We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Penke Panke Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penke Panke Lodge
Ranked #2 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Full English speaking lodge, good facilities and vibe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
36
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed at Penke Panke Lodge in January 2012. Having been to Hakuba before, we wanted to stay in the wadano area to be close to the slopes. Penke is absolutely perfect for this- end of the drive and cross the road and you have the sakka quad from which you can go up and get to the gondola easily if required. The lodge was absolutely wonderful, and included a generous breakfast every day of a hot dish,toast, cereal, juice, hot drinks.

We (a couple) stayed in the double with en-suite room, while 4 of our party stayed in the large Japanese tatami matt room. The double room was much nicer than we had been anticipating from a lodge, with a huge, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, good heating and was complimented by the additional touch of guidemaps, and Penke stickers and chopsticks.

Justin was incredibly helpful in offering lifts when we needed, to the bus station, train station and doctors, and we were never at loss for help or advice.

What really made the lodge was the additional, unexpected features that were on offer, such as the use of laptops, free wifi, good lounge with tv, free trips to onsens, laid back but incredibly helpful attitude of the staff, hairdryers in the communal bathrooms, and the Penke Bar next door - which is popular with locals and very reasonably priced.

The Lodge is within walking distance of some good restaurants and The Pub, and with the shuttle stop outside the front , it was easy to get to other resorts, ie Goryu or to the station for Cortina, and easy to get to / from Echoland.

Overall, great for a group or couple. Really relaxed, with a small but good bar next door!

Room Tip: If I were going back as a group I would definitely consider the Tatami matt room. As a couple having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great staff, facilities and service. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My family has stayed for 3 years in a row at Penke Panke and have booked for a 4th. The atmosphere is is infectious, the bar the most happening place to be, the accommodation homey, and above all the young energetic team of staff, led by Justin, exactly what you need to make the perfect ski holiday. It's a place where young singles, couples, families and seniors can all feel at home.

However, be warned that when your holiday is over and you go back to your everyday life it might be a bit of a let down after staying here!

Room Tip: Just email Justin to discuss your room needs. He'll match the room to your circumstances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a few days in December 2011/ Jan 2012. The staff and the owner are fantastic ! The team at Penke Panke do a lot for the guests; not only pick up and drop offs but help with unbaised tour and ski information. The breakfasts are great and more than enough to get you going for the day. The room was clean and very spacious for a couple (we stayed in a family room which had one double plus 2 single bunk beds). The bathroom was pretty tiny however we were prepared for this from our research into Japan accommodation. There was free wifi which were are able to pick up on our phones and laptop however we had a few issues connecting via our ipad. We would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the family sized room upstairs and in the back of the lodge - a beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at Penke Panke for a week in January. More comfortable than a backpackers and more friendly and personalised services than a hotel. The location is outstanding, less than 100m from the bottom of Happo One, Sakka area, which I have to say was one of the best beginners areas I have ever seen in all my time skiing due to its size, accessibility and slope pitch (and I did a small stint ski instructing). But obviously it also allows access to the area’s largest ski resort and all the challenges that brings. Of course buses to other resorts (Iwatake, Hakuba 47) stop a very short walk from the door and we were lucky to get a seat on the bus Penke runs to Cortina Resort on a powder day which blew my mind. The onsen at Monominko hotel 800m down the road was a 15min walk or 2 bus stops away. We went there every night rather than showering at Penke and it was beautiful, a bit posh and so relaxing – all for $12 with towel! There are a range of restaurants nearby that were as good as any in the other areas of Hakuba. We did venture to the other areas of Hakuba and have to say the Wando no mori area where Penke is located has the best of everything to be found anywhere else.

As other reviews report, the staff at Penke cater to guests every need and drive a van to the ATM, supermarket and onsens every night. Justin, the manager seems to have inexhaustible patience for guests’ questions and provides excellent local knowledge. He even arranged for us to freight our skis to Narita airport to save us lugging them around Tokyo.

Finally, there is also the Penke Panke bar next door which apparently pulls quite a crowd. To be honest we were fast asleep after skiing all day in our very comfortable bed and clean room by 10pm every night. We didn’t hear much noise from the bar at all, but it was there if you wanted your après to kick on.

A great place for families, couples and singles- I’d definitely recommend Penke Panke for a very friendly, well serviced, comfortable and good priced place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

A great lodge, great shared facilities and very friendly, but what really sets it apart are the staff. Nothing was any trouble, and Justin especially offered help and answered questions with infinite patience. The trip started very badly due to airline & the fact my friend had to return home on the 1st day, but Penke Panke and Justin really helped turn it around into a great trip (which I never would have thought possible after the first day problems). The singer at the Penke Bar is also awesome, if you like good acoustic guitar and singing go and check her out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Villa Hakuba
Hotel Villa Hakuba
#1 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
75 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penke Panke Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penke Panke Lodge

Property: Penke Panke Lodge
Address: 4836 Hokujo | Happo Wadanomori, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten and HostelWorld so you can book your Penke Panke Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing