We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you come to Hokkaido - Ein Muss wenn man nach Hokkaido kommt”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Higashikawa-cho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge Nutapukaushipe
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must if you come to Hokkaido - Ein Muss wenn man nach Hokkaido kommt”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Situated a 15 minutes walk from Mount Asahidake ropewaiy station this lodge is an absolutely extraordinairy place to stay. Beginning from the amazing woodwork on the interior, designed by the landlord himself, to the wonderful outdoor onsen situated right beside a creek in the midst of the rampant vegetation, excellent home-made Japanese food prepared by the landlady, spacious and uniquely designed rooms (the futons are rather hard for European backs), ... The lavatories are perfectly clean as to be expected in Japan, but very basic, since you're expected to do your personal hygiene at the onsen. The interoor onsen is also basic, but absolutely ok. The landlords are very friendly and don't hesitate to give you some extras if necessary (when my wife had a bad stomach she got special food without having to ask for it). Their English is basic, but sufficient. Communication via fax in English is no problem. Of all the places we've stayed on our trip through Japan this one was really outstanding.

DIe Lodge, die zu Fuß etwa 15 Minuten von der Talstation der Mt. Asahidake-Seilbahn, ist ein wirklich außergewöhnliches Haus. Angefangen vom unglaublichen Holz-Innendesign, das vom Wirt persönlich entworfen wurde, über den tollen Außen-Onsen, der oberhalb eines Baches mitten im wuchernden Grün liegt, zur tollen japanischen Küche, die von der Wirtin selbst gekocht wird, den großzügigen und einzigartig gestateten Zimmern (nur die Futons sind sehr hart für Europäische Rücken), ... Die Waschräume sind wie in Japan zu erwarten blitzsauber, aber spartanisch, es wird erwartet, dass man seine Körpferpflege im Onsen erledigt. Der innenliegende Onsen ist klein und schlicht, aber absolut ok. Die Wirtsleute sind sehr freundlich und zögern nicht, auf besondere Bedürfnisse einzugehen - meine Frau, von Übelkeit geplagt, bekam ohne dass wir darum bitten mussten "Diätküche". Die Wirtsleute sprechen nur gebrochen Englisch, es reicht aber aus. Die Kommunikation per Fax in Englisch war aber problemlos. Von allen Plätzen, wo wir auf unserer Japanreise waren, war dieser wirklich herausragend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hundmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We loved our stay at Lodge Nutapukaushipe. The owners were very friendly, the variety of food was great, the onsen was beautiful and the lodge was close to lots of great walking. We would love to come back in the winter to go skiing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaandThomas39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göttingen
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The lodge had a very cosy feel, with beautiful Japanese style rooms and great indoor and outdoor onsen baths. From our window, we could see Mt. Asahidake. The owners were friendly, breakfast and dinner were delicious. I'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eco_gamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aichi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

This place is located close to Daisetsuzan National Park, which is a perfect resting spot after a long hike to the top of Asahidake. The meals were standard fare and the rooms were clean but rather spartan.

The outstanding feature of this lodge is the inhospitable attitude of the entire staff. After a long hike, my friend and I were greeted with a dour face and mono-toned woman at the reception desk. No pleasantries were exchanged, only basic lodge information. Other civilities that we initiated throughout our stay were also ignored by the staff, such as "Good afternoon," "Good morning," and the customary expression of gratitude after a meal.

During dinner time, when all the guests gather together, the proprietor made it a point to welcome and talk with each party, except ours. My friend and I were extremely insulted by his behavior and neglect. Moreover, while he was talking with some of his other guests during the dinner (who had stayed there before), one of the guests lamented about the loss of intimacy at the lodge due to internet. The proprietor agreed with his guest, stating that he did not really like it either, ignoring the fact that my friend and I were right behind him and had used the internet to find the lodge.

I have traveled from Hokkaido to Kyushu and many places inbetween during my stay in Japan, and Lodge Nutapukaushipe is, by far, the worst experience I've had. Do yourself, and apparently the lodge owner, a favor - stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank redfox2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higashikawa-cho
Asahidake Onsen
Grand Hotel Daisetsu
Grand Hotel Daisetsu
#8 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#1 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Bear Monte
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Bear Monte
#3 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asahidake Onsen
Yukomanso
Yukomanso
#2 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Deer Valley
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Deer Valle...
#5 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Hotel Taisetsu
Hotel Taisetsu
#1 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Nutapukaushipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Nutapukaushipe

Property: Lodge Nutapukaushipe
Address: Yukomanbetsu, Kamikawa-gun, Higashikawa-cho, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Higashikawa-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Higashikawa-cho
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lodge Nutapukaushipe Japan/Hokkaido - Higashikawa-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing