We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Hakuba Hifumi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hakuba Hifumi
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We are very fussy travellers in terms of food, service and accommodation and we rate the Hifumi as a 9.5 out of 10. Wonderful, warm and genuine service. Great location, lovely facilities, totally clean and the food is wonderful. The rooms are full of thoughtful details and I just cannot say enough about how great the staff are. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. Rate of “9.5 out of 10” is a big gift to us! And booking for the next year is more than enough. Thank you very much. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This place is brilliant. Wonderful, huge, well-appointed Japanese style rooms, delicious food, perfect location. Would love to return some day. The natural hot spring onsen on the enclosed open-air balcony was awesome.

The service was simply outstanding. Heavy snowfalls on arrival meant the last leg of the train trip was cancelled, but they didn't hesitate to come pick us up in the mini-bus. The staff are super friendly and helpful and go out of their way to assist you. Big thanks to Tomohiko-san and his wonderful team. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonMcSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. Glad to hear that you liked our hotel very much, as we are always trying our best for guests’ comfortable stay. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Review background: A review is subjective and depends upon the experiences of the writer. This is my first time in Japan, but i have travelled for a cumulative period of over 2 years around Asia ranging from $10US a day backpacking for 6 months to $1000US a day spa hotels. I am 29 and from the UK. I am fussy and have high standards but not so spoiled or pretentious that I’d complain about not having my bags carried to my room, or a missing chocolate on my pillow at night!

Hotel: The hotel is an excellent standard where it counts. The décor is beautiful, the service excellent, the food incredible and with a good location.

Rooms: The décor is Japanese with western luxuries, the rooms are really very impressive and amongst the largest I’ve experiences for this price range. I stayed in a Fuki room and would recommend this as it is the largest room category, with 2 lounge areas (one Japanese and one Western) and a private onsen (hot tub) on the balcony. If you can ask for a room on the 3rd floor, as this has the best views and room 301 appears to be the best.

Onsen: The hotel’s public onsen are also great, there is a male and female onsen (as you wash naked) and a ‘bookable’ onsen that is easily reserved to enable you to privately share it with your partner or family. The beautiful hotel décor hasn’t made it to the onsen though! They appear to be considered practical spaces by the Japanese and not ‘spas’, so don’t expect a limestone clad spa with orchids and panpipes!

Restaurant: They provide excellent Japanese food. There is a choice of Japanese or western breakfasts (choose the Japanese as, as is generally the case in Asia, they can’t really do western breakfasts). The coffee is excellent. They push the dinner at the hotel hard and we resisted for the first 3 days, but then relented. I am so glad that we did as it was our best meal in Japan! For 3000Y we got more food than we could eat, including steamed crab and scollops.

Negatives: There are few negatives about the hotel as it does everything that you want it to. The TV’s in the room only show Japanese TV, there appears to be no music system and our room smelt a bit of cigarettes. But they balance this out by providing tea and coffee in a lovely set, a free minibar (including beer!), baskets of fresh kimonos and wash bags daily etc. The hotel décor is great, but it appears that the designer didn’t make it to some areas of the hotel, but this will only worry the most ardent of hotel critics. The service is first class and can only be described as very personal, but the trade off for such great service is that occasionally reception will be empty! I can not vouch for this, but I’m pretty sure that this is the best hotel in Hakuba by quite some margin.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieAshwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. Thank you very much for your proper comments in detail and it must be very useful for other users to understand our hotel both positively and negatively. We’d like to make use of your precious comments to improve our hotel much better. Also we are happy that you liked Fuki room. Our new room Nagomi, which is larger than Fuki, is also recommended. It has music (CD/IPod) and DVD players, by the way. Please come and stay with us again. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed 10 nights. We wanted a Japanese experience and we got it in spades. We opted for a standard room with Japanese breakfast and were not disappointed in either, tho sleeping on a futon took a night or two for a 58 yr old bod to get used to. All the staff were a delight; the breakfasts were beautifully presented and substantial for a days skiing; the onsens were very much appreciated; and we had two evening meals which were sensational. Even the "casual" priced meal was a big eat! We were picked up, dropped off and generally spoilt rotten. My wife was given two pairs of beautiful chopsticks by Tomohiko's mother which was totally unexpected. This place was wonderful experience and we would stay again without hesitation.
Nightlife and shopping are limited tho there are some really good places to eat eg Emu in Hakuba and Kihachi in Happo plus Hakuba Sanroku Takoyaki Goten also in Happo. Maeda in Happo was also good food with the advantage of being non-smoking. One of the few.
Also the skiing was sensational!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your precious comments on our hotel. We are very happy that you liked our food, onsen, and almost everything we present. We also had a good time with you. Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed for 6N on a snow trip so this review is biased towards snow.
Stayed in a Japanese room which was sparce but roomy and warm. During the day it consisted if a table and two floor chairs, at night when you ate dinner, staff would come into your room and roll out your bed for the night. Reversed in the morning.
If you choose a Japanese room, you sleep on Japanese Futon. It took a day or two to get used to it, but comfy.
Breakfast was excellent.
Staff brilliant and would do anything for you and nothing was too much trouble from booking your dinner/tours etc to local advice.
Hotel ski facilities consisted of a huge drying room, free washing machine, free internet (computer) lockable ski/board facilities, maps and walking distance to lifts in the Happo area as well as the local restaurants. On site Free ONSEN for males/females and couples and well worth using after a day on the slopes.
ADVICE:
** Take a few coathangers.
** Buy drinks from the vending machines (120YEN) and take to room.
** All restaurants we went to were good .
WORST FOOD : Uncle Stevens (Mexcian) food was awful, dripping with oil and expensive. Service was quick and friendly though.
BEST FOOD: EMU and NON JAYS - require a short bus trip, but well worth it.
** In all restaurants expect to be ripped off for softdrinks (350-400YEN) but food always brilliant. Step outside and machine will charge 120YEN..
** TAXIS are expensive (700YEN flagfall) 1100YEN to travel ~3km.
** Use the local free shuttle busses to other ski areas.
** Use the night busses to get between towns (180-190YENpp/one way)
** Don't expect a busy and vibrant nightlife. There isn't one and it was a pleasant experience not to have yobbos and drunks yelling at all hours of the morning.
** Hakuba area is a brilliant little town.
** In winter it is cold...very cold. Tops of 2-3C lows of down to -5C and windchill temps of -14C on the hills. Spend a bit of money on higher end ski undergarments and you will have a pleasant experience.
** Ski fields are empty during the week and busy on the weekends, lifts and ski runs excellent.
** Not many locals speak englist so brush up on your sign language. If you can nod and smile, tell the difference between red, green and blue , point and read numbers, you will be fine.
** The Japanese I encountered were the nicesest, cutest, most respectful and genuine people I have met.
IF YOU GO TO HAKUBA - YOU WILL HAVE A BALL.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank btandrmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We are happy to hear that you liked our Japanese-style room and bed makings. It must have been a different sort of experience in a different culture. Thank you for your further comments explaining about our food, staff, facilities, onsen, and service. Your advice on Hakuba area must be helpful as well. We hope that more and more people will get interested not only in Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, but also in Hakuba village we are proud of.

Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at the Hakuba Hifumi for 2 nights. From the start the experience we had with this hotel was perfect. Upon submission of our reservation request the hotel sent through a detailed email with the features of their hotel, how to get there and what to expect.

Once arriving in Hakuba by train, we went to the Information counter of the train station. The lady behind the counter called the hotel to come and collect us. Although we had not arranged this with the hotel prior, they were there in 10 minutes without any complaints (quite the reverse, some of the loveliest people I have ever met).

The hotel itself is very clean and the nicest thing about it is how hospitable the owners are. We felt like we were spoilt guests at someone's house. Nothing was too much for the owners, from calling us down to breakfast, driving us to the ski shop to get our gear, driving us to the ski fields, driving us to dinner, arranging for our hired ski gear to be returned, recommending and booking restaurants for us and even offering us use of their onsens after our last day of skiing even though we had checked out so that we could bathe before our train-trip out.

Upon check-out the lady who was a part of the family who owned the hotel presented us with 3 apples to eat on our train trip out of Hakuba as well as a box of sweets; completely unnecessary and an indication of how goodhearted the owners are.

The Hakuba Hifumi went over and beyond our expectations and I don't know how to thank them enough for making our experince there so wonderful - hopefully this review helps.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoymehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
What wonderful words you gave us! Your pleasure is our pleasure. We are happy to know that you felt like you were spoilt guests at someone’s house, and that you liked it actually. Thank you very much for your precious comments. We will make a continuous effort not to betray words of the praise.

Thank you very much for your stay. It was really nice to see you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

After staying in two typical Tokyo western-style hotels, this hotel was even more of a treat.

We stayed 3 nights in a regular Japanese-style room, which is a minimalist room with tatami mats on the floor and a small table for tea. They (quite literally) make your bed every evening using futon-like pads directly on the floor. You get traditional robes to wear to the on-site onsen and around the tea room and dining room and slippers that you wear around the hotel, but leave at the entrance to your room (and of course, separate bathroom slippers).

We had breakfast included, which was convenient, but was pretty similar all three days (we tried both the Japanese and Western-style breakfasts). I would get breakfast again if going skiing, since it would take some investigation to find a breakfast place.

The service is great-- friendly and they have a couple of helpful English-speaking employees. They picked us up from the JR station, which otherwise is about a 20 minute brisk walk (not recommended if you have luggage). This is different from the bus station, which is about a 3 minute walk, but with snow/ice can still be a pain to walk if you have luggage.

The critiques I have are really of the Hakuba area, not the hotel. First, we tried to go out for apres-ski fun two nights-- one to Echoland and one to the Wadone area, which is past the gondola and up a hill with quite a few eateries-- and both times it was a bit hard to get around. The town shuttles are expensive (300Y per person per ride) and so are taxis. Echoland is really far from the hotel to walk at night without a good map (which we couldn't find). When we finally gave in and paid a taxi, we found that Echoland was empty! It was a Tuesday night, yes, but really it was EMPTY.

When we tried to go to Wadone for food, it was mid-afternoon (2 ish) and everything was closed until 5-6, so you will go hungry if you don't get lunch at noon. It seemed like there were really more apres-ski places in the Wadone area (like the Pub) so it would have been nice to stay a little closer to that area, but it is only about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, which we even did at night.

If you don't mind paying quite a bit for rides or walking A LOT, then it's actually quite fun exploring. But be prepared to get lost a bit if you don't have a good map. The brochure/map with the eateries and services that we got from the hotel was good at a general level, but the map not detailed enough. And beware, some of the advertised specials in that brochure may not be honored (like happy hour at Roots Cafe).

Overall, great experience and would stay again, but would also like to try somewhere in Wadone, closer to the apres-ski action.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotLostWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

We appreciate it you explained precisely and kindly for others to understand our hotel in Hakuba. We take your critiques, on our breakfast and apres-ski in Hakuba area, seriously to improve our service to satisfy customers’ need. Thank you very much for pointing them out. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and Japanese style in our hotel, and had a great experience in Hakuba anyway.

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Hifumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Hifumi

Property: Hakuba Hifumi
Address: 4998 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#3 Onsen Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#4 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakuba Hifumi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hakuba Hifumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuba Hifumi Hotel Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing