any noise heard from the pool table. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
224 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#16 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Double Black Hotel
#11 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
119 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Echo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Echo Hotel

Property: Hakuba Echo Hotel
Address: 3020-503 Oaza-hokujo,, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Echo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular hotel comprises two bedroom kitchenette suites, two bedroom family suites, deluxe twin/king rooms, twin queen rooms, compact twin/queen rooms and luxury two, three, four and five bedroom condominiums. All room types come with ensuites and mountain or tree views. The top floor lounge has stunning views of the mountains including the Olympic Ski Jump and has a pool table, lounge area and large flat screen TV. There is a second lounge with cozy fireplace and a bar at street level as well as a laundrette which is open to the public. Echo Hotel is one of Hakuba's best value for money establishments with its excellent location, spotless rooms and friendly staff. Echoland, the area it sits in the heart of, is surrounded by restaurants, shops and bars. This area known as "the village" is where most of the independent restaurants are and has a large selection of international cuisine. If you are not wanting to dine in hotel restaurants then you will more than likely come into this area at night if staying in any other area. Located in the main street this hotel is only a five minute free shuttle to Happo One or 47/Goryu Resorts. The free resort shuttle stop is right opposite the hotel and walking to either of these resorts takes 10~15mins. The hotel also offers its own morning shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten and Agoda so you can book your Hakuba Echo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing