We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rotemburo, fantastic meals, comfy beds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Higashikawa-cho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Daisetsuzan Shirakabasou
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just 5 mins walk from the tourist information desk and the Asahidake ropeway. Fabulous view from rooms. Good food, v clean rooms, friendly management fluent in English. And the outdoor onsen which guests use at no cost, has awesome views!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent one night at the YH last September. Unfortunately we had a very bad weather, but we found this hostel to be a very nice place to stay.

The night was as expensive as most ryokans we went to, but the place was beautiful. It really looks like a mountain lodge, which I find very nice. The staff was also very friendly and English-speaking.

Our private room was huge and the beds very comfortable. We also had a toilet in our bedroom. The shared japanese-style bathroom was clean, with an inside and an outside onsen. I loved the outside one, as it was not scalding hot as usual !

Dinner and breakfast are included, and were both very good. We also asked for some riceballs to take with us for lunch and they were very nice.

The location is great ! If you climb all the way up the YH, you have an observatory with a fantastic view of the area. They are also very close to the gondola that takes you all the way up.

Definitely a great place to stay to enjoy Asahidake area !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Endareyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After having read a review by one traveler years ago in a Travel forum, which had then described this YH to be one of the most beautiful in Hokkaido...., well, I must agree that it is still a delightful sight to behold, a wise decision we made, ie. to stay at Daisetsuzan Shirakabaso YH. It was also a very convenient location as we wanted to be as near to the Asahidake Ropeway, ready for our next day early ascend to explore the magnificent Daisetusuzan in its splendid Autumn colours!

However, upon check-in we had a slight communication issue - as in our email exchanges, we had requested for "Private Rooms for 2 pax and another for 3 pax. Unfortunately, the staff had allocated us dormitory rooms; separating females from males. Nevertheless, we overcame the language barrier and as it was not the peak season yet, we were accorded 2 private rooms which were spacious and comfortable at JPY.7940 p/pax.

I am not sure if towels were provided for in most hostels (Hokkaido) but am glad that this hostel provides them.

We had opted to have our dinner as well as breakfast at this YH due to its location - being far from convenience store/eateries. The dinner was filling and delicious with its usual soup, salad, rice (unlimited), fish & chicken servings, whereas breakfast was simple but fulfilling as well!

As we were going to explore Daisetsuzan for the better half of the day, we ordered take-away rice balls (2 pcs), which turned out to be yummy especially after having walked, hiked, climbed the trails.

The only minor set-back is, as with most hostel, inn, lodges, etc... there are no lifts. Nevertheless, we were prepared to take the steps up to the rooms but one caution here, one had to be very careful while descending the "polished" steps in the slippers provided by the hostel as they kept slipping out of our feet due to size (slippers) and "non-grip" factors.

We were glad that there was a slope going down from the entrance to the driveway as one could drag the luggage up or down with ease.

Some would comment that rooms are pricey but almost all would agree that this establishment has very good service, clean & comfortable rooms, a relaxing "onsen" to dip in and meals that are truly sumptuous.

We will certainly recommend to our friends to stay at this Hostel and we would too, should we ever decide to return and visit this beautiful National Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 207/209 (for 2 & 3 pax) without attached toilets. Room was facing nature whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RakunSoshiteRisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

You pay for the location, but also get lovely private rooms and friendly service (there are a few English speakers on the staff); fixed time supper (you turn up late, it will be cold) and breakfast are not to be missed, the packed riceball lunch OK. Go to the outdoor onsens rather than staying in the indoor ones. There's a coin operated clothes washer but no drier - though there is a place to hang clothes to dry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

this hostel is amazing. The food, proximity to the gondola, staff, onsen, this place has it all. Its pricey at first glance but you do get good value for your stay, esp compared to other accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: you can request either a dorm or private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pesgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stay 2 nights in October. When I say best value, it is not a cheap place to stay but half the cost of the surrounding hotels. It is a YHA, but closer in appearance and comfort to a ski lodge/hotel.

We booked a private room for 2 ( ensuite toilet ) with shared shower/bath facilities. The room was very clean and large and included a fridge + fresh tea every day. We also booked the breakfast & dinner options which were of the highest Japanese style standard.
There were only a small number of guest but I would guess this would change during the ski season.

The bus stop for buses coming from Asahikawa is just outside the hostel, and the hostel is about 12 minutes walk to the cable car.

As there is limited provision supplies in the area, so you should purchase any drinks and other food requirements in Ashaikawa.

There is no internet available to guests at the hostel.

You can now book via the web.

This is a really great place to stay and the Daisetsuzan National Park a must to visit specially during Autumn.

A double recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This ultra modern hostel is spotlessly clean, has large private bedrooms (as well as dorms) and nice baths. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Higashikawa-cho hotels
Asahidake Onsen
Grand Hotel Daisetsu
Grand Hotel Daisetsu
#9 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
58 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#2 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
288 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Bear Monte
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Bear Monte
#3 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asahidake Onsen
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Deer Valley
Asahidake Onsen Hotel Deer Valle...
#5 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
39 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
Yukomanso
Yukomanso
#1 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
212 reviews
Tenninkaku
#4 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daisetsuzan Shirakabasou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daisetsuzan Shirakabasou

Address: Asahidakeonsen | 500 meters from Asahidake Ropeway, Higashikawa-cho, Kamikawa-gun 071-1472, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Higashikawa-cho > Asahidake Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Higashikawa-cho
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Daisetsuzan Shirakabasou Japan/Hokkaido - Higashikawa-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing