We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Available Choice in Biei Downtown”
Review of Hotel Lavenir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lavenir
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
425 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“The Only Available Choice in Biei Downtown”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Reservation: I directly wrote to the hotel and was replied quickly in clear English. A few days before my arrival, they wrote to me again asking for my re-confirmation. The whole process didn't require any credit card info and is based on trust only. This is the common practice only in Japan which reflects the purity, sincerity and honour of the Japanese people. I appreciate and respect.

Location: It seems that this hotel is the only available hotel around the Biei JR train station or in the downtown generally, though there may be a few family-run guesthouses. Biei is a very quiet city and I always found I was the only person walking on the street, no matter day or night. Biei is in the middle between Asahikawa and Furano (30 mins each by train to Asahikawa or Furano). If you wish to have more choices, you may set your base in Asahikawa instead, given JR train is so convenient. Day excursion to the colourful farmlands is good enough. Accomodations in Biei/Furano area are more expensive generally and choice is lacking. The price for each night I stayed in this hotel is 8000 yen and is on the lower side already as compared to other accomodations in Biei/Furano area.

Room: Fine with everything. Clean and bed comfy. Curtains are light in colour and I was awaken by the sunlight everyday around 4:30am (yes, sunrise in Hokkaido is very early).

Breakfast: Not much variety, yet the quality is good, fresh and the main point is it's all local produce.

Staff: Front desk man friendly, though spoken English not so good. With my limited (poor) Japanese, that's not a problem. That adds fun to my trip.

Interest Class: It has charged classes for making ice-cream, cheese etc. Sounds interesting.

Restaurants around: There are a few only. Udon with curry and local vegetables is the chef here. Worth trying.

All guests I met are Japanese people and I enjoy the tranquil ambience here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLavenir, 宿泊担当 佐藤 at Hotel Lavenir, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It apologizes for the reply having become late.
I'm sorry.

You are very glad to evaluation given to us.
Thank you.

Although Biei is a small town, its environment is good and its scene is also wonderful.
We endeavor in order to get many people to continue to be glad.

Please use our hotel, when you come to Biei in Hokkaido again.
Thank you for your precious comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
10
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Smack right in the centre of town of Biel, the gateway town to the Tomita farms, kamifurano, furano and nearby attractions. Located just next to the train station, good for travelers visiting by train. Parking is free , just next to the hotel. Restaurants are nearby with shops to visit. The price for this hotel was reasonable compared to the other homestays or chalet type which cost more and out of the way making it a must to drive there. Here at Lavenir, you dont have to. Stay for 3 nights and we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the town or the railway track at the back.. A room with the town view would be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLavenir, 宿泊担当 佐藤 at Hotel Lavenir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It apologizes for the reply having become late.
I'm sorry.

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
Our hotel is located as a base of sightseeing at a just right place.
We strive to be able to give many people joy from now on.
Please use, when you come to Biei in Hokkaido again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We came to Lavenir because of its convenient location and based on the positive ratings here. And are we glad to have made the right choice!

Lavenir is a small but charismatic hotel that offer spacious western-style rooms, clean bathrooms and a big balcony. For rooms facing the main street, you get a great view of the magnificent alps in the background of the town.

Its location is unbeatable, 3 minutes walk to the town center, and you will find Biei JR station, the local tourism office, convenience stores, restaurants, a drug store, bus stops for Twinkle Bus (local tour) and even a bicycle rental shop.

The hotel is connected to Biei's roadside station Oka-no-Kura, a rest stop for highway travelers. This turns out to be a big plus for us as it has a small restaurant, a souvenir shop and a 'market' selling local produce like milks, wheat products, cookies, cakes, cheese and corns etc.

We booked our rooms by emailing the hotel directly, response (in English) was prompt. Internet access is available in room via LAN cable free of charge.

Do note that the hotel's restaurant serves only breakfast (simple but delicious) but this is not a problem since there are many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ultrahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLavenir, フロント担当 at Hotel Lavenir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It apologizes for the reply having become late.
I'm sorry.

As for us, it is very glad that you are pleased with a hotel.
We endeavor that it continues being a hotel loved by many people from now on.
Moreover, when you come to Biei in Hokkaido in Japan, please use.
Thank you for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Not knowing much about this hotel before, we did not have particularly high expectations. It turned out to be one of the best hotels we had stayed during our 9-day trip at Hokkaido. The hotel is modern with very spacious rooms, located conveniently right next to Biei's JR Station. The room is clean and ours (a triple room) has a large balcony facing the main street of Biei. You can just walk down the main street for a variety of restaurants. The hotel also provides free parking and a simple but adaquate breakfast. All in all, we are very happy with Hotel Lavenir. Had we had more time, we would have joined some of the bread/cheese making workshops organized by the hotel. You can reserve a room directly with the hotel via internet. We got very prompt response from the hotel's reservation office which communicated well in English.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front staff:Sato at Hotel Lavenir, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I am sorry that an answer is very slow.
Thank you very much for your evaluating us.
In order to get many visitors to be glad, we try hard from now on.
Moreover, if there is an opportunity, please come.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biei-cho
Furano Natulux Hotel
#1 of 13 in Furano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Asahikawa Station
JR Inn Asahikawa
JR Inn Asahikawa
#1 of 40 in Asahikawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Naturwald Furano
#3 of 13 in Furano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Furano Hops Tohas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kamifurano-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Shirogane Onsen
Hotel Park Hills
Hotel Park Hills
#4 of 7 in Biei-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavenir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavenir

Property: Hotel Lavenir
Address: 1-9-21 Motomachi, Kamikawa-gun, Biei-cho 071-0208 , Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Biei-cho
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels / Ryokan in Biei-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavenir 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lavenir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavenir Biei-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing