We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$146
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Biei Guest House Shirogane no Yu(Biei-cho)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
$196
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Kunst Haus(Biei-cho)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Coro Coro(Biei-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
47
30
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
30
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate onsenryokanpolitelyyukataspringhokkaidodinnerbiei
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 88 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2017

From the time we parked our car, to our checkout, there was not a time we did not enjoy ourselves. Food was INCREDIBLE, served course by course, with a personalized menu too. Rooms were big and clean, and very private. Not to mention there are only 17 rooms in the whole hotel, so staff actually remember you and the room you are in.

Everything is provided for; yukata, pyjamas, socks, slippers, food...there is nothing you can want. This encouraged us to feel like the place was our home. A special mention to the lady who served us during dinner on our first night: We casually mentioned our intention to have a pre-wedding photoshoot the following day. She must have told the front desk because the next day at dinner, we found a printed A3 sized paper, congratulating us. It was a very pleasant surprise!

Service was top notch, attentive and caring at all times. We could not have felt more taken care of during our stay.

One note for travelers: Access was easy for us as we were driving. We recommend driving if you are staying here as it may be difficult to access this place without a car.

This was by far our best accommodation during our 16-day Hokkaido journey. There is nothing I can say that will justify our experience at Mori No Ryotei. We really hope to be back.

Thank you for the very fond memories, Mori No Ryotei.

Daniel & Cheryl

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cherylgohsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016

This Ryokan (Mori no Ryotei Biei) was a highlight of our ten days in Hokkaido. The early snow which had left a mantle of white over the area did nothing to detract from the atmosphere. Staff were assisting with parking and unloading and carrying in bags instantly, without prompting, on arrival.The rooms here are extremely comfortable and the cakes and tea on check in which is done after you are seated and comfortable was a lovely welcome. The onsen was lovely and sitting in the hot spring with snow falling was wonderful. Dinner was done as a degustation and was a splendid showcase of local cuisine and the chef's skills. Breakfast was just as good and the previous review which whines about the absence of coffee and eggs is a testament to the reviewers ignorance and stupidity rather than any failure of the staff here. There seems little point in travelling in Japan if you cannot develop an appreciation of the differences in diet and cuisine and I have always found that no matter how much I eat while travelling in this country I go home lighter and healthier than when I arrived. The wonderful thing about Japan is that while they have had to accommodate McDonalds, Gloria Jeans, Subway and the other bastions of Western swill there is a food culture that revolves around traditional and uncompromising cuisine which ranks with the greatest in the world. Don't miss staying here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank GraftonRiverguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

We stayed in this ryokan (森の旅亭 びえい) for one night in early December of 2015. The overall experience was way beyond my expectation. In particular, I found the owner of the ryokan was particularly friendly. For the two of us, chinese guys from Hong Kong, who did not speak a word of Japanese, she had served and explained what every dish of 11-courses meal (included) were in English. We did not have any problem communicating with the staff neither, most of them knew enough English to understand us, but at time they may have difficulty to answer back in English. That is totally ok, and we got by just fine.

The interior of the ryokan was spotless and really beautiful. We had a room with an in-room onsen. In December, Hokkaido was cold, the in-room onsen was actually in the balcony in the back side of the room, just outside of the shower room. I must admit it felt really good soaking in your own private onsen, it can be quite romantic if you are going with a lover. I was only going with my bestie, the private onsen was not really needed, but it was a nice to have. We did try the public onsen room (males and females are separated) as well. There included 3-4 indoor onsen pools, and one outdoor ones. If you are only going alone or with just friends and you are not particular shy, to be honest, a regular room without an in-room onsen are probably sufficient. The public onsen room were very nice in fact.

Two meals are included. This ryokan is slightly bigger than the ryokan I stayed in Miyajima before, but it is not humongous neither. Anyway, they do have a restaurant section where we had the evening meal and breakfast. The evening meal was a 11-course. Oh my god, each dish were so delicate, so much that you don't even want to touch it. They were very petite, I worried that we might get hungry actually, but in the end, they were sufficient for you. And they are really delicious! The breakfast was very also big.

Nearby, there are two amazing sites you must visit: (1) Shirahige Waterfall and (2) Blue Pond. In winter, the pond was frozen and covered by snow. But it is a different of beauty. The waterfall was just a surprise for me. I would love to come back to this area in the spring when the snow melted.

I totally recommend this place and will definitely stay there again when I visit Hokkaido and that region!

Room Tip: If traveling with your lover, pick a room with in-room onsen. Pick the 11-course meal, the whole experience is totally worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

Let me start by stating that the interiors of this hotel are really nice. Everything is very Japanese with lots of wood and tasteful coordinated textiles. Rooms are spacious and warm with a hot spring bath tup made out of wood, placed directly on your private veranda. The "Futon" (bed) is soft and provides a good sleep quality. So what's wrong? As usual the breakfast, in case you're one of those who are not really fond of "washoku" in the morning. I need coffee and western food for breakfast and thought it would not be a problem, given that the hotel is not really cheap. I asked for something else than fish and miso-soup, but all they could provide was apologizing, which was a bit irritating. After all this is a typical Japanese inn, to fry a couple of eggs and brew some coffee was apparently not an option. In their defence it must be said that there was a pack of filter coffee among the room amenities, which made my day. So if you're in for the all-japanese experience, you will feel totally at ease here. The breakfast, as in the best ryokan tradition is served in the room. Unfortunately Japan is a wonderful place, if they only could be more flexible about the "system". Being closed to the outside world however is the very reason which makes the country unique. So, if you have to stay at this inn, make sure you'll bring some food you like and more coffee if you need. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, but in the lobby. Rooms are non-smoking, but there are enough areas where you can light-up.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 露天風呂付だいいと思います。私は本館に泊まりました
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews