We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good value for money.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at hakuba highland hotel for my 5 days ski trip. Pros: very friendly staff, excellent service, onsen with a panorama/arguably best view of the Japanese alps, buffets breakfast and dinners. Cons: room is slightly old (although they are kept very cleaned); location is rather (not an issue if you are only there to ski as there are daily shuttle buses to the various ski resorts. However, you would need a cab if you intend to look for some nightlife. Genki go bus doesn't pass by hakuba highland). Overall, this hotel is very good valued for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Tips:
For equipment rental, you would do better trying central snowsport besides happo gondola than to use the rainbow rental besides the hotel. For approximately the same price, you get far better equipment at the former.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thoramex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    78
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
35
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

For the price paid this was good value. had it been more expensive the review wouldn't be as positive. The negatives:

- Buffet items during dinner were cold (there are better ways to keep hot food hot at buffets)
- Buffet items for breakfast were obvious items used for dinner the night before.
- Smoking room on the way from the lobby to the elevators has doors wide open, I think it would make more sense to close the doors.
- Hallways, room, hotel in general looks late 80's/early 90's style and there are definite signs of wear and tear.

Positives:

- Great views!
- Nice onsen to relax in
- Friendly staff!
- Good value (which helps to offset the negatives mentioned).

Overall Hakuba was a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'm not giving this 5 stars for luxury but for overall GREAT experience. Nothing negative to say about my stay... VERY friendly and helpful staff. Quick taxi ride to train and bus station, easy shuttle to Hakuba-One and other mountains, excellent breakfast and plenty of it, wonderful views from the dining room, ski rental shop across the way, and -oh yes- the onsen!! This was the nicest onsen (hot spring) that I visited during my stay in Japan. You are encouraged to wear your guest slippers and robe around the hotel, which felt very welcoming. The hotel had a lot of Japanese visitors with a few ex-pats, which was also very nice. I really felt like I was visiting Japan.

Room Tip: Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I had a large room to myself, very clean. Food was good and plenty of it, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The views from dining room were spectacular. Enjoyed the outdoor hot springs with mountain views.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairlightfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I visited Hakuba in summer, which is off-season to this ski resort town (and an Olympic site).
Hotel is overall fine for people who do not look for luxury, except:
- we were not allowed to check in 30 minutes before 3pm though there are no many guests this season, and there were probably ready rooms.
- There are no "non-smoking rooms", so there is this constant smell in the rooms
- Breakfast is reasonable but nothing to write home about. Bread is a bit old, fruits are mainly preserved fruits, and so on.
- rooms are not isolated enough. I could hear the ladies next door chatting at 5am

There is hotspring downstairs, which is nice. Landscape is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuval_adler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#19 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Highland Hotel

Property: Hakuba Highland Hotel
Address: 21582 Hokujo | Himekawa Onsen, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hakuba Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing