We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT AND WILL RETURN!”
Review of Aria Hotel

Aria Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aria Hotel
Ranked #95 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed a 5 day stay at the aria hotel in January 2014. The hotel itself is comfortable, excellently located just a short walk to one of the happo one ski lifts, and has excellent staff with fantastic customer service and attention to detail. The rooms are spacious, and whilst simply furnished, give a Japanese feel to your stay with futon like beds, wooden set showers, and large cardboard space.

We found the hostess to be particularly helpful in ferrying us around, booking the snow monkey tour for us, and general enquiries.

The hotel is located next to the happo information centre located within the rhythm rental shop which made catching the night bus easy to dinner, and transferring to other ski runs and for tours very simple.

We would stay again, and again... and will be back! Arigato Aria!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcpaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Aria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Aria hotel is a great little family run hotel right in the center of Wadano. We decided to make our own way from Tokyo to Hakuba, where we were promptly picked up from the Information center and taken to the hotel. I cannot say enough nice things about Wakako, who seems to be the face of the Aria hotel. She was always available to book taxi's for our group, make restaurant reservations or recommend things to see and do around the area.

Location of the hotel is perfect, directly beside the Tourist centre of the Monomoki Hotel - where most of the shuttle buses leave from to each of the mountains. There is also a great ski/board hire shop located in the tourist centre that is really flexible with its rentals (ie. switching ski to board etc). The hotel is also surrounded by lots of great places to eat that are really reasonably priced.

The rooms in the Aria are definately not Four Seasons standard - you don't stay at the Aria for it's luxury. They offer both Japanese and Western style rooms, which are all twin share. We stayed in a Western style room and it was comfortable (but not huge). It offered 2 single beds and a sofa which inevitably ended up as a dumping ground for all our clothes/gear/handbags (2 girls,what can I say). The bathroom was small, with a shower over a bath. There is no hairdryer in the room, but Wakako has a couple at Reception that you can borrow. There is no free WIFI in the room, but there is a softbank router that you can pay for internet access. BUT...

there is Free WIFI in the communal living area of the hotel. This meant that it was a bit of a hub for all the guests to chill out at the end of the day with a beer while uploading awesome pics of the snow onto Facebook to make all friends at home jealous. We met SO many cool people that we ended up hanging out with for the whole 2 weeks. They have a Fuseball table, a TV (with plenty of English movies) and a play station, plus a couple of PCs. Lots of good times and fond memories were founded in that lounge area! The hotel also has its own his/hers Onsen, which was nice to hang out in after a day of hard riding if getting naked with strangers is your thing.

Lastly, the daily breakfast was awesome. Lots of variety - cereal, toast (with Vegemite!), eggs anyway, cheese, bacon, juice, tea, coffee - you will not hit the slopes hungry.

Seriously, you can't really go wrong with this hotel (unless you're a real Princess - then you can pay a fortune to stay at the Tokyo hotel down the road!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank onthego83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The aria is a great hotel that offers exceptional service, very friendly staff, great food and great location. I had the holiday of my life here , skiing at Hakuba. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning a holiday in hakuba.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiingaustralian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel was amazing. We were picked up from the transit centre and driven to the hotel where they helped us with out bags. The staff were very friendly and helped my friend who had her luggage lost by jet star organise for it to be couriered up to the hotel. They assisted with all kinds of tours and lift passes. Breakfast was amazing, every single day it was consistently great! It was such a home and family feeling hotel which welcomed everyone. Would definately stay again on our next snow trip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Starting from the minute we were met at Hakuba train station until we were dropped off at the end of our holiday, everything regarding our stay at the Aria was outstanding. The western style breakfast each morning was freshly prepared and brought to our table within 5 minutes of sitting down and was a different menu every morning. Individual food requirements were happily catered for - one of our friends has coeliacs and they made sure he was well looked after. The banquet dinner was a feast to be seen and included 5 courses - all for 1500yen per person. Again, a different menu was offered every evening and each one was mouth watering!!!!

Those wanting to cook their own food were also catered for. A communal kitchen with fridge, gas burner, cutlery and crockery was available. A range of noodle and easy to prepare meals were available from the front service desk area. The visitors centre next door was also very well stocked with everything needed to eat and drink self sufficiently.

Our rooms were clean, warm, comfortable and totally suitable for a holiday that involved being out all day enjoying the snow, not hiding in a hotel resort. The communal drying room was conveniently located at the front of the hotel, giving easy access at the beginning and end of each day. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk (maximum, with ski boots on) from the Sakka lifts and conveniently located next to the information centre which is the pick up point for tours and the local bus shuttle service.

Single gender onsen's were very popular and the water almost too warm - great for tired muscles at the end of a hard day skiing.

Our hosts were the most polite, friendly and accommodating people. We could not have asked for better service. Both speak a mixture of English and Japanese. They happily assisted in booking tours for us, organised lift passes and were always around to help out with minor things when they popped up.

There is a communal lounge area near the foyer of the hotel which we made great use of. There are a variety of non and alcoholic drinks and snacks to enjoy as well as computers with good internet access and a TV to enjoy local japanese entertainment!! The smokers room/area is located off the communal lounge but far enough away to keep all the smoke odours well away from the non smokers.

There is a communal washing machine and dryer. Both are very easy to understand how to use and work really well.

If you are seeking accommodation in Hakuba that might not necessarily be 5 star but will definitely offer amazing food, a comfortable bed, warm, and clean throughout as well as being conveniently located, then the ARIA is the place to stay.

Room Tip: we had a western style room, so can only comment on those
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

if you are on the look out for a conformable, clean and reasonably priced hotel, which is a little out of the way but close enough to be convenient this is for you. Our hotel manager and host Mr Lee was amazing nothing was too much trouble with some great tips for many local attractions nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trav7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

If you are looking for an affordable budget hotel in Hakuba you've found it. This hotel that is run by the friendliest staff has traditional and western rooms ( I reccomend traditional) that are clean and of good standard. there are so many Onsens (public baths) around, the bathroom sharing won't bother you as you have your own toilet. You can chat with the staff, have a drink at the little bar downstairs (which opened when I was there) or slip next door to the aussie pub or short walk to lifts, next door to information centre and shops. free shuttle bus around hakuba stops outside information centre. well worth a stay. it's not the hilton, but for the snow, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiskeyHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel La Neige
#24 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
54 reviews
Wadano Forest Hotel
#5 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kuraya
#28 of 367 in Hakuba-mura
37 reviews
Gakuto Villas
#8 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
101 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Luna Hotel
Hakuba Luna Hotel
#18 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel

Address: 4687-1 Wadano Happo Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Aria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing